We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cliffside hotel with incredible views”
Review of Hotel Onda Verde

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Onda Verde
Ranked #3 of 20 Hotels in Praiano
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 October 2013

The setting of this hotel is amazing, with gorgeous sea views from the balcony of our room and also from the restaurant where you can eat on the outside terrace. The rooms are spacious and clean. The breakfast buffet and the dinner menu offered a nice variety of choices, and chef Nicola prepares delicious dishes, with much fresh fish. He also gives a great pasta cooking class of 2 hours that we took and loved! The staff is warm and gracious. One can swim off the stony beach or the piers (careful they can be slippery), and water taxis are readily available right at the beach below the hotel to take one to Amalfi or Positano or Capri, etc. You can go down to them and make your own reservations for trips. Praiano is a great location for a peaceful, beautiful stay away from cities. You can watch fishermen row out to sea and back morning and evenings right below you. There is a tower nearby, a short walk away, in which an artist has his gallery of interesting paintings and ceramic sculptures that he welcomes you to come and see. All in all, this is an idyllic place. We do hope to return.

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view and, if you have mobility issues, a room where you don't have to carry luggag...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nancy A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,067)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

559 - 565 of 1,067 reviews

Reviewed 6 October 2013

We enjoyed 6 days at this beautiful hotel on a very picturesque stretch of the "Nastro Azzuro" between Amalfi and Positano. While perched on the hillside below street level all levels were accessible by elevator and access to the water via an easily graded path. Marina di Praia was virtually a private beach for the hotel guests.Nearby was the very beautiful restaurant, "Il Pirata" and some cute bars and a restaurant on the beach. But the restaurant at Onda Verde was excellent and very convenient. The restaurant staff were professional and very friendly, showing a genuine interest in pleasing their guests.The administrative staff, especially Fernanda, were friendly and efficient.The rooms were of a high standard and had good sea views. It was quiet, clean and comfortable.. We had a wonderfully relaxed and happy stay at Onda Verde.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank maureen p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2013

We booked the 7 day package at this hotel and enjoyed every minute. The view from our balcony was spectacular overlooking the beach and all the walkways and steps added to the charm of this hotel. Miro Milano and his staff were friendly and eager to help us in every way. The restaurant was beautiful and dining outside was a joy, especially in the evening. The Sita buses stop outside the hotel is very convenient but they are usually crowded with tourists.

Room Tip: A room with a balcony is advised.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2013

Just got home from a 11 day trip thru Italy, ending with a 3 night stay at Hotel Onda Verde and could not have picked a better place to wind down. We were traveling with a friend with significant mobility issues and, although there were parts of the property that we not accessible for her, the staff (especially Fernanda!) were so accommodating and helpful and really made us feel right at home. The views from our balcony were AMAZING, the room was very spacious and comfortable (beds were firm but not hard - more like a very firm memory foam feel), we had a delicious dinner on our first night and the daily breakfast (included in the price of the room) included fresh eggs, meats and cheeses, fruits and pastries, tomatoes and basil, crusty bread for toast, and great coffee!! This is not an inexpensive stay, but for my money, well worth the price.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WanderingGreeks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2013

This was the final week of our 3 week honeymoon in Italy. We had not told the hotel prior to our booking but they soon made us feel special .
The location was very romantic with ocean side dining in the mornings and evenings. The chef Nico was excellent, breakfast was wonderful and you could request eggs done to your liking.
Hotel staff were so helpful and positive even though they must have all been quite tired towards the end of their busy season.
Rooms were cleaned every morning and fresh towels and toiletries every day.

Room Tip: The room we had was a superior with a small balcony and sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jane w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2013

Onde Verde is near Priano, and not in the busy Amalfi or Positano so it was just what we were looking for. There were several very nice restaurants close by and we were able to charter a small boat to take us up and down the coast for site seeing. The room was comfortable though a bit stuffy unless we opened the hall door for a few minutes to get some airflow. The Decor was pure Mediterranean with lovely tile everywhere.
It is kinda pricey but I think every thing is on the Amalfi coast. The front desk people were always very helpful.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stacie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2013

We stayed at Onda Verde this September 2013 on our honeymoon. We loved the location of the hotel, which wasn't crowded with tourists and had a small beach right below. The views were amazing, and the room was great. It was by far the largest of any of the hotel rooms that we stayed at while in Italy and there was a full size bathroom and shower! The restaurant had amazing views. The continental breakfast was really good. While we had one great waiter while we stayed there, the rest of the staff did not present themselves as overly friendly or particularly happy to help us. We practically had to beg one of the staff to phone in reservations at another restaurant for us one night, and because he was both the waiter and the receptionist, sometimes we had to wait for awhile or go track him down in the restaurant if we needed anything. Overall, we had a wonderful stay and would return being it was such a great hotel, we would just try and avoid having to deal with the young male receptionist by any costs!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BaileyLB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Praiano
0.5 mi away
Hotel Margherita
Hotel Margherita
#2 of 20 in Praiano
1,541 reviews
1.2 mi away
Grand Hotel Tritone
Grand Hotel Tritone
#7 of 20 in Praiano
687 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Pellegrino
Hotel Pellegrino
#1 of 20 in Praiano
734 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Hotel Tramonto d'Oro
Hotel Tramonto d'Oro
#6 of 20 in Praiano
853 reviews
3.4 mi away
NH Collection Grand Hotel Convento di Amalfi
0.9 mi away
Casa Angelina
Casa Angelina
#4 of 20 in Praiano
841 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Onda Verde? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Onda Verde

Address: Via Terramare, 3, 84010 Praiano, Italy
Region: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Praiano
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Praiano
#2 Luxury Hotel in Praiano
#3 Romantic Hotel in Praiano
#4 Family Hotel in Praiano
Price Range: £144 - £253 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Onda Verde 4*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The "Onda Verde" hotel, situated in the heart of the Amalfi Coast, offers an unforgettable stay for nature lovers in search of tranquillity. Like a perfectly set diamond, Onda Verde is in an enchanting location among the beautiful inlets of the coast; 7 km (4.2 miles) equidistant from the towns of Amalfi and Positano. The Hotel boasts an exclusive panorama of the Amalfi Coast; views include the Saracen Tower of Praiano, and that of the Conca Promontory, as well as Paestum, Capri and the Point of Campanella. The hotel is very near the cliffs and the beach. Its facilities and amenities enable guests to enjoy the sea and soak up the sun in the most inviting, friendly and relaxing atmosphere. When each guest arrives, they are greeted by a friendly reception. The Hotel has twenty five (25) private rooms nestled in five (5) mountainside villas as pictured here with bathroom, hair dryer, safety deposit box, minibar, telephone, free Wi-fi connection, satellite TV, air conditioning and breathtaking panoramic view. If you are a lover of beauty and nature, and you wish to watch breathtaking sunrises and romantic sunsets, Onda Verde is the place for you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Onda Verde reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Onda Verde Hotel
Onda Verde Praiano
Hotel Onda Verde Praiano, Amalfi Coast, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing