We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awful experience”
Review of Hotel Holiday

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Holiday
Ranked #12 of 20 Hotels in Praiano
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Awful experience”
Reviewed 28 October 2011

I have worked in the travel industry for years & have never felt the need to post a review against a property until now.

I have been travelling for years & have stayed in many hotels from basic guest house to 5 star resorts & this was the most awful experience I have encountered.

The staff, namely Marianne (supposed manager) was rude & unfriendly. We felt as if we were in a prison & received a lecture after getting back to the hotel after dinner at midnight... getting yelled at after a relaxing evening out is not my idea of being on holiday!

Rooms are very basic, bed rock hard, towels the texture & absorbency of bed sheets, bathroom dirty, drain clogged so basin & shower constantly flooded.

View from breakfast area is amazing though pretty much everywhere in Praiano has this.

Our friends stayed at their 'sister property' Hotel Margherita up the road, we couldn't get in as it was booked out. This hotel was a lot nicer (rooms tasteful, roof top restaurant lovely), the staff here were friendly to us even though we weren't staying at their hotel!

Strongly advise against staying at 'Hotel Holiday', it's anything but!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank SarahM368
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
holidayPraiano, Direttore at Hotel Holiday, responded to this review, 28 October 2012
Dear Madam, thank you for your review although it is completely false.
1 - Marianna was not rude and unhelpful as you wrote, but she's only asked to pay the bill for a service you have received since you refused and threatened to discredit the hotel on Tripadvisor.
2 - Our hotel is open 24 hours a day, our guests can come and go at any time of the day or night and there is always someone on the staff to greet them with a smile that just do not understand why you felt in prison .
3 - We have various types of rooms, standard (which you booked) superior, deluxe and junior suites with Jacuzzi where, however, an electronic safe, air conditioning, telephone, TV, sky, pay TV, radio,alarm clock,minibar, hairdryer,internet connection are present in all that we do not share yours idea of "essential".
4 - If you had told us that the bed was hard for you could change the room since we have different types of mattresses to suit all tastes.
5 - Our towels are of two types, cotton and sponge, could you choose which ones you preferred.
6 - We never had any complaints about the cleanliness and also the bath room assigned to you had just been restored so it really absurd what you writes.
We are pleased that at least the view of our structure was to yours liking!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

291 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    138
    95
    34
    12
    12
See reviews for
26
196
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Miami, Florida
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 September 2011

I just came back from a long 2 month vacation throughout all of Italy. My last stay was here and I have to say that it was so worth it. My friend and I arrived exhausted and were greeted by the best and nicest people ever. They went out of their way to help us out and make sure that we were comfortable. We even were able to extend out stay in a very busy time of the year. The manager worked things out she had already fixed just to help us out.
Yes I have been in probably fancier hotels but this place is special. Our room was very clean and comfortable. The staff could not have been nicer. They helped us out and guided us. The manager is there all the time, that poor lady works round the clock and I feel some of the comments made here in reference to her are unjust. I never saw her treat anyone with less than the utmost respect. This place runs like a family rather than a traditional hotel, which in my case makes it special. I look forward to the day I can return and spend an entire month there. They even drive you to the beach and pick you up. And no doubt i will return to the Holiday hotel!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank imvidal24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2011

hotel is not so great. Beside the view which is amazing, floor of the room do not smell good, bad is not comportable, the man at the reception was not nice and was not helpfull.
food was not fresh in the breakfast.
bad servise for TV.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank bilha57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Armacao dos Buzios, RJ
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2011

I must say that my friend and I were perplexed by how we were received by the front desk upon arrival. The manager was really unfriendly and we felt that we really just were in her way! When we came to look for brochures of the town and area, the front desk manager asked if she could help. We asked her to give us a little time to have a look first at the options/pamphlets in the lobby. When we 5min later had done our research, we did actually have some questions regarding restaurants and more. The manager did then look at us with an overbearing and tired look…..seeing how she was now really negative; we quickly decided that we did not have any further questions indeed. View from the room was great. The room was all “pink” and in need of some new furniture. Towels were too lousy to be in a 3 star hotel. I would not return.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank FBecker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lausanne
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2011

Really the only thing missing was a bit more chearfulness at the reception...
Room are very nice ( superior with full sea view, lovely balcony and sun bed). The ceiling a night display a soft starring night. Nice matrass, spacious shower. Towels a bit too flimsy but all is well kept and super clean. Breakfast is on a very pretty terrace with amazing view. Plenty of food to choose from and very friendly personel. Orange juice a bit too watered down soon forgotten after an amazing cappuccino. Free valet parking (great plus in this cost) and shuttle courtesy service down the beach. We walked down and up (consider 20 min of stairs, and 30' coming up. great aerobic exercise free of charge!!) but if no kids and no cracking knees, is a nice stroll across. Silent at night for a perfect rest.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jogimax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montevideo, Uruguay
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2011

Hotel was nice, some views were amazing, breakfast was good with good service. The woman at the reception was unfriendly and intruding, but i the rooms were good (not great) and the location was nice and basically you get better rates than staying in Positano. One thing we disliked were towels, they were just a pice of cloth.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank UruguayTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Finland
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2011

We stayed here for two nights during our Italy trip. Excellent
3-star hotel, if this would be 4-star hotel, I would say average+.

Absolutely fantastic service and views. Rooms were average+,
breakfast was good.

Located in small small town Praiano, which was not so full of
tourists as Positano. Location maybe not the best one, but
did not matter to us.

A great choice for 2-3 days trip.

Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank MarkusF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Praiano hotels
0.5 mi away
Hotel Tramonto d'Oro
Hotel Tramonto d'Oro
#6 of 20 in Praiano
821 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Locanda Costa Diva
0.1 mi away
Hotel Margherita
Hotel Margherita
#2 of 20 in Praiano
1,434 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Il Pino
Hotel Il Pino
#14 of 20 in Praiano
232 reviews
0.9 mi away
Grand Hotel Tritone
Grand Hotel Tritone
#7 of 20 in Praiano
622 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel La Perla
Hotel La Perla
#11 of 20 in Praiano
297 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Holiday? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Holiday

Property: Hotel Holiday
Address: Corso Umberto Primo 105, 84010 Praiano, Italy
Region: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Praiano
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#12 Romantic Hotel in Praiano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Holiday 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Holiday reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Hotel Praiano
Hotel Holiday Praiano, Amalfi Coast, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing