We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pristine, guest focused, gem.”
Review of Hotel Onda Verde

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Onda Verde
Ranked #3 of 20 Hotels in Praiano
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
“Pristine, guest focused, gem.”
Reviewed 15 October 2010

We spent 8 days and didn't want to leave. Although there were many excursions in water taxis and organized tours to Pompeii and Capri, we preferred to relax and unwind totally at the hotel. We swam, and sunbathed on the deck overlooking the sea and stunning coastline. We explored the adjacent Saracen tower on foot to discover an artist's studio. We delighted in a ballet of Medusa jellyfish on parade observed from the La Pirata restaurant below the hotel.

My husband's breathing machine failed during our stay and Miro was able to organize the local electrician to fix it, for a more than reasonable fee. Just the fact that he knew who to call rescued what could have been a vacation stopper for us.

We felt looked after and pampered. Both Giuseppe and Michele in the dining room as well as Chef, took an interest in each day. Food discussions were the norm; then we got into the wine. As wine lovers and in the wine business, we were impressed by the selection and reasonable prices of the wines. If we didn't finish a bottle (rare) it was brought out for the next meal. How personalized and how sensible.

The best accolade we could give is the feeling afterward of complete relaxation. The biggest daily choice - what kind of pasta to choose tonight. Not many places can bring together the atmosphere, setting from a movie, and service like Miro and his staff at Onda Verde. Congratulations and we'll be back.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tedbeachToronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,009 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    793
    169
    25
    14
    8
See reviews for
133
643
14
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (227)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 October 2010

Forget Positano. Forget Amalfi. If you are looking for the absolute BEST non-tourist-y true Italian seaside hotel, this is it! The Onda Verde, overlooking the marina in Praiano, is quintessential Italian living. The rooms are all the same, with the best views of the water and the Amalfi coast anywhere on the coast. When we entered our room for the first time and Francesco threw open the shuttered doors to expose the sunny terrace off our room, it took my breath away - it was soooo beautiful! I kissed his cheek I was so happy! Every room has this same view overlooking a sleepy little fishing cove below, with the rocky Amalfi coast and the mountains in the background - it is simply a little bit of heaven. Quiet, picturesque, dreamy. Sunsets like you have never seen before! We will never stay anywhere else. Miro (the owner) and his wife and their charming son Francesco work very hard to make sure your stay is perfect. We consider them family now. They were SO helpful and kind to us - molto gentile.Their English is perfect - especially Francesco - who exchanged multiple emails with me, trying to plan our airport pick up in Naples, concert tickets to Ravello, etc. He is a gem! They ALL bend over backwards to make your stay absolutely perfect - it is a point of pride for them - they SINCERELY want to make you happy. The meals on the terrrace overlooking the water were excellent quality with views that cannot be beat - they go on and on forever. One morning the chef surprised us with homemade cinnamon sugared donuts - YUM! Not that they were needed - there was always SOOO MUCH food to choose from - large tables laden with pastries, cereals, meats, croissants, you name it....definitely NOT a place to diet! Terrace dinners are candlelit and romantic, with homemade pastas, excellent fish, grilled mozzarella on lemon leaves, you name it. The beds in the room were the best of all the hotels we stayed in. There is a beach below the hotel where the fishermen bring up their boats at night. Many local Italians come there to relax and swim - especially on the weekend. We loved it! We hated to leave. We will definitely come back, with our children next time. And, the very best thing is that the hotel is so affordable! We paid over THREE TIMES MORE to stay at the Bellevue Syrene in Sorrento (also a lovely hotel), with room with a terrace on the water.....but it did not come close to beating your hotel or seaviews in our opinion. Our thanks to Miro, his wife and his son Francesco (who you should be SO proud of Miro! I predict he will one day outdo even you (!) as an excellent hotelier! - This is the best compliment you can give to a parent in my opinion, that your child takes after you and wants to do even better than you. Yes, your beautiful hotel is in very good hands indeed!). My only worry is that this place is going to become so swamped with tourists once people discover it (and read this glowing review!), that it will change. PLEASE DO NOT CHANGE A THING!! It is PERFECT IN EVERY WAY. We LOVED IT! Thank you for our BEST experience in Italy. We will keep in touch and see you again in the very near future. Grazie Mille!!!!! .

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank debkol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
1 review
Reviewed 9 October 2010

This was our fifth year at Hotel Onda Verde and we can't praise it enough for the location with a magnificent view, the warm hospitality from the owners and all the wonderful staff, and excellent food and service. They always go over and beyond to please us. It's a family atmosphere and we feel so welcomed. It's a home away from home for us.
Try it, you will want to go there again and again.

Galileo and Ninetta Ricci


family

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank contessa041
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston
Level 5 Contributor
22 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 October 2010

My wife and I (both 55 y.o. from Boston Mass.) spent four nights at the Onda Verde in early September 2010. We had spent the proceeding 5 nights at the Hotel de Ville in Sorrento (nice, see my review there), using it as a base for day trips to Pompeii, Naples, and Capri. We anticipated that we would then want to see the Amalfi Coast from a more central coastal base and that we would want something different than the larger tourist hotel in the larger tourist town of Sorrento. We are glad we made the decision to stay right on the Amalfi Coast, and glad that we chose Praiano and the Onda Verde. Praiano is about halfway between Positano and Amalfi, and it is very easy to use the SITA bus to get to either (and Atrani & Ravello) in less than a half-hour. Praiano is a charming fishing village, with plenty of hotels and guest rental houses, but is relaxed and inhabited by real residents. The Onda Verde is very relaxed, and is family run (but professionally) by host Cosimiro, his wife, and son. It has about 25 rooms distributed in five or so buildings all built atop one another and clinging to the side of a cliff-like hill in Marina di Praia, at the east end of Praiano. One enters at the Amalfi Coast Drive level, at a fenced car-park on the roof of the uppermost building. Here there is only the top of a six level elevator that decends into the hill. At each level, tunnels carved through the rock lead south out to daylight. The tunnels get longer at each lower level. From there you find your room in one of the buildings, sometimes up, sometimes down. Ours required climbing steps back up between two buildings. You never get the sense that you are INSIDE a hotel, but rather that you are outside amongst the hotel facilities. All rooms look out over the Mediterranean and have terraces of various sizes. The main common sun terrace is on the restaurant's roof. The restaurant has a perimeter porch with a great view. We had a budget room which was small but perfectly adequate and clean. ALL rooms have fabulous views; east to the Marina di Praia beach captured between two rock cliff bookends, and west to the 12th century Asciola coast guard tower, which is now an artist's studio and romantically lit at night. A ramped pedestrian road hairpins up from the beach past (almost through) the hotel. Fishermen come and go from the marina, two boat companies rent and operate small vessels out of it, and some Italian kids come to swim after school. There are three restaurants on the beach and one (Il Pirata) on the water's edge below the Hotel. Together with the Hotel's restaurant, you could eat (and eat well) in a different place each night of the week, all within a 5 minute walk of each other. (The nearby Paradise restaurant and Club Africana night club are closed, or there would be even more.) As a guest in the hotel, you feel like the whole Marina di Praia cove is yours to use. The whole ambiance is charming, very quiet (an occasional SITA bus honking as it rounds a turn above the beach) and secluded but with a little bit of activity that makes you feel that you've taken part in the life of the place. The staff have lots of information to offer, sell bus tickets at the desk, offer beach towels, and will book you tickets for anything on the Amalfi coast. A computer near the desk (and a small lending library) has internet service available. There is a marvelous photo hanging behind the desk showing the hill before the hotel was built, prompting my questions that got Cosimiro telling stories of his labors building the hotel with his father. The breakfasts, and dinners are quite good. There are usually homemade cakes, and one breakfast featured fresh figs grown on the property. Their is no pool, but the sea is at the bottom of the steps. The only downside is that the western side of Praiano, which is the heart of the village at the San Gennaro Church, is a 15-20 minute walk up the Amalfi Coast Drive. We made the walk almost every day we were there, so it wasn't that bad, but a Vespa would have made it a 5 minute trip. (See my trip report in the Praiano Forum.) I would recommend the Onda Verde without hesitation to those looking for something distinctive, scenic, and romantic.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RTullis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wiltshire
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 October 2010

We were really impressed with all the hotel offered on its website and I was looking forward to a rest and being pampered after years of self-catering. On arrival we were asked for the flight details home - not very diplomatic after a long, tiring journey. Casomiro and particularly his son, treated us as cattle; we were there to pay the bills and we felt he suffered our company. Charmless and mean, the food offered on the "package" (avoid at all costs - and there is absolutely no financial flexibility in changing anything) was at best only adequate and often really insulting. After 7 nights we wanted to escape, and managed to do so for 2 nights as Miro was able to let our superior bedroom for the weekend - however there was no charity and we were given a 2 star bedroom for our last night and little for the exchange. I doubt if this hotel EVER has repeat "package" bookings which is a shame as the domestic staff did their very best, our (best) room was spacious and clean with a good bathroom, the views were wonderful and it was very close to the sea with good deep swimming at the bottom of the steps. Who wrote the reviews on his website? It is hard to believe that anyone could wax so lyrically about it all. .A BIG disappointment.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lucyWiltshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saskatoon, Saskatchewan, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
92 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 October 2010

We rented an apartment in Praiano, and discovered this hotel as we were walking down to the beach by the marina. We decided to return for supper. There is a beautiful view overlooking the cove where the marina beach is located. (Note: beach is "pebbled" so not the sandy type of beach that many visitors expect.)

When we entered the restaurant, it looked a little upscale and I thought that might be a problem as we had our 10 and 13 year old boys with us, and they aren't totally housebroken. It wasn't a problem as the staff were very welcoming, friendly and engaging. My wife had pasta with clams and said it was excellent. I had spaghetti allo scoglio and it was also excellent with plenty of mussels, shrimp and squid.

It was about 20% more expensive than restaurants in other parts of town, but the quality and service were excellent and I thought it was very good value. 115 Euros for 4 people, with dessert, no wine.

Highly recommended.

Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank KVKV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 September 2010

We spent a glorious week in August 2010 at the Hotel Onda Verde. This family run hotel well and truly exceeded expectations.
It has a wonderful location sitting just above the beach, Marina Di Praia and has great views along the Amalfi Coast. The service was professional and yet very friendly and helpful. We had a number of excellent meals and breakfast was always a treat.
Our room was of a decent size and well appointed. It also had a verandah big enough for two deck chairs to sit comfortably alongside one another, where we could take in the view and soak up the sun.
The ferry to Positano is less than 100 meters from the hotel and just to add to the delights there are another four or five restaurants nearby.
We stayed a week and thought we were in paradise.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank StephenandRobyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Praiano
0.5 mi away
Hotel Margherita
Hotel Margherita
#2 of 20 in Praiano
1,465 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Tramonto d'Oro
Hotel Tramonto d'Oro
#5 of 20 in Praiano
832 reviews
1.2 mi away
Grand Hotel Tritone
Grand Hotel Tritone
#7 of 20 in Praiano
637 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
NH Collection Grand Hotel Convento di Amalfi
0.9 mi away
Hotel Pellegrino
Hotel Pellegrino
#1 of 20 in Praiano
708 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Locanda Costa Diva
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Onda Verde? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Onda Verde

Property: Hotel Onda Verde
Address: Via Terramare, 3, 84010 Praiano, Italy
Region: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Praiano
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Praiano
#2 Luxury Hotel in Praiano
#3 Romantic Hotel in Praiano
#4 Family Hotel in Praiano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Onda Verde 4*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The "Onda Verde" hotel, situated in the heart of the Amalfi Coast, offers an unforgettable stay for nature lovers in search of tranquillity. Like a perfectly set diamond, Onda Verde is in an enchanting location among the beautiful inlets of the coast; 7 km (4.2 miles) equidistant from the towns of Amalfi and Positano. The Hotel boasts an exclusive panorama of the Amalfi Coast; views include the Saracen Tower of Praiano, and that of the Conca Promontory, as well as Paestum, Capri and the Point of Campanella. The hotel is very near the cliffs and the beach. Its facilities and amenities enable guests to enjoy the sea and soak up the sun in the most inviting, friendly and relaxing atmosphere. When each guest arrives, they are greeted by a friendly reception. The Hotel has twenty five (25) private rooms nestled in five (5) mountainside villas as pictured here with bathroom, hair dryer, safety deposit box, minibar, telephone, free Wi-fi connection, satellite TV, air conditioning and breathtaking panoramic view. If you are a lover of beauty and nature, and you wish to watch breathtaking sunrises and romantic sunsets, Onda Verde is the place for you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Onda Verde reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Onda Verde Hotel
Onda Verde Praiano
Hotel Onda Verde Praiano, Amalfi Coast, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing