We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good Location but a bit overpriced”
Review of Hotel Onda Verde

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Onda Verde
Ranked #3 of 20 Hotels in Praiano
Certificate of Excellence
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
42 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Good Location but a bit overpriced”
Reviewed 18 September 2010

The hotel is nice and as we were going with another couple they gave us a room with a private terrace.

It's a nice 3 star hotel with a good location and view, but honestly a bit overpriced.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RachaMM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

949 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    743
    161
    24
    13
    8
See reviews for
126
593
14
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (218)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
california
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 15 September 2010

One of the best views of the Amalfi Coast from your room. The service and food is superb. And the owners give excellent service. We had the five day inclusive package and found it to be the best for your money. Plan on returning. Only one small complaint wish the beds were a little softer.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jrnmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Haughton, Louisiana
Level Contributor
1 review
Reviewed 23 August 2010

My husband and I visited the Amalfi Coast, August 7-12 celebrating our 21st wedding anniversary. We fell in love with the area and the hotel! We originally had reservations at Hotel Onda Verde for the 7-10 and a hotel in Rome for the 10-12. After our arrival and staying in Hotel Onda Verde for a few days, we cancelled our trip to Rome to stay for a few more days. We just could not leave this beautiful place. Miro and his son Franchesco were the best! They were so helpful with information and ideas of things to do. A great family with wonderful customer service! The restaurant at the hotel has great food, service and view. Our favorite time of day was sunset! The hotel has great balconies with amazing views. The airconditioner worked great! The hotel was beyond clean and the rooms were fantastic with an amazing view of the coast. Dreaming of a return visit in the near future!!!

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kjhjmh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Olomouc Region, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2010

It was my second stay at the Onda Verde and was super good as just expected. Hotel itself is beautiful and all foods were perfect. I brought my brother's family this time and they fell in love with this hotel, too. I liked frendly staffs the best. They made us so comfortable and relax. I also appreciated free wireless internet, which was not free last time.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank yjs68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2010

We just wanted to say how happy we were to have dined 5 times at the delightful restaurant of Hotel Onda Verde while staying in Praiano, last July.
We had rented an appartment and were not guests at the hotel but Sofia, the owner, was so nice, helpful and friendly, the location was so beautiful, the food so delicious (fresh fish just out of the water, fresh pasta, nice local wine) that we came back again and again. We are looking forward to going back and staying in this marvelous hotel next time !

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Jojo_Tintin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 August 2010

With so many excellent hotels in the neighbourhood, Onda Verde is simply poor value for a lot of money. Not actually a hotel but a set of small bungalows with a common restaurant, Onda Verde exposes you to heat and air conditioning as you move around. Upon complaining about fungus and dirty walls in our room we got the ruddest treatment possible and eventually had to leave the hotel with the credit card charged for three night in exchange for one night spent there in a shabby room with fungus (check other people's complaints on Trip Advisor). Costiera Amalfitana is a wonderfully place. Do not spoil your holidays staying in Onda Verde.

  • Stayed July 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mariusz1304
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelondaverde, Proprietario at Hotel Onda Verde, responded to this review, 25 August 2010
Since you stated that in your room there were this "inexistent" fungus, we offered you one of the best rooms of our hotel, at the same price of yours without considering that it was a room upgrade, that’s not a rude behaviour at all. We were just trying to make you happy, we were almost begging you to stay, but you just wanted to leave. In this case we have to guard ourselves, applying the "Cancellation Policy". After about an hour that you left our hotel, we received your cancellation from the Travel Agency and we just charged the money that the Travel Agency asked us to charge according to the cancellation policy that you accepted when you made the reservation. We didn’t make any unfair charge on your credit card. For us it’s very important to be always clear under every aspect with our guest, and it’s even more important that they leave our hotel satisfied. We felt very bad for what happened that day because we were really offering our best, but you just looked angry with us without any reason.. Luckily, as you can read from our reviews, our hotel is always greatly appreciated from all our guest, from famous actors and singers and from a lot of guest that become our friends and come back again and again.

Hope we’ll have a chance in future to make you change your idea about our hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbus, Mississippi
Level Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2010

We arrived in Praiano after visiting Venice,Monterossa and Florence. We were tired from continuous touring and travel. The hotel was great! The view was breath taking! The staff was very nice and extremely helpful. The room was very tastefully decorated and cheery. The bathroom was large with beautiful italian tile. The pictures on the hotel website capture the beauty. We were totally pleased with the food. I would recommend this hotel and hope to visit it again very soon!

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kelhayes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Praiano
0.5 mi away
Hotel Margherita
Hotel Margherita
#2 of 20 in Praiano
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,360 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Tramonto d'Oro
Hotel Tramonto d'Oro
#5 of 20 in Praiano
4.5 of 5 bubbles 801 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Pellegrino
Hotel Pellegrino
#1 of 20 in Praiano
5.0 of 5 bubbles 676 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Santa Caterina Hotel
Santa Caterina Hotel
#1 of 29 in Amalfi
5.0 of 5 bubbles 951 reviews
1.2 mi away
Grand Hotel Tritone
Grand Hotel Tritone
#7 of 20 in Praiano
4.5 of 5 bubbles 544 reviews
0.9 mi away
Casa Angelina
Casa Angelina
#4 of 20 in Praiano
5.0 of 5 bubbles 782 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Onda Verde? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Onda Verde

Property: Hotel Onda Verde
Address: Via Terra E Mare 3, 84010 Praiano, Italy
Region: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Praiano
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Praiano
#3 Romantic Hotel in Praiano
#4 Family Hotel in Praiano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Onda Verde 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The "Onda Verde" hotel, situated in the heart of the Amalfi Coast, offers an unforgettable stay for nature lovers in search of tranquillity. Like a perfectly set diamond, Onda Verde is in an enchanting location among the beautiful inlets of the coast; 7 km (4.2 miles) equidistant from the towns of Amalfi and Positano. The Hotel boasts an exclusive panorama of the Amalfi Coast; views include the Saracen Tower of Praiano, and that of the Conca Promontory, as well as Paestum, Capri and the Point of Campanella. The hotel is very near the cliffs and the beach. Its facilities and amenities enable guests to enjoy the sea and soak up the sun in the most inviting, friendly and relaxing atmosphere. When each guest arrives, they are greeted by a friendly reception. The Hotel has twenty five (25) private rooms nestled in five (5) mountainside villas as pictured here with bathroom, hair dryer, safety deposit box, minibar, telephone, free Wi-fi connection, satellite TV, air conditioning and breathtaking panoramic view. If you are a lover of beauty and nature, and you wish to watch breathtaking sunrises and romantic sunsets, Onda Verde is the place for you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Onda Verde reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Onda Verde Hotel
Onda Verde Praiano
Hotel Onda Verde Praiano, Amalfi Coast, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing