We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really nice hotel, we will be back for longer”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Grand Hotel Tritone
Ranked #7 of 20 Hotels in Praiano
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 June 2011

We had our Mini-moon here which was only for a couple of days. The hotel was great and the long lift down to the private beach is a fantastic find. We only found the higher pool on day one, it would have been nice if the hotel staff had pointed out the other features of the hotel.

Eating out and taxis in the area are expensive - but that is probably the weak currency more than anything. Because of the distance from the airport and the distance from the towns I'll hire a car next time we go.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank keiron77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (669)
There are newer reviews for Grand Hotel Tritone
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

345 - 351 of 669 reviews

Reviewed 28 May 2011

We really lucked out. We did not do our homework about the Amalfi coast and had no idea where all the towns were. We just booked accoding to our 200 euros per night budget and looked for a hotel with all the rooms having a view. This place blew our minds, and after being there and comparing to all the other places we saw, we feel really lucky. If you have a car, it has free, guarded parking right off the highway. If you don't have a car, Praiano is a short walk away, so you can walk to and from dinner. This makes for a really quiet location, but with a killer view. The hotel is perched up on the cliff, but the grounds span the width and length of the cliff. It was unbelievable. There were so many areas of the grounds to explore...from hideaway terraces with lemon trees, staircases built artistically and were here and there and everywhere. From the street, all the way to the ocean if you wanted to do that. If not, there are elevators to the beach and back up. Their private beach is awesome. The room we had (delux double) was a corner room (#130) and the view was breath taking...Praiano on one side and close enough to hear the church bell and roosters, but too far to hear commotion - with Positano on the other side....too far to walk but close enough to admire. All the rooms have the same view, which I really like about the place. The hotel itself spans many hideaway hallways and sitting rooms and is amazingly huge for how cozy it is. The earing areas all have the same view and is breathtaking. We went in May, which lends to a sleeping with the balcony door open all night. Heavenly. If some of the other reviews didn't say the beds weren't comfortable, I would not have noticed. They are not the best I've had in hotels, but don't let that stop you. I am a finicky sleeper and just passed out every night. The hotel does lack a bit in the finishing touches, but it is easily overlooked and dealt with. The other reviews were right about the food. The breakfast is OK and we never ate supper there with all the awesome restaurants along the Amalfi coast. The front staff never said a word about how vast the grounds are and all there is to do and see there. We discovered that on our own, but it would have been nice to be told so we could have enjoyed it all to the max during our stay.

  • Stayed: May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Iveta1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2011

When I stepped out onto the balcony of our room in this hotel, I stopped breathing for an instant. Never in my life have I seen such a magnificent and breath-taking view. It has been six months since my visit, and not a day has gone by that I have not thought of my amazing Italian vacation, and this spectacular hotel. I cannot understand the negative reviews of this place, because how can one be unhappy in paradise? I have been to hundreds of hotels with my work, and this is by far the top place in which I have ever stayed. This hotel sits cliffside on the sea and has endless unique features in its architecture. Hidden terraces with cafe tables, scattered windows with incredible views, a sea-side pool, and a winding path of steps leading to the sea. Flowers are everywhere, and even with a full booking of guests, we still had loads of privacy. I cannot give this place enough positive words. It is simply, unforgettable.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lapinauchocolat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2010

We stayed 4 nights in September and will remember this trip forever! The location is amazing! The "beach" area (it's a rocky platform and you can walk over to a pebble beach) is great - we spent almost every day there. The views from just about everywhere in the hotel are breathtaking. We were so glad to have stayed here rather than in town - it's much more private and quiet, which we liked. Our room was lovely and spacious, very clean. The bed was VERY firm. We ate at the beach restaurant once and enjoyed it and the breakfasts were great. The free wi-fi in the lobby was nice, though it often cut out at around midnight - not the hotel's fault, just the connection in Amalfi.

It's true what most say of the front desk staff - it's pretty difficult to get them to help you, and I spoke Italian too so that's not the issue. When I asked if they had a map of Positano, I was told "No, it's a very small place anyways so you don't need one." I thought this was a bit ridiculous and when in Praiano we popped into a hotel there and got one readily, which showed us where we could park and where one-ways were etc. Also be sure to buy your own water before you get there - 6 Euros for 750ml is outrageous. We were also billed for food we didn't consume and it took half an hour to sort it all out, with quite the annoyed and unpleasant attitude from the front desk. However, the bottom line is that despite these issues, the location and scenery are so spectacular that we would definitely return.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DMD06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2010

well, we figured we'd find a hotel just by driving along Amalfi; turned out not to be so easy; and we didn't even travel in high season; anyway, Tritone did have a parking right along the main road, so we stopped and took elevator down to the lobby.
they showed us a room - we only stayed two nights - so we were not to picky anymore late that day; very simple room, but great view.
we haggled a bit over price and got it then for 160 euro.
we made mistake of eating at hotel. worst food ever I had in Italy; even waiters felt sorry for the food they served; not too mention that they charged us (upon check-out; never ever accept in Italy that they will put your consumption "simply" on the room; they cheat like hell) 60 euro for a 40 euro meal; they also overcharged the wine.
anyway, for some reason breakfast is in a place where there is no morning sun. breakfast is mediocre.
on last day, we had no hot water; a call to reception brought a guy 20 minutes later; he checked briefly and left us with the comment "un attimo" ( a moment only); half an hour later still no news; so we called reception again; they promised hot water within 20 minutes; anyway, we took a cold shower and two hours later was warm...
upon check-out I complained and asked for a discount; answer: "everyone had cold water"; well after discussing with boss, they gave us at least 12 euro discount.

amalfi coast: beautiful, but avoid weekends at all cost; you will be stuck in traffic for hours; unbelievable! why don't they shut down that area and only have bus service (small buses, as large buses are a tremendous problem on those small roads);
we drove through quite a bit of the area, nothing much you can do actually - in particular not hiking as it is too steep; so, two days are enough - every 20 years!

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank RolandShanghai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2010

We did choose this hotel to have a silent relaxing holiday and we also got that.
Though it was expensive and for that price we had higher expectations than we got. The staff could only very very bad english, hard to get you understood sometimes.
The rooms was very nice and with a just lovely view, you have to see it yourself.
Very good beach for only the hotel guests.
The restaurant was not that very good and very expensive. €5 for a coke and €6 for pure water, we bought water and coke in the shop in positano and did bring instead.
The positano and amalfi area is totally worth to visit, but choose another hotel there you get more value for the money.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank EMJ_Sweden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2010

Totally spectacular, my favorite hotel ever! Breathtaking views, great hospitality, private beach...just awesome!

Stayed: April 2009, travelled solo
1  Thank GregK4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Praiano
0.4 mi away
Hotel Tramonto d'Oro
Hotel Tramonto d'Oro
#6 of 20 in Praiano
842 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Margherita
Hotel Margherita
#2 of 20 in Praiano
1,509 reviews
4.4 mi away
NH Collection Grand Hotel Convento di Amalfi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Hotel Onda Verde
Hotel Onda Verde
#3 of 20 in Praiano
1,042 reviews
5.6 mi away
Ravello Art Hotel Marmorata, BW Premier Collection
4.1 mi away
Santa Caterina Hotel
Santa Caterina Hotel
#1 of 29 in Amalfi
1,008 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Tritone? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Tritone

Address: Via Campo, 5, 84010 Praiano, Italy
Region: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Praiano
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Praiano
#5 Luxury Hotel in Praiano
#7 Family Hotel in Praiano
#8 Romantic Hotel in Praiano
Price Range: £184 - £406 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel Tritone 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Since 1857 the Gagliano family welcomes its guests at the G.H.T,situated in the heart of the Amalfi Coast, embedded in the mountainside overlooking the sea. The Hotel offers private access to the Beach Club of the establishment, an outdoor salt water pool,and 24 hour guarded parking. Every room boasts a magnificent sea view and is equipped with every comfort. The various terraces in the Hall are the ideal location for a pleasant aperitif at sunset, or a romantic after dinner digestif with the splendid view of Positano and Capri on the horizon. Guests can savor the mediterranean cuisine on the panoramic terrace of the Restaurant “La Cala delle Lampare” or choose the gastronomical selections of the Beach Restaurant “Ninò”. For the passioned wine enthusiasts, we offer an ample selection of local and Italian wines from our extensive wine cellar. The strategic location of the Hotel permits those that would like to visit the Coast fast and comfortable access to the main tourist attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Grand Hotel Tritone reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Positano
Grand Hotel Tritone Praiano, Amalfi Coast, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing