We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Truly Paradise”
Review of Hotel Onda Verde

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Onda Verde
Ranked #3 of 20 Hotels in Praiano
Certificate of Excellence
New York
Level 5 Contributor
35 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Truly Paradise”
Reviewed 4 January 2014

My husband and I stayed here for three days in August 2013 and it was the highlight of our two week Italian vacation. After an adventurous week in Rome, we went to Florence and then headed south to the Amalfi coast. This hotel was worth every penny, the food was Fantastic!!!!! The views are magnificent and the service is superb. You can also book a day trip to Capri through the hotel. Book your stay, you will not regret it. My husband and I are planning to go back with our son.
The hotel has no pool...but your right on the coast so a pool is not necessary. There is also no gym ( but who cares) I got plenty of exercise walking up and stairs down to the beach or to club Africana.....Really there is just nothing to complain about...it was the trip of a lifetime and I cannot wait to visit again.

Room Tip: I don't think there is a bad room at this place
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nicole B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

993 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    781
    167
    24
    13
    8
See reviews for
129
632
14
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (227)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 November 2013

Our good friend decided that Italy may be a great spot to celebrate his big birthday in. That’s how come 11 people from Australia found ourselves at the stunning hotel Onde Verde situated in between Positano and Amalfi at Praiano, a hotel fashioned into the side of a cliff overlooking the blue, blue Mediterranean sea. Not just any hotel mind you but one where the owners, staff, rooms, ambiance, food & drinks were second to none – just ask Pierce Brosnan or Jessica Alba, as they stayed there too. A family run hotel with great atmosphere, gorgeous rooms and views and food to die for and a handsome chef to bout! A couple of people in our group had special dietary requirements which were catered for superbly. I think perhaps all of us fell a little in love with Italy and everything Italian- their passion, the language, scenery, people, wine & Limoncello and of course the food. Our package included breakfast and dinner, more food than we could ever finish and of the highest quality. One of us (not mentioning any names) always complains in restaurants but even he did not have anything but praise for the food. The package included 2 trips one to Pompeii/Vesuvius and the other to the Island of Capri which were really good. I cannot recommend this hotel highly enough and think the weeks package was fantastic and would certainly love to go back in the future.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Marie J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 October 2013

Arriving in October 2013 at this little piece of heaven was a highlight of our 3 week Italian vacation. After a busy week in Rome and a touring week in Tuscany, it was wonderful to "attempt" to sit still for a week in Praiano! The drop-dead gorgeous setting should have enabled us to do just that, but there was so much to see on the Amalfi Coast and in nearby Praiano and Positano. The hotel was absolutely lovely, with rooms larger than anticipated, and hotel staff that were extremely helpful and pleasant. Being able to walk from the hotel up up up to the Footpath of the Gods, or in to Praiano, was a joy. The sea wall walks with waves crashing, the fantastic view, and being able to swim in the sea and relax on deck lounge chairs absolute perfection after travelling for two weeks. I highly recommend this beautiful hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a view room above the restaurant.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Susan T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
brisbane
Level 6 Contributor
121 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 October 2013

I have thought long and hard before doing this review.
I believe Onda Verde is the perfect location for a holiday on the Amalfi coast.
We spent six nights here visiting all surrounding towns.
We had dinner at the hotel several times and the food was lovely.
Breakfast was the same each day perhaps something different in the way of hot food apart from scrambled eggs and bacon in that time would have been nice.
The thing that disappointed us was that we arrived at 930pm after travelling for more than twelve hours very tired after being delayed at naples airport as our luggage was lost. The hotel knew our situation and at no stage offered us any help with this distressing situation or even asked if our luggage had turned up. It became obvious to us that luggage being lost at naples airport is not an unusual thing. After nearly three days our luggage turned up at the hotel no one notified us and we found our bags sitting in the foyer! We would greatly have appreciated the offer of help in tracking down our luggage as we don't speak Italian and communication was extremely difficult. The other thing that occurred to us is that if this is a common thing it would have been lovely to have been offered toothbrushes and toothpaste.
I have to say the lady on the front desk was the most friendly and helpful staff member unfortunately I can't remember her name. The young male who works at the hotel could be more helpful.
Our room was spotless and had the most amazing view.
The walk down to the lovely beach directly below the hotel was easy and there are several restaurants there also.
Onda verde is a fabulous choice location wise and it was lovely to be away from the crowds of positano and Amalfi.
A little more personal care when something goes wrong when you are travelling would have been greatly appreciated when you are in a country a long way from home.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank gm7hj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ellicott City, Maryland
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 October 2013

This gem on the Amalfi coast is a family run hotel. The Milano family are some of the nicest hoteliers you will find. Each member of the staff goes out of their way to make your stay pleasant and memorable. They arranged transportation for us from Naples train station to the hotel. This is a must for most people as the other drivers will make youthful hair turn grey. Besides you can enjoy the views on the way to the hotel. They also arranged for our thansportation back by way of Ravello and Pompeii. With suggestions on what to see and the order in which to see them and where to have lunch we had a great last day in Italy.

The hotel itself is clean and has all the amenities you could want. The views from the rooms and the terrace will convince you that there is heaven on earth. There are water taxis below the hotel that will take you to the two tourist towns and to Capri, So if relaxing and soaking in the sun and scenery are not enough you can take excursions.

We will definetly make this a stop on our next trip. Thanks to the entire Milano family!

Room Tip: There is not a bad room in the hotel. Any one will be great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boynton Beach, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
331 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 October 2013

My husband and I had a wonderful experience staying at the Onda Verde for 5 days this month - after a rocky start. We received an email from the hotel telling us to call to arrange for a water taxi to meet us at the dock in Positano. When we called we were told - just take the water taxi when you arrive. It was a hassle, more expensive that originally told, and no-one could instruct us on how to reach the hotel once we arrived other than take the steep path with our heavy suitcases. What was not an auspicious beginning turned into a delightful stay at a lovely, family run hotel nestled into the side of a cliff with a heaven-made view. The spacious room (124) is well maintained, the bed very comfortable, and the view from our terrace was breathtaking. A sufficient breakfast was included in our room rate. The public bus stop is right at the hotel's parking lot making it a convenient, cost-effective location. Just don't expect the busses to be on time and be prepared to stand for the trip to Positano or Amalfi - but this is part of the experience. The staff including Francesca and Francesco were always helpful. They arranged for us to be picked up by a family-owned restaurant in Priano - La Strada where we enjoyed one of the best meals of our 2 week trip. I'm sure there are other equally beautiful hotels, but the Onda Verda is situated away from the maddening crowd, yet close enough to enjoy the entire coast. We highly recommend that you consider staying here - just arrive by car- not water taxi if you have luggage.. However, they graciously arranged for water taxis to take us to one of the other towns - a convenient alternative to the busses which allow for an incredible view of the coast,. I dream of returning!

Room Tip: No one we spoke to ad anything but glowing comments on their rooms. Sounds like they are all winners...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank es7109
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roseville, California
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 October 2013

Hotel onda verde is a family run business. Their attention to personal detail makes all the difference in your over all experience. My family and I had the pleasure of spending 8days in Hotel onda verde. The rooms are very clean , the views of the sea from each room are exquisite. It is centrally located between Amalfi and Positano. There is not a town to walk to although there are wonderful paths to explore. Dinners were our favorite,the chief Nichol treated us like family making a special meal at our request. I would recommend this hotel to anyone wanting great views, good food and friendly professional service.

Room Tip: Sorry there is no pool or fitness it is not needed
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Linda2241
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Praiano
0.5 mi away
Hotel Margherita
Hotel Margherita
#2 of 20 in Praiano
1,427 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Tramonto d'Oro
Hotel Tramonto d'Oro
#5 of 20 in Praiano
816 reviews
1.2 mi away
Grand Hotel Tritone
Grand Hotel Tritone
#7 of 20 in Praiano
616 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Locanda Costa Diva
0.9 mi away
Hotel Pellegrino
Hotel Pellegrino
#1 of 20 in Praiano
701 reviews
3.1 mi away
Santa Caterina Hotel
Santa Caterina Hotel
#1 of 29 in Amalfi
985 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Onda Verde? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Onda Verde

Property: Hotel Onda Verde
Address: Via Terramare, 3, 84010 Praiano, Italy
Region: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Praiano
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Praiano
#2 Luxury Hotel in Praiano
#3 Romantic Hotel in Praiano
#4 Family Hotel in Praiano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Onda Verde 4*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The "Onda Verde" hotel, situated in the heart of the Amalfi Coast, offers an unforgettable stay for nature lovers in search of tranquillity. Like a perfectly set diamond, Onda Verde is in an enchanting location among the beautiful inlets of the coast; 7 km (4.2 miles) equidistant from the towns of Amalfi and Positano. The Hotel boasts an exclusive panorama of the Amalfi Coast; views include the Saracen Tower of Praiano, and that of the Conca Promontory, as well as Paestum, Capri and the Point of Campanella. The hotel is very near the cliffs and the beach. Its facilities and amenities enable guests to enjoy the sea and soak up the sun in the most inviting, friendly and relaxing atmosphere. When each guest arrives, they are greeted by a friendly reception. The Hotel has twenty five (25) private rooms nestled in five (5) mountainside villas as pictured here with bathroom, hair dryer, safety deposit box, minibar, telephone, free Wi-fi connection, satellite TV, air conditioning and breathtaking panoramic view. If you are a lover of beauty and nature, and you wish to watch breathtaking sunrises and romantic sunsets, Onda Verde is the place for you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Onda Verde reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Onda Verde Hotel
Onda Verde Praiano
Hotel Onda Verde Praiano, Amalfi Coast, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing