We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Mixed Feelings about this Hotel” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel La Perla

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel La Perla
Ranked #13 of 20 Hotels in Praiano
Certificate of Excellence
Chandlers Ford, England
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Mixed Feelings about this Hotel”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 September 2009

We have recently returned from a stay at La Perla.
Firstly the good points, good breakfast from a lovely terrace overlooking the bay, lovely waiter (Guiseppe my husband thinks he was called) who seemed to do everything from helping with cases to serving at breakfast and dinner on his own. We stayed in the Hotel for our evening meal twice, which is 3 courses plus fruit and coffee to finish for 25 Euros each plus your drinks, which was very nice and good value for the Amalfi Coast. I can also recommend the restaurant just down from the Hotel - Paradies, a bit more expensive but lovely food and very good service and looks out over the bay.
Also there was good off road parking which if you have been to the Amalfi coast you will appriciate what a bonus this is. Having said that, I believe it would have been better without a hire car and used the local buses, you can buy a 6 euro ticket which last 24 hours and you can go to most places we used this to go to Sorrento, Positano, Amalfi, etc. Parking (when you can find a place) is 2 -3 Euros an hour and the driving can be quite stressful at times, so the buses are really good value.

The negative points about the hotel were the noise at night from other residents - nothing rowdy just general moving around, showering, using the bathroom, doors banging the floors are tiled so everything seems amplified, also noise coming up from reception area. I would advise anyone staying here to upgrade to a better room, ours must have been about the only room without a view as seen on the professional photos, we actually looked out on to a brick wall which they had hung a small hanging basket of geraniums - but the room was dark and uninspiring whereas the room opposite ours (I saw when the maid was cleaning it) was lovely fresh and bright with a balcony. The shower was very small the shower curtain clung to you as you showered, it also overflowed over the shower tray. On the 1st morning we woke up to find a millipede in the bed with us which being a bit squemish did freak me out a bit to think it might have been crawling round all night.

All in all the hotel was O.K. generally clean and helpful staff, and value for money we did book it last minute, but I probably wouldn't stay there again more likely to stay in beautiful Ravello.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank havewebeenthere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fododo, propietario at Hotel La Perla, responded to this review, 7 October 2009
Dear Guest

Thank you for your visit at Hotel La Perla
I apologize for the inconvenient you had in our Hotel
the room you stayed was the only with no view but the only available when you booked ,the other rooms are of course more better, i apologize ,for, the uninvited guest , but we are located near the gardens and although we have a specialized firm for the disinfestation some times it can happen
we will work to improve our Guest satisfation
Thank you for you stay and come again on Amalfi coast.
Kind Regards Vincenzo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

279 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    129
    117
    23
    6
    4
See reviews for
22
177
13
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Czech Rep
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2009

Last week we returned from our trip to Amalfi coast. We really enjoyed it! The hotel was really cute, quiet service and perfect waiter /unfortunately I don't know his name- sorry and GRAZIE/,pleasant Italian breakfast with real cafe latte, clean rooms and beautiful solarium, helpful staff.
The rooms are not big, but you really only sleep there, we had a triple room, in fact I think it was a double room with an extra bed, but the price was reasonable. I booked it through venere.com .
Surprisingly there was no problem with the parking, we drove from Napoli airport and traveled the whole week by car, we didn't use the bus service there. The beach Marina di Praia is really small but you don't usually go there to spend the whole time on the beach, on the other hand you can observe the busy life of the locals there and the descent there from the hotel is really full of beautiful views and definitely stop at the tower in the gallery, it's worth visiting.
And in Marina there is a real gem for everybody who would like to enjoy real culinary experience Trattoria da Armandino. The best cuisine I have ever tried, I don't have enough words to express it. It is just "awesome". You must try it!
We loved our holiday in La Perla,Campania and we will return to Italy soon!

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CzechRepItalylover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2009

I haven't seen such an underrated hotel as la perla before! Seriously they were way over my expectations. Especially Maria, the front desk lady was super friendly and helpful all the time. Even though our reservation was for a room without the view, she asked us whether we've preferred to stay in a normally more expensive room with a view since the hotel was available! Who would do such a thing?

Our rooms were squeaky clean and the breakfast was worth mentioning! Pure continental breakfast with all the fresh food coming from the region. The hotel staff everyone was so friendly.

Location is also great, since Praiano is situated right in the middle of Positano and Amalfi you can get to wherever you like without any hassle. Simply take the coast bus right in front of the hotel.

I would strongly recommend this hotel to everyone, go and experience yourself you'll thank me...

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank troubadour34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2009

We stayed in room 209 after paying extra for the sea view - well worth it, the views were amazing, the hotel clean and staff friendly, a lovely breakfast every morning with a terrace to eat it on - again, amazing views. Our room had a jet bath and a balcony, it was fab. Very good value for money as well and the area wasnt overcrowded - as we felt Amalfi and Prositano was.

The beach is stony but there are pleny of sunbathing areas surrounding and the water is lovely.

We were there on our honeymoon and it was absolutely perfect, I would definitely recommend this area.

I would definitely recommend this place, it made for a fabulous honeymoon.

The only thing I would say, if you are travelling by train to Sorrento and then SITA bus (it is cheap and easy to do) then ask the driver to drop you at Hotel La Perla, dont get off when they call Priano as its quite a walk!

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank christmas2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roma
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 May 2009

After years of visiting the Amalfi Coast and always staying in Positano, we decided on a change. Praiano and Hotel la Perla were a delightful discovery. The hotel is perched above the Amalfi coast road, offering breathtaking views of the sea. The staff is particularly welcoming and made us feel at home from the moment we arrived.
The hotel is quiet and peaceful, where you can base yourself as you explore the busier, more famous Amalfi and Positano. There is an excellent bus service with a stop just outside the hotel to all the interesting towns along the coast. Breakfast and dinner (upon request) are served on a veranda where the atmosphere in the evening is truly magical. Our room had a balcony with chairs where we could sit and read or just watch the boats coming and going. We came away wishing we could have stayed longer and will certainly return at the first opportunity.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CanadeseRoma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco
Level Contributor
75 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 May 2009

Our experience here was mixed. Priano is a very disjointed little town- with lower, middle and upper sections going up a hillside. It is tough to figure out where "town" is, and I'm not sure there is a town center. La Perla is in an ideal location for to get to Amalfi and Positano since the bus stops right in front...but the bus stops right in front of lots of hotels in Priano, including the gorgeous Hotel Onde Verde which is directly across the road from La Perla. We spoke with many guests staying there and they loved it, which made us look longingly across the street each day as we waited for the bus. La Perla and many other hotels along the whole Amalfi coast are also ideally located for hiking all of the hill towns.

The room was tiny, but was reasonably priced. The view from the breakfast room balcony was stunning. The waiter that makes morning coffees and serves dinner was super sweet and helpful.

The shower leaked all over the bathroom floor no matter what type of shower curtain rig we could cook up to prevent it, so we had to use our bath towels each day to soak up the flood. The biggest complaint we had about La Perla was the staff. They were chilly, spoke nearly *zero* English (which seems strange when you are in the international hospitality business), and charged ten cents per minute for internet access on the lobby computer (and collecting 30 cents when you are finished) which made us feel like we were being nickled and dimed.

Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank MaloneV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fododo, owner at Hotel La Perla, responded to this review, 17 June 2009
Dear Carriev
From San Francisco
First i want to thank you for your stay at Hotel La perla Praiano.
Of course the accomadation is related to the price
i'm the owner and i speak english , german spanish, french, of course i'm in the hotel in the morning for the Guests needs ,not all staff speaks english ,they are learning english
regarding the bathroom and curtain other Guests
haven't the problem , anyway we provide to solve the problem .
there is a fee For internet use to avoid that some Guests
spend all the day at the computer ,dont giving the chance to use the computer to the other Guests
thank you again for you visit and for your review
Kind regards
Vincenzo D'Urso
Hotel la Perla Praiano
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2009

This hotel was really good value and the best location for walking/hiking. There are some amazing walks that you can start from the hotel including the 'path of the gods' and many others. Be prepared for hills/steps though! We were on public transport to get to the hotel but the bus driver was very helpful and told us when to get off. The hotel is just a few metres from the bus stop which is great for getting around the area. Our room had a lovely terrace equipped with deckchairs which looked out over the Amalfi Coast. Room was good, decent size, not really modern but well looked after and clean. No english channels on TV though. Bathroom was ok and clean. Breakfast was fab, there is a lovely terrace looking out over the coast . It's a basic continental breakfast with nice cakes. Location is good, there are about 4/5 restaurants in the little cove about 10 mins easy walk away, or you can walk into Praiano which takes about 20 mins (and hundreds of steps). We did eat at the hotel one night but prefered to wander into the town in the evening where there are some great little pizza places. Location of the bus stop makes it really easy to get around to visit the various towns on the coast. Praiano is much less touristy & quieter than the big towns on this coast (Amalfi, Positano). The locals gather in the evening to chat in the square whilst the kids play. It's really cute. I would definately recommend this hotel, and we would return. There was a mix up with the bill at the end, but was easily sorted out.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank butternutUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Praiano hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Locanda Costa Diva
0.4 mi away
Hotel Margherita
Hotel Margherita
#2 of 20 in Praiano
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,298 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Torre Saracena
Hotel Torre Saracena
#9 of 20 in Praiano
4.5 of 5 bubbles 448 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Onda Verde
Hotel Onda Verde
#4 of 20 in Praiano
4.5 of 5 bubbles 917 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Tramonto d'Oro
Hotel Tramonto d'Oro
#5 of 20 in Praiano
4.5 of 5 bubbles 783 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Holiday
Hotel Holiday
#14 of 20 in Praiano
4.0 of 5 bubbles 273 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel La Perla? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel La Perla

Property: Hotel La Perla
Address: Via Miglino 2, 84010 Praiano, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Praiano
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#11 Romantic Hotel in Praiano
#12 Family Hotel in Praiano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel La Perla 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel La Perla Praiano, my father Giovanni built this hotel in 1969. It's a small hotel overlooking one the most enchanting part of the bay of amalfi, right in the middle of the coast. Best location for many excursions, close to the main village and to the restaurants,few steps from the rocky beach la Praia, some rooms have balcony and Hydrojet tub. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotel.de, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Hotel La Perla reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Perla Hotel
La Perla Praiano
Hotel La Perla Praiano, Amalfi Coast, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing