We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent position and service”
Review of Hotel La Perla

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel La Perla
Ranked #12 of 20 Hotels in Praiano
Certificate of Excellence
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
68 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Excellent position and service”
Reviewed 26 June 2012

We stayed at La Perla 3 nights and I was very happy with my choice.
It is located right in the middle of the Amalfi coast providing easy access to all nearby points of interests. The room was not the best, as we did not get the sea view, but we were not too much bothered about it, as at least the sun was not making our room boiling hot and the air conditioning did not have to run the whole time. It was big enough, quiet and very clean. Towels and shampoo were provided every day. The breathtaking panorama could anyway be enoyed from the terrace, where we could relax in the evening or starting the day in the best possible way with a nice breakfast. Cakes, bread, cheese, cold meats and fresh fruit from their garden was available as a buffet with hot and cold drinks. The service was also fine. The staff is kind and prepared to offer help for any need. They organized our transfer to the airport, the rent of scooter and of a boat (to be tried!!!). It is nice that they also provide beach towels. If I am going back to the Amalfi Coast, I will certainly go back to this lovely hotel.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Francy_NL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

285 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    134
    118
    23
    6
    4
See reviews for
23
179
14
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, Canada
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2012

My husband and I just returned from this little gem of a hotel on the amazing Amalfi coast. We spent 3 nights at this picuresque little hotel. We were so lucky to have found this property on-line, we only wish we would have spent more time here and less elsewhere. When you book this property, make sure you book an oceanview room, it is breathtaking. The rooms are basic but clean, and more than adequite. The ocean view rooms have balconies equipped with chairs and a table.
The front desk clerk, Carmella, is extremely helpful with organizing outings, whether it be boat tours, or scooter rentals you are looking for, or just need help choosing a place to eat. The owner Vincenzo, is also very helpful and friendly, he will help you find the answer to any question you might have. The meals are like home cooked Italian meals. Raphael, is happy to take your bags to your room as well as tending bar and serving your table.
This little place just makes you feel at home. We would certainly stay there again.

Room Tip: Definitely worth it to book oceanview.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TanjaVandenberk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2012

We stayed at La Perla in May 2011 for 5 nights. Our room was a double on the side of the hotel with a partial sea view from our balcony. The view was stunning and we had chairs and a table on the balcony too which was great for relaxing after a day's touring. The room was kept spotlessly clean every day. The furnishings are basic but perfectly adequate. Breakfast included fresh fruit, meats and cheeses, cereals, cakes, juices and hot drinks and could be taken on the terrace overlooking the sea - a perfect start to the day. There was no lunch and dinner option available during our stay but there are plenty of local restaurants to choose from not far from La Perla. The staff were vey helpful and friendly, particulary Carmella who helped us with all our travel arrangements as well as recommending various places to eat. She was always cheerful and made us feel very welcome. There is a bus stop right outside the hotel and it was easy therefore to get to Positano and Amalfi. We used a taxi to and from the airport which cost us 120 euros each way and we used Sorrento Silver Star Cars for this, www.sorrentosilverstar.com they were excellent and we arranged the transfers via email with Luisa at Luisa@sorrentosilverstar.com (see separate review of Sorrento Silver Star Cars). We paid the driver at the end of the journey, no payment is required up front. This is a beautiful part of Italy and in the few days we were there we managed to see Positano, Amalfi, Ravello, did a wonderful boat trip to Capri and also saw Pompeii. We ate good food at the local restaurants, most overlooking the sea. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Adrian F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
78 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2012

The hotel is great, the staff are excellent and the location superb. Big choice at breakfast and very well looked after. The room was lovely and overlooked the bay, the balcony was great for an after breakfast coffee and I would recommend this place to anyone.

Room Tip: Insist on overlooking the bay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ChrisBrown524
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2012

We spent 3 nights at La Perla and loved it. The balcony sea view rooms are amazing. Good size, beatiful views off of the balcony and excellent service at the hotel. We initially booked a standard room which was smaller and only had a side view of the sea, so for a small fee we upgraded to a full sea view room, and loved it, it is still much cheaper than a comparable room at different hotels.

The breakfasts on the terrace are a real treat. Also, there are a bunch of restaurants in Furore right on the beach (10 minute walk), as well as on the road towards Praiano.

The hotel is a little bit outside of city center (20 minute walk) but is a great treat if you are looking for views, serenity and great food.

Room Tip: Ask for a full sea view room, standard room is very small.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kilka81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
64 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 January 2012

This was my second trip to Praiano and my friend Antonio recommended La Perla. We had a room with the most spectacular balcony view out to sea. The price was excellent and the bathroom had a spa bath. We stayed for a week and it was a great base to explore Sorrento, Amalfi, Positano and Pompeii, even if the bus services along that coast from the nearest major train stations are ridiculously full and perpetually late. Raffaele helped us with our bags up 2 flights of stairs (there's no lift) and was the loveliest guy (fulfilling the role of waiter and a few others). Davide at reception was a bit prickly at first but he eventually cracked a smile, and he was helpful when we needed him to be. The breakfast spread was fabulous and the balcony view over the glittering water was amazing. A short walk down the winding ramp to Marina de Praia, the cutest pebble beach with the best little seafood cafe playing Latin music (thanks to Salvatore and his cool old mum), to Il Pirata, a terrific restaurant carved into the cliff face run by great people and to the excellent art studio in the ancient stone tower below. A longer walk to Praiano town which has some very good cafes and restaurants. We recommend this place and Praiano to everyone!

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Netski66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
76 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 November 2011

We loved la Perla. Our room with the balcony was large with a good size bathroom and jacuzzi bath. It wasn't fancy with opulent furnishings but they were more than adequate. The outlook was magnificent. The onsite parking was great.The bus stop was a few steps from the bottom of the driveway. Our room was always cleaned perfectly. The reception staff as well as the waiter were always helpful and obliging. The internet was good. They provided us with good information about the area and getting around on the buses and organised a tour of Pompei and Herculaneum for us with pick up from the hotel which we did not know was available.This saved us a long drive. Breakfast was more than ample and could be eaten either inside in the dining room or out on the balcony with the magnificent view. The restaurant served good wholesome food which was very enjoyable. I loved the fact that it was not in a large town The town itself was a short 20min walk along the Amalfi Rd. Not a great deal of shopping there but some nice spots for an afternoon or evening drink whilst watching the sunset and ofcourse some more restaurants. We also walked down to the beach below and found another restaurant right on the water. All in all a wonderful stay. I would not hesitate to go back in a second.

Room Tip: Get a room with a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank getaway25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Praiano hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Locanda Costa Diva
0.1 mi away
Hotel Torre Saracena
Hotel Torre Saracena
#9 of 20 in Praiano
4.5 of 5 bubbles 456 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Margherita
Hotel Margherita
#2 of 20 in Praiano
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,357 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Holiday
Hotel Holiday
#13 of 20 in Praiano
4.0 of 5 bubbles 281 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Tramonto d'Oro
Hotel Tramonto d'Oro
#5 of 20 in Praiano
4.5 of 5 bubbles 799 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Onda Verde
Hotel Onda Verde
#4 of 20 in Praiano
4.5 of 5 bubbles 947 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel La Perla? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel La Perla

Property: Hotel La Perla
Address: Via Miglino 2, 84010 Praiano, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Praiano
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#11 Romantic Hotel in Praiano
#12 Family Hotel in Praiano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel La Perla 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel La Perla Praiano, my father Giovanni built this hotel in 1969. It's a small hotel overlooking one the most enchanting part of the bay of amalfi, right in the middle of the coast. Best location for many excursions, close to the main village and to the restaurants,few steps from the rocky beach la Praia, some rooms have balcony and Hydrojet tub. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LoveHolidays, Hotel.de, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel La Perla reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Perla Hotel
La Perla Praiano
Hotel La Perla Praiano, Amalfi Coast, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing