We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel, great staff and lovely location”
Review of Hotel Holiday

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Holiday
Ranked #14 of 20 Hotels in Praiano
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 May 2011

Great hotel with such accomodating staff! As our trip was not in the busiest part of season (end of May) the staff offered to take us and pick us up from the beach at different times to what they usually had on offer as part of the free shuttle service. Before going to Priano we enquired about private transfers, as Napoli is around 60km away this worked out quite expensive. Marianna (hotel owner) sent me an email with all out options of getting from the airport to Prianom even offering to come and collect us from the bus stop once we had arrived.
I cannot say any more great things about the staff in this hotel which made a great holiday even more enjoyable. Room good and very clean and not forgetting the amazing views from all rooms over looking the Amalfi Coast.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JetSetter095
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (300)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Holiday
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

109 - 115 of 301 reviews

Reviewed 23 May 2011

Had four nights here and during that time the staff could not do enough for us, they were more than helpful! The room was great with a fantastic uninterrupted view of the sea, the breakfast was nice, the home made cakes were a standout. The location was on top of the hill, but the hotel shuttle was really convenient to get around.
Good value for money.
Only downside was that it was near a school so if you want to sleep in on a weekday you might not get it.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Reggy_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2011

We reserved a room for this hotel through the Hostelworld website. We immediately realized an error in the online booking and as per the cancellation policy cited in the website, sent an email to cancel what we had just reserved, knowing that the immediacy of the cancellation would not have had any negative impact on the hotel. We also expected that this request would have been accepted by the hotel, as the booking website wrote in one place that 24 hours was their cancellation policy, and in another place 48 hours was written. We had cancelled 71.5 hours ahead of time. Instead, Hotel Holiday requested 72 hours for cancellation and refused to refund us our deposit. This doesn't make sense - first of all, the 72 hours was not clear, and secondly, if I tried to cancel what I had just reserved two minutes before, it is clear that we had not taken up any room which would have blocked someone else from reserving it. We tried to talk sense into the owner but they very rudely told us that it was our fault and finally hung up the phone on us.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
6  Thank Laura H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
holidayPraiano, Direttore at Hotel Holiday, responded to this reviewResponded 31 January 2012

Dear Guest,
first of all sorry that you could not stay in our hotel and had to cancel your reservation outside the time limits laid down.
Sorry also that your review comes with a year late and is only now published.
We tried to go back to the episode you mention, but, honestly, after so much time there is a bit difficult to verify what happened.
However, we point out that its policy for Hostelworld deposit required at time of booking that the customer pays the portal and not responsible for booking the hotel where our cancellation policies are aligned to the policies of this portal.
The cancellation policy (72 hours) are present on all sites linked to Hostelworld and should be all the same. If you have found some inconsistencies should contact Hostelworld to this portal is because you have paid a deposit and not to our hotel.
We have special conditions for those who book directly on our official website.
In your case, the conditions have been applied by the operator with whom you booked.
Sorry for yours bad experience, but on the other hand, we encouraged that as shown by the other reviews we are not scammers.
Each level of contact with our customers we always need to be able to have initiatives to improve and ensure maximum transparency between us and our guests.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2010

We spent a wonderful 4 nights in this sweet family fun hotel and I have only good things to say about it. Our room was very pink(!) and spotlessly clean, as was the bathroom but the best thing about it was the large shaded terrace, complete with sunloungers and a table made it the perfect place to relax and look out over the sea.

The breakfast buffet was very good, It was a shame that the restaurant had already closed for the seaon but they were very helpful in offering to drive us anywhere we wanted to go in the evenings.

True you have to walk up a hill in order to get back to the hotel after eating in town but really - how can you complain when the location is so fantastic otherwise. And anyway, a short stroll home to work off the delicious food you'll eat everywhere can only be a good thing, right? There are plenty of great places to eat only a short walk away. I would recommend getting a lift to the Marina di Praia to eat one evening as it's a beautiful location to sit out under the stars and enjoy catch of the day!

The family running the hotel are really friendly and happy to chat and incredibly helpful. We really loved this place.......but perhaps I'm biased - we got engaged while staying there!

I hope we'll be back!

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WLondon77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2010

Praiano is a little village, not crouded and yet not touristy, in the middle of Amalfi Coast. Those are the best reasons to choose it as preferable place for our vacation there. We choose Holiday Hotel by the internet and actually found it excellent! We had booked ourselves for two days and decided to remain there for the rest of our trip - four more days, because we found it the best place we can hope for.
This is a Mediteranian arcihtecture and decoration style building. You can see the lines of curves and waves and the color of the sea and terra all around - on the walls. furnitures, facilities.
Our room was all over orange. It was comfortable and clean and contained everything we needed, cocluding magnificent view on the balcony. You can see the attention for practice and aesthetics all together.
The breakfast buffet was varied, homely and very tasty, and was emphasised by the breathtaking definitely stunning view of the coast and the sea, on the terrace of the dining room, and by the smiley, gracious, helpful, friendly and proficient staff there.
You must wake up early in the morning for being a part of the rebirthing of the sun on the sky and in the water! Every day is unique!
And most of all - the hotel is managed by a very welcoming, friendly, efficient, extremely helpful family staff. You feel that the owner herself takes a personal interest in comfort and satisfaction of every guest.
I ought a special gratitude to Mariana for her endless, and almost hopeless, efforts- to find for me gifts which I had bought in Kapri and forgot them there. She spent time and money for that, (While I was travaling in Pompei) but by her intentness and willfulness - she won! A lot of "grazia" from me and my grandchildren, who got their gifts.
And finally - the location is optimal, quiet and not too far. You can go by foot down to the coast, uphill, or to the center of Praiano. You can get a local busses to Amalfi, Possitano, Sorrento, in the station by the hotel. There is a possibility to Join to an organized tours from the hotel.
And last but not least - parking was always available,' and without paying. It's very important in Italy.
Conclusion - the hotel is highly recommeded!!!

Stayed: September 2010, travelled with friends
3  Thank iiit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2010

A nice hotel with a spectacular view over the coast and sea, both from the room's balcony and dining terrace. The room was beautiful with decoration in violet and at night the ceiling became a starry sky! The hotel staff were very helpful and friendly; driving us to the beach at demand etc. We felt the location to be a little bit off, especially as the hotel restaurant was closed for the season. The bathroom was nice and clean but the function could do with a little improvement.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank absolut88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2010

This hotel was in a town between Amalfi and Positano. The location allowed us to drive or take the bus to either location easily. The bus stops were a little walk but not bad abd the bus service was excellent. The town itself was charming and had some good restaurants.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PJBLTB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Praiano
0.4 mi away
Hotel Il Pino
Hotel Il Pino
#12 of 20 in Praiano
240 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Tramonto d'Oro
Hotel Tramonto d'Oro
#6 of 20 in Praiano
842 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Margherita
Hotel Margherita
#2 of 20 in Praiano
1,501 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Pensione Maria Luisa - Amalfi Coast
0.5 mi away
Hotel Alfonso a Mare
Hotel Alfonso a Mare
#16 of 20 in Praiano
135 reviews
0.9 mi away
Grand Hotel Tritone
Grand Hotel Tritone
#7 of 20 in Praiano
668 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Holiday? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Holiday

Address: Corso Umberto Primo 105 | Amalfi Coast, 84010 Praiano, Italy
Region: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Praiano
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#12 Romantic Hotel in Praiano
Price Range: £82 - £155 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Holiday 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Holiday reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Hotel Praiano
Hotel Holiday Praiano, Amalfi Coast, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing