We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“just OK” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Onda Verde

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Onda Verde
Ranked #4 of 20 Hotels in Praiano
Certificate of Excellence
Stockholm, Sweden
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“just OK”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 January 2009

Me and my boyfriend went to the Amalfi coast and spent 4 nights at the Onda Verde. It's a typical 3 star hotel; the breakfast was only Ok, the room was Ok - but nothing was exceptional. The sun-chairs at Africana were really nice, not too crowded and a very nice spot to soak in the sun.
We booked the deluxe with terrace and the terrace was quite small, we never sat there. One night we could'nt sleep as they played really loud music at the bar, I think you can find a better place to stay at than the Onda Verde.

  • Liked — the rocks by the sea, great place to sunbath/swim!
  • Disliked — The position, not much to do.
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NathalieE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

917 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    715
    157
    24
    13
    8
See reviews for
118
573
14
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (216)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Ontario
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 November 2008

November 21, 2008. It took a while sorting through 3500 pictures during our trip to Rome, Amalfi Coast, Taormina and Siracusa Italy.

In September 2008 we stayed at the Hotel Onda Verde for 3nights (too short).

We had a very pleasant stay at Hotel Onda Verde. It is a beautiful small hotel with an ideal location overlooking the sea. The rooms are extremely well-furnished in excellent taste and the service was excellent. Our pre-arranged pick-up for four adults with luggage at the railway station in Naples went perfectly and Stanislau, our driver was very pleasant and helpful, not only on this drive, but later in our drive to the train station in Salerno. Priano, itself is a quiet town with relatively little in the way of evening acitivity, but our needs were well served by the hotel itself.

The Martin's, Toronto, Ontario Canada

Helpful?
Thank Toronto_OntarioDiane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quebec
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 November 2008

This hotel is the greatest one we have ever stayed in Europe. The panoramic view from the room (so spacious too), on the coast and the sea was incredible.
Each of the personnal were so kind and attentive (Miro, the owner, Raphael and Josepe) and all the other one, make your stay a dream.
The high quality of food (breakfest, lunch and dinner) were constant all the time we have been there.
Thank you very much to all the team of Onda Verde Hotel.

Stayed October 2008
Helpful?
Thank Ti_Mine79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 October 2008

This was truly a great hotel and choice that we made. From the magnifcent views from the room and in house restaurant to the friendly, courteous and personal service we couldnt have asked for more. The range of food at breakfast plus the generous servings if you chose to eat lunch or dinner at the restaurant only added to the great experience we had. In addition, the proximity of the hotel to both the towns of Amalfi, Positano and the local beach makes it the ideal choice for travellers.

We wouldn't hesitate to stay at Onda Verde again and have recommended it to our friends.

Paul and Debbie

  • Liked — The service
  • Disliked — The room theme didnt quite fit the brilliant outdoor coastal settings.
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Ciaoitalia2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne Australia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 October 2008

After travelling all over Italy it was a pleasant relief to have 5 days at Onda Verde. It is hard to add to all the other glowing reviews about this hotel and its location, my wife and I still think about our time there. We had included in our package breakfast and dinner as did most guests, even though the food was about the best we had in Italy, next time we would definitely eat there some nights but there are lots of other ristorante's& bars around that we would like to experience as well, some right down on the water. The staff are very helpfull, the bus stops right out the front and you can walk down the path from the Hotel and get a boat to just about anywhere, you can also swim at the small beach there or jump off the concrete walkway.

The manager or owner seemed to be a bit tense but I suppose he is running a business. The area where Onda Verde is, is quiet and the view from your balcony or any part of the Hotel is spectacular. We will return to this Hotel (hopefully).

Helpful?
1 Thank Janbru_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Avoca Beach
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 October 2008

After six wonderful,frantic weeks of racing around Europe visiting museums, galleries etc we were won over by the tranquility and sheer beauty of the hotel and it's surroundings. Imagine eating a delicious breakfast, listening to classical music perched on a deck far above the turquise water. Imagine drifting off to sleep to the sound of lapping waves. Imagine wandering down the myriad of pathways leading from the hotel to swim at the little beach or wile away the afternoon with a beer or local vino at one of many restaurants strung out on the water's edge below the hotel. It was heaven!. My husband had to ask me to stop repeating ...."This is so beautiful!" We booked a seven night package which was a pretty good deal.... accommodation, breakfast, three course dinners, guided tours of Capri and Pompeii, and private car (Mercedes) pick-up and delivery to Naples station. The latter was invaluable as transportation is difficult otherwise. We loved the meals, but did feel a bit disappointed not to be able to eat at other enticing eateries. The room was ok, bed good and the view stunning. It was much better staying here than Positano or Amalfi .... it was a relief to escape the touristy crowds and shops we encountered on our day trips. The staff are just wonderful. We felt like we had discovered a most amazing place.... everything we'd read about it turned out to be true. It is a little piece of heaven and we will definately return. Julie and Peter Mitchell

  • Liked — ambiance, views, food
  • Disliked — room only ok
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank JenniAvocaBeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Halifax, Nova Scotia
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 October 2008

The room and hotel exceeded expectations. Reality was much better than the pictures on the net. Hotel owner and staff were always friendly, knowledgable and helpful. Perfect. We will return for a week or two next time.

Stayed September 2008
Helpful?
Thank BILLLINDA03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Praiano
0.5 mi away
Hotel Margherita
Hotel Margherita
#2 of 20 in Praiano
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,298 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Tramonto d'Oro
Hotel Tramonto d'Oro
#5 of 20 in Praiano
4.5 of 5 bubbles 783 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Pellegrino
Hotel Pellegrino
#1 of 20 in Praiano
5.0 of 5 bubbles 651 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Santa Caterina Hotel
Santa Caterina Hotel
#1 of 29 in Amalfi
5.0 of 5 bubbles 906 reviews
1.2 mi away
Grand Hotel Tritone
Grand Hotel Tritone
#7 of 20 in Praiano
4.5 of 5 bubbles 523 reviews
0.9 mi away
Casa Angelina
Casa Angelina
#3 of 20 in Praiano
5.0 of 5 bubbles 760 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Onda Verde? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Onda Verde

Property: Hotel Onda Verde
Address: Via Terra E Mare 3, 84010 Praiano, Italy
Region: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Praiano
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Praiano
#3 Romantic Hotel in Praiano
#4 Family Hotel in Praiano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Onda Verde 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The "Onda Verde" hotel, situated in the heart of the Amalfi Coast, offers an unforgettable stay for nature lovers in search of tranquillity. Like a perfectly set diamond, Onda Verde is in an enchanting location among the beautiful inlets of the coast; 7 km (4.2 miles) equidistant from the towns of Amalfi and Positano. The Hotel boasts an exclusive panorama of the Amalfi Coast; views include the Saracen Tower of Praiano, and that of the Conca Promontory, as well as Paestum, Capri and the Point of Campanella. The hotel is very near the cliffs and the beach. Its facilities and amenities enable guests to enjoy the sea and soak up the sun in the most inviting, friendly and relaxing atmosphere. When each guest arrives, they are greeted by a friendly reception. The Hotel has twenty five (25) private rooms nestled in five (5) mountainside villas as pictured here with bathroom, hair dryer, safety deposit box, minibar, telephone, free Wi-fi connection, satellite TV, air conditioning and breathtaking panoramic view. If you are a lover of beauty and nature, and you wish to watch breathtaking sunrises and romantic sunsets, Onda Verde is the place for you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Onda Verde reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Onda Verde Hotel
Onda Verde Praiano
Hotel Onda Verde Praiano, Amalfi Coast, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing