We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Paradise...the perfect week!”
Review of Hotel La Perla

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel La Perla
Ranked #11 of 20 Hotels in Praiano
Certificate of Excellence
Palm Beach, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Paradise...the perfect week!”
Reviewed 4 November 2009

I just returned from Hotel La Perla where I stayed for six days. It is a spotlessly clean and well run hotel with incredible service. Davide (at the front desk) was charming and helpful from the moment I checked in. And as others have commented, Rafaello is helpful with breakfast and dinner...and lots in between...doing whatever he can to make your stay the best. I did not have a car and had no problems getting around. The bus stop is directly in front of the hotel and there are 1-day and 3-day passes available. They run continuously throughout the day about every 30-45 minutes. If you need a taxi or tour guide call Umberto who grew up driving these road and has new Mercedes. [--] or [--]. I walked into the central part of Praiano several times, but don't know if this is feasible in peak season with all the traffic. Also there is a fabulous restaurant in the marina just below the hotel called Bar Mare Petit Restaurant where Salvatore and his elderly mother prepare the best food! Hotel La Perla is truly a special place. Go and enjoy!

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sherrypalmbeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

297 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    139
    124
    24
    6
    4
See reviews for
23
188
15
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, UK
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 October 2009

It is a very clean and friendly hotel, situated in one of the most beautiful parts of the Amalfi Coast. The views are amazing and there is a huge roof terrace accessible to all residents. Weather was still very good in mid October with temperatures around 20C.
As already mentioned by other guests, breakfast is very good for the hotel's category and the service is great. The waiter mentioned by other visitors too (called Rafaello) is indeed going out of his way to make guests feel comfortable and well taken care of.
Most rooms seem to have either a sea view or a partial sea view; we had a partial sea view, which was still great. Room size is good, bathroom size is good too. The building is typical for the Amalfi coast with lots of stairs. There is no elevator, but that was not a problem at all and staff is very helpful with carrying luggage, etc.
The location is very beautiful, one of the best on the Amalfi coast, however it is meant for a car, i.e. it is driving distance from all nearby cities, such as Positano and Amalfi and also from Priano's center itself. There are a few nice restaurants walking distance from the hotel and local buses, in case one wants to drop off the car or simply not rent a car at all, but we think it would be very hard to enjoy this place without a car. With a car it is the perfect location, as it is away from the most touristy areas of Positano and Amalfi, but still close enough to visit them whenever one wishes.
We would overall rate it as a very nice hotel, up to expectations, as described by other guests as well. It is a very good value for money for the Amalfi coast and it is certainly a place to enhance one's holiday and the amazing experience that is Amalfi Coast.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank uk90uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chandlers Ford, England
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 September 2009

We have recently returned from a stay at La Perla.
Firstly the good points, good breakfast from a lovely terrace overlooking the bay, lovely waiter (Guiseppe my husband thinks he was called) who seemed to do everything from helping with cases to serving at breakfast and dinner on his own. We stayed in the Hotel for our evening meal twice, which is 3 courses plus fruit and coffee to finish for 25 Euros each plus your drinks, which was very nice and good value for the Amalfi Coast. I can also recommend the restaurant just down from the Hotel - Paradies, a bit more expensive but lovely food and very good service and looks out over the bay.
Also there was good off road parking which if you have been to the Amalfi coast you will appriciate what a bonus this is. Having said that, I believe it would have been better without a hire car and used the local buses, you can buy a 6 euro ticket which last 24 hours and you can go to most places we used this to go to Sorrento, Positano, Amalfi, etc. Parking (when you can find a place) is 2 -3 Euros an hour and the driving can be quite stressful at times, so the buses are really good value.

The negative points about the hotel were the noise at night from other residents - nothing rowdy just general moving around, showering, using the bathroom, doors banging the floors are tiled so everything seems amplified, also noise coming up from reception area. I would advise anyone staying here to upgrade to a better room, ours must have been about the only room without a view as seen on the professional photos, we actually looked out on to a brick wall which they had hung a small hanging basket of geraniums - but the room was dark and uninspiring whereas the room opposite ours (I saw when the maid was cleaning it) was lovely fresh and bright with a balcony. The shower was very small the shower curtain clung to you as you showered, it also overflowed over the shower tray. On the 1st morning we woke up to find a millipede in the bed with us which being a bit squemish did freak me out a bit to think it might have been crawling round all night.

All in all the hotel was O.K. generally clean and helpful staff, and value for money we did book it last minute, but I probably wouldn't stay there again more likely to stay in beautiful Ravello.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank havewebeenthere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fododo, propietario at Hotel La Perla, responded to this review, 7 October 2009
Dear Guest

Thank you for your visit at Hotel La Perla
I apologize for the inconvenient you had in our Hotel
the room you stayed was the only with no view but the only available when you booked ,the other rooms are of course more better, i apologize ,for, the uninvited guest , but we are located near the gardens and although we have a specialized firm for the disinfestation some times it can happen
we will work to improve our Guest satisfation
Thank you for you stay and come again on Amalfi coast.
Kind Regards Vincenzo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Czech Rep
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2009

Last week we returned from our trip to Amalfi coast. We really enjoyed it! The hotel was really cute, quiet service and perfect waiter /unfortunately I don't know his name- sorry and GRAZIE/,pleasant Italian breakfast with real cafe latte, clean rooms and beautiful solarium, helpful staff.
The rooms are not big, but you really only sleep there, we had a triple room, in fact I think it was a double room with an extra bed, but the price was reasonable. I booked it through venere.com .
Surprisingly there was no problem with the parking, we drove from Napoli airport and traveled the whole week by car, we didn't use the bus service there. The beach Marina di Praia is really small but you don't usually go there to spend the whole time on the beach, on the other hand you can observe the busy life of the locals there and the descent there from the hotel is really full of beautiful views and definitely stop at the tower in the gallery, it's worth visiting.
And in Marina there is a real gem for everybody who would like to enjoy real culinary experience Trattoria da Armandino. The best cuisine I have ever tried, I don't have enough words to express it. It is just "awesome". You must try it!
We loved our holiday in La Perla,Campania and we will return to Italy soon!

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CzechRepItalylover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2009

I haven't seen such an underrated hotel as la perla before! Seriously they were way over my expectations. Especially Maria, the front desk lady was super friendly and helpful all the time. Even though our reservation was for a room without the view, she asked us whether we've preferred to stay in a normally more expensive room with a view since the hotel was available! Who would do such a thing?

Our rooms were squeaky clean and the breakfast was worth mentioning! Pure continental breakfast with all the fresh food coming from the region. The hotel staff everyone was so friendly.

Location is also great, since Praiano is situated right in the middle of Positano and Amalfi you can get to wherever you like without any hassle. Simply take the coast bus right in front of the hotel.

I would strongly recommend this hotel to everyone, go and experience yourself you'll thank me...

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank troubadour34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2009

We stayed in room 209 after paying extra for the sea view - well worth it, the views were amazing, the hotel clean and staff friendly, a lovely breakfast every morning with a terrace to eat it on - again, amazing views. Our room had a jet bath and a balcony, it was fab. Very good value for money as well and the area wasnt overcrowded - as we felt Amalfi and Prositano was.

The beach is stony but there are pleny of sunbathing areas surrounding and the water is lovely.

We were there on our honeymoon and it was absolutely perfect, I would definitely recommend this area.

I would definitely recommend this place, it made for a fabulous honeymoon.

The only thing I would say, if you are travelling by train to Sorrento and then SITA bus (it is cheap and easy to do) then ask the driver to drop you at Hotel La Perla, dont get off when they call Priano as its quite a walk!

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank christmas2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Praiano hotels
0.8 mi away
Hotel Tramonto d'Oro
Hotel Tramonto d'Oro
#6 of 20 in Praiano
821 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Locanda Costa Diva
0.3 mi away
Hotel Holiday
Hotel Holiday
#12 of 20 in Praiano
290 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hotel Il Pino
Hotel Il Pino
#14 of 20 in Praiano
232 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Alfonso a Mare
Hotel Alfonso a Mare
#17 of 20 in Praiano
125 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Margherita
Hotel Margherita
#2 of 20 in Praiano
1,434 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel La Perla? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel La Perla

Property: Hotel La Perla
Address: Via Miglino 2, 84010 Praiano, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Praiano
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#11 Romantic Hotel in Praiano
#12 Family Hotel in Praiano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel La Perla 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel La Perla Praiano, my father Giovanni built this hotel in 1969. It's a small hotel overlooking one the most enchanting part of the bay of amalfi, right in the middle of the coast. Best location for many excursions, close to the main village and to the restaurants,few steps from the rocky beach la Praia, some rooms have balcony and Hydrojet tub. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, LoveHolidays, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Priceline, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel La Perla reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Perla Hotel
La Perla Praiano
Hotel La Perla Praiano, Amalfi Coast, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing