We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Super week”
Review of Hotel Onda Verde

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Onda Verde
Ranked #3 of 20 Hotels in Praiano
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Super week”
Reviewed 8 August 2014

We stayed a week in this great hotel in the lovely village of Praiano. The hotel is beautiful, great location, close to the sea and beach (this is very important on the Amalfi coast). The room was big, comfortable bed, quiet air conditioning if you need it and very clean. Breakfast is a delight, fresh fruit, lots of daily specials, cereals, cakes and all taken on the terrace overlooking the sea. The restaurant is one of the more expensive in the area but the food is excellent and the view worth the few extra euros. The hotel staff are perfect, always helpful but never intrusive. Praiano is in my opinion the perfect place on this coast. It's still got a local feel (unlike one other places which are rather overtaken by tourism), super people but also with great restaurants and a few shops and bars. It is good for walking up into the hills, the paths are just behind the hotel. Finally we were a gay couple and not that I ever have bad experiences but just to confirm this hotel is completely friendly, the phrase wouldn't bat an eyelid is fair. Well worth the money and would recommend and come again.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LondonJohnlondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,010 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    793
    170
    25
    14
    8
See reviews for
133
644
14
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (228)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
sheffield
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 4 August 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for our Honeymoon. We arrived and immediately were welcomed by the friendly staff who were very informative with regards to the transport available in the area and various trips.
We were shown to our room and found the views absolutely amazing. Just the reason we wanted to visit the Amalfi coast. Our room was quite small but very clean with a lovely view. Air conditioning was great however the shower was a little dated.
The location of the hotel near the beach is good and views spectacular however if you are planning on walking anywhere it is a good 25 min up hill to actually get to Praiano where all the restaurants and bars are situated. This is on a narrow road with quite fast moving traffic. Prob best to use transport to get around either water taxi or bus.
We ate in the hotel on the last night and the food was gorgeous definitely the best we had all holiday for an evening meal. Breakfast was also very tasty with local fresh produce.
Would definitely return.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KT3708
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bucharest, Romania
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 July 2014

Amazing location;welcoming staff,and a real team!!
Very nice hotel ,clean !!!
Nice view from the restaurant terace,cosy and good food,congratulation to the Chef!!
Francesco and Fernanda was really helpfull!!
Parking place;the bus station in front of the hotel!!
The best beach club:One Fire Cala di Gavitella,and 2 steps to Africana Famous Club.

Room Tip: with sea view!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 944dgog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
168 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2014

Had three nights here last week and missing it already. Have stayed in Positano and Praiano several times and this hotel has some of the best views around. Room not the largest, but sufficient best the best part was the private terrace with two loungers to watch the sun rise from. You awake in the morning to the sounds of the sea. Breakfast is a buffet which has everything you could want and one morning saw a pod of dolphins in the bay whilst having breakfast!. Also had lunch and dinner in the hotel. The food is excellent, along classical not modern lines. All the staff in the hotel were very helpful. Already planning to go back next year for longer! Top tip. Book transfer to / from hotel yourself . Booking via hotel there is the 20-30% premium

Room Tip: All rooms have great views
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newtown, Pennsylvania
1 review
Reviewed 26 July 2014

My family and I loved this hotel - quiet and quaint location with beautiful views, lovely and clean rooms - would most certainly return!!! Loved this hotel!!! The beach was very close and my kids loved the jumping off the rocks area - so fun. The chef was so personable and catered to our every whim. We had rooms with our own terraces and the views were priceless. The hotel has a water taxi station at their location which was convenient when we wanted to visit Positano. Again loved this hotel a great experience!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Tracy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
Reviewed 23 July 2014

We spent the first leg (and first trip to Italy) of our Honeymoon at Hotel Onda Verde. We were taken care of by every staff member and could not be happier with our stay. 10/5 for the views - wow, Amalfi is just beautiful. The hotel is walking distance to other little restaurants/cafes in the area which is a huge plus. The beach was small and it was pebbles, which for us wasn't very fun. Chef Nicola was AMAZING. He was friendly, and most importantly, accommodating. We are vegetarians so Francesco personally took us to meet Chef and he told us he would take care of us. Food was on point (that tiramisu - woah.). Rooms were clean, A/C worked well, and we received great information from the front desk whenever we needed anything.

Room Tip: Our 'sea view' room was right on the public terrace so it wasn't convenient in trying to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Bhavin P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 23 July 2014

What a great hotel with great service and position. We had a wonderful room and breakfast and dinner were delicious! Great 4 night stay for our honeymoon. Definitely recommend going to blue grotto and cruise to amalfi and visit Ravello/Rufolo gardens

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Sibs2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Praiano
0.5 mi away
Hotel Margherita
Hotel Margherita
#2 of 20 in Praiano
1,467 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Tramonto d'Oro
Hotel Tramonto d'Oro
#5 of 20 in Praiano
832 reviews
1.2 mi away
Grand Hotel Tritone
Grand Hotel Tritone
#7 of 20 in Praiano
638 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Hotel Pellegrino
Hotel Pellegrino
#1 of 20 in Praiano
708 reviews
3.4 mi away
NH Collection Grand Hotel Convento di Amalfi
0.2 mi away
Hotel Locanda Costa Diva
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Onda Verde? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Onda Verde

Property: Hotel Onda Verde
Address: Via Terramare, 3, 84010 Praiano, Italy
Region: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Praiano
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Praiano
#2 Luxury Hotel in Praiano
#3 Romantic Hotel in Praiano
#4 Family Hotel in Praiano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Onda Verde 4*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The "Onda Verde" hotel, situated in the heart of the Amalfi Coast, offers an unforgettable stay for nature lovers in search of tranquillity. Like a perfectly set diamond, Onda Verde is in an enchanting location among the beautiful inlets of the coast; 7 km (4.2 miles) equidistant from the towns of Amalfi and Positano. The Hotel boasts an exclusive panorama of the Amalfi Coast; views include the Saracen Tower of Praiano, and that of the Conca Promontory, as well as Paestum, Capri and the Point of Campanella. The hotel is very near the cliffs and the beach. Its facilities and amenities enable guests to enjoy the sea and soak up the sun in the most inviting, friendly and relaxing atmosphere. When each guest arrives, they are greeted by a friendly reception. The Hotel has twenty five (25) private rooms nestled in five (5) mountainside villas as pictured here with bathroom, hair dryer, safety deposit box, minibar, telephone, free Wi-fi connection, satellite TV, air conditioning and breathtaking panoramic view. If you are a lover of beauty and nature, and you wish to watch breathtaking sunrises and romantic sunsets, Onda Verde is the place for you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Onda Verde reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Onda Verde Hotel
Onda Verde Praiano
Hotel Onda Verde Praiano, Amalfi Coast, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing