We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet Gem”
Review of Hotel Onda Verde

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Onda Verde
Ranked #3 of 20 Hotels in Praiano
Certificate of Excellence
Ellicott City, Maryland
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Quiet Gem”
Reviewed 25 October 2013

This gem on the Amalfi coast is a family run hotel. The Milano family are some of the nicest hoteliers you will find. Each member of the staff goes out of their way to make your stay pleasant and memorable. They arranged transportation for us from Naples train station to the hotel. This is a must for most people as the other drivers will make youthful hair turn grey. Besides you can enjoy the views on the way to the hotel. They also arranged for our thansportation back by way of Ravello and Pompeii. With suggestions on what to see and the order in which to see them and where to have lunch we had a great last day in Italy.

The hotel itself is clean and has all the amenities you could want. The views from the rooms and the terrace will convince you that there is heaven on earth. There are water taxis below the hotel that will take you to the two tourist towns and to Capri, So if relaxing and soaking in the sun and scenery are not enough you can take excursions.

We will definetly make this a stop on our next trip. Thanks to the entire Milano family!

Room Tip: There is not a bad room in the hotel. Any one will be great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,010 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    793
    170
    25
    14
    8
See reviews for
133
644
14
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (228)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Boynton Beach, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
331 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 October 2013

My husband and I had a wonderful experience staying at the Onda Verde for 5 days this month - after a rocky start. We received an email from the hotel telling us to call to arrange for a water taxi to meet us at the dock in Positano. When we called we were told - just take the water taxi when you arrive. It was a hassle, more expensive that originally told, and no-one could instruct us on how to reach the hotel once we arrived other than take the steep path with our heavy suitcases. What was not an auspicious beginning turned into a delightful stay at a lovely, family run hotel nestled into the side of a cliff with a heaven-made view. The spacious room (124) is well maintained, the bed very comfortable, and the view from our terrace was breathtaking. A sufficient breakfast was included in our room rate. The public bus stop is right at the hotel's parking lot making it a convenient, cost-effective location. Just don't expect the busses to be on time and be prepared to stand for the trip to Positano or Amalfi - but this is part of the experience. The staff including Francesca and Francesco were always helpful. They arranged for us to be picked up by a family-owned restaurant in Priano - La Strada where we enjoyed one of the best meals of our 2 week trip. I'm sure there are other equally beautiful hotels, but the Onda Verda is situated away from the maddening crowd, yet close enough to enjoy the entire coast. We highly recommend that you consider staying here - just arrive by car- not water taxi if you have luggage.. However, they graciously arranged for water taxis to take us to one of the other towns - a convenient alternative to the busses which allow for an incredible view of the coast,. I dream of returning!

Room Tip: No one we spoke to ad anything but glowing comments on their rooms. Sounds like they are all winners...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank es7109
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roseville, California
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 October 2013

Hotel onda verde is a family run business. Their attention to personal detail makes all the difference in your over all experience. My family and I had the pleasure of spending 8days in Hotel onda verde. The rooms are very clean , the views of the sea from each room are exquisite. It is centrally located between Amalfi and Positano. There is not a town to walk to although there are wonderful paths to explore. Dinners were our favorite,the chief Nichol treated us like family making a special meal at our request. I would recommend this hotel to anyone wanting great views, good food and friendly professional service.

Room Tip: Sorry there is no pool or fitness it is not needed
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Linda2241
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 October 2013

This hotel was a great choice for our stay on the Amalfi..(three nights)
There was free undercover parking above the Hotel. The Onda Verde is built into the side of the mountain and the sea view from our room was beautiful.. Awesome sunrises and wonderful sunsets.
Our room was clean and spacious. The room was decorated in the style for the area..beautiful looking tiles (probably made in Praiano) and hand painted furniture. The bathroom had a large shower.
The hotel has it's own restaurant-The Breakfasts in the morning were generous. A big variety and a great spread. Their evening menu is also very good. The service was good and so was the food.
The staff on the reception were very pleasant efficient and attentive to our needs.
We loved our early morning walks...the pathway down from the hotel onto the "main" beach...the pier area where we swam in the ocean, and where we took a water taxi from...and the walks along the mountainside, all were very easy walks.
Even although we are very fussy, we loved our stay here, and will definitely visit again for a longer time.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank J9M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 October 2013

The rooms are very nice and the one we occupied had seaview and terrace. The restaurant serves very good food with a varied menu and the breakfast was plentiful.

A few steps down you are on a pier from where you can take a nice swím.

Parking is offered free of charge which is nice as parking is a scarce commodity otherwise.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Framcke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level 6 Contributor
117 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 October 2013

We stayed here for 6 nights. The room was always clean, the view from the balcony was breathtaking, the shower was hot and had good pressure. The bed was comfortable but the pillows were horrible - I started using decorative pillows from a couch after 2 days of bad sleep. Now few other remarks. First, women staff was more friendly than men staff. Second, breakfast was great except they do recycle baked good - cookies, pies and etc from day to day. After few days I would only try something that looked new that day. They even used powered sugar to dress up yesterday and the day before yesterday cookies one day. Their black coffee in a big pot tasted like an instant nescafe and I would not be surprised if it was nescafe, they have an espresso machine but no drip coffee maker in sight. They make you espresso, cappuccino and lattes on request. Lastly, it is in Praiano which is less touristy and thus you are stuck to be in the area around the hotel or walk to the town center, which is about 30 minutes away. We loved it since we love to walk but for other people it may be hard. Public buses are infrequent and taxis are expensive.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nina S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, North Carolina
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 October 2013

We picked Hotel Onda Verde for our honeymoon accommodations based on the romantic location, competitive price for the 7 night package, and responsiveness of the staff to my inquiry emails. I honestly couldn’t have been more pleased with our entire stay from start to finish. We stayed at this hotel for 7 nights, in a Deluxe Double Sea View Room. The room had a Jacuzzi tub and a breath taking view (very true to the website’s pictures-to our delight!). The room was simple yet elegant, very clean, very comfortable, and I loved the bath amenities. The hotel concierge was the sweetest woman. She made us feel like we were appreciated and valued guests, not just another number. The other reviews are somewhat correct in that the daily breakfast wasn’t the ultimate gourmet buffet by any means, but it was delicious and fresh every morning with plenty of items from which to choose. Dinner each night on the other hand was truly amazing. Every morning we would get the dinner menu with three choices for the first course, and three choices for the second course (dessert was also included!)… each morning it was a difficult decision because the choices were so good, however after eating there the first and second night we learned it didn’t matter which choice we made because it would be delicious every time. None of the choices repeated and there was plenty of variety. In fact, before arriving we figured we’d want to try a different restaurant at least once for dinner… but once we started eating at the hotel’s restaurant, we saved exploring different restaurants for lunch and returned to the hotel for dinner each night because it was too good. The chef and wait staff had great personalities too, which made the experience even better. I got all teared up when it was time to say goodbye because they made us feel so welcome.
The included tour to Pompeii was one of the best guided tours I’ve been on (and I’ve traveled extensively throughout Europe and Australia). The hotel made the arrangement of the tour very easy. Again, that goes back to the fact once we arrived the hotel took care of our every need… which gave us more time for relaxing and “honeymooning.” Due to a crazy storm one morning, our tour to Capri was canceled and they promptly, without us having to mention it, refunded that portion of the 7 day package. Instead, we signed up for the cooking class with the chef. That was so much fun and so worth the time and money. I can’t wait to try what we learned at home!
Since my husband and I are not big shoppers, and wanted to get away from crowds, noise, and the fast pace that comes from staying in a touristy area, this hotel was perfect for us. It was tranquil and romantic with unspoiled views. We had close access to the other towns of the Amalfi Coast (Positano, Amalfi, Ravello, etc.), but didn’t have to eat and sleep squeezed in with other travelers.
If you’re able bodied, don’t miss the Path of the Gods hike from Praiano to Positano! That was a highlight of our trip. It’s a tough climb but 100% worth it for the views.
Sorry for the long review but I could really go on and on about how much this hotel made our trip to the Amalfi Coast spectacular.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Natalie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Praiano
0.5 mi away
Hotel Margherita
Hotel Margherita
#2 of 20 in Praiano
1,467 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Tramonto d'Oro
Hotel Tramonto d'Oro
#5 of 20 in Praiano
832 reviews
1.2 mi away
Grand Hotel Tritone
Grand Hotel Tritone
#7 of 20 in Praiano
638 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Hotel Pellegrino
Hotel Pellegrino
#1 of 20 in Praiano
708 reviews
3.4 mi away
NH Collection Grand Hotel Convento di Amalfi
0.2 mi away
Hotel Locanda Costa Diva
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Onda Verde? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Onda Verde

Property: Hotel Onda Verde
Address: Via Terramare, 3, 84010 Praiano, Italy
Region: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Praiano
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Praiano
#2 Luxury Hotel in Praiano
#3 Romantic Hotel in Praiano
#4 Family Hotel in Praiano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Onda Verde 4*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The "Onda Verde" hotel, situated in the heart of the Amalfi Coast, offers an unforgettable stay for nature lovers in search of tranquillity. Like a perfectly set diamond, Onda Verde is in an enchanting location among the beautiful inlets of the coast; 7 km (4.2 miles) equidistant from the towns of Amalfi and Positano. The Hotel boasts an exclusive panorama of the Amalfi Coast; views include the Saracen Tower of Praiano, and that of the Conca Promontory, as well as Paestum, Capri and the Point of Campanella. The hotel is very near the cliffs and the beach. Its facilities and amenities enable guests to enjoy the sea and soak up the sun in the most inviting, friendly and relaxing atmosphere. When each guest arrives, they are greeted by a friendly reception. The Hotel has twenty five (25) private rooms nestled in five (5) mountainside villas as pictured here with bathroom, hair dryer, safety deposit box, minibar, telephone, free Wi-fi connection, satellite TV, air conditioning and breathtaking panoramic view. If you are a lover of beauty and nature, and you wish to watch breathtaking sunrises and romantic sunsets, Onda Verde is the place for you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Hotel Onda Verde reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Onda Verde Hotel
Onda Verde Praiano
Hotel Onda Verde Praiano, Amalfi Coast, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing