We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Grand Hotel Tritone
Ranked #7 of 20 Hotels in Praiano
Certificate of Excellence
vacation44
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Beautiful Hotel”
Reviewed 10 July 2012

The Hotel is very clean and nicely furnished in the lobby's and restaurant. The rooms are a nice size and comfortable with a remarkable view of the Amalfi Coast. The food is also good and the service is excellent! We found this hotel through our tour guide, Faith Manning, from www.amalfivacations.com. This is the hotel she uses for her clients and no wonder, it's beautiful!! The hotel is located in a quiet part of Amalfi, so there is little night life, but it is a great place to relax, especially at night on their terrace having drinks overlooking the ocean-just gorgeous! If you want to see the best of the Amalfi Coast, we suggest to use Faith. She takes only small groups, usually the max. of 8, and will truly show you the best of Amalfi! She is also from America, so there is no language problem. You will love her and the Amalfi Coast!!!

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the ocean with a balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank vacation44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

638 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    390
    160
    51
    20
    17
See reviews for
160
353
5
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2012

Hotel GrandTritone can be a little deceptive at first.
At first it looks like the hotel is in a time warp around 1960 with collections of furniture from the period
dotted around the hotel. I fully expected Sophia Loren to turn up on the terrace.
The rooms are spartan but elegant.This is its unique style.
If you are looking for global brand hotel look this is not for you!
The service is also old fashioned (thank goodness).
Check out Antonio who runs the bar. He will happily take you on a tour of his cantena (wine cellar)
and bring you drinks with a smile all night. Some of the waiters are old enough to know how service used to be and at Tritone still is.
The hotel is situated just outside Praiano with magnificent views of Praiano one way and Positano to Capri in the other.The place clings to the rocks hundreds of feet above the ocean.There are two pools one on the beach the other half way down.
We had a problem with our shower. A man came and fixed it straight away.
Some general maintenance could be done to lift it to a real 4 star status
It takes a little while to learn to navigate your way around via the many lifts but you get the hang of it.
A great jumping off point to Amalfi and Positano as it sits a 3 Euro bus ride between the two.
After the craziness of Positano the peace and tranquillty of Tritone is a welcome relief.
I think the place needs a good chef as some meals were not up to standard.
Breakfast is fine and we ate out most nights.
Would go back for some old fashioned charm any day.

Room Tip: Ocean view essential
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank JustPassingThroughXX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2012

This place is simply stunning, I barely have the vocabulary to do justice to the quality of the rooms, the incredible view, the service and the location of the hotel.
Just along the coast from Amalfi, Hotel Tritone clings to the cliff face, spread over 8 floors all below the level of the road. To get to the private beach, two lifts carved out of the hillside must be negotiated. There is also a lovely small swimming pool and terrace with incredible views that gets the sun for most of the day.
The rooms are reached via a veritable rabbit warren of corridors and lifts, and they all obviously have one of the most amazing views in Italy. The view from the breakfast terrace was worth the cost by itself.
Views are not everything - the service and cleanliness were exceptional. The happiest receptionist (male) in the known universe was so effusive in his greeting I thought we must be related.
My only complaint is the prices in the small bar on the private beach - they had no menu's available, so you order blind unless you want to ask for the pric in advance. And this hotel is definately a "if you have to ask you can't afford it" place. 80 euros for two sandwiches and 4 drinks...
Will never forget this place though. Magical.

Room Tip: Some have terraces you can sit on, others large "windowsills".
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kevvywevvy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2012

Going back as soon as I can. Plenty of charm, fantastic restaurant , private beach, best collection of 1960's wooden furniture, all you could want if you just want to relax on Amalfi coast.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank a_chienbrun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2012

I have 2 reviews.
1. Hotel Tritone and 2.Amalfi Vacations

Hotel Tritone was great. The views all over the Amalfi coast are great and the views from our hotel are among the best. We were there in mid-June, just before it gets really crazy and stayed 5 days. The day we arrived it was between lunch and dinner and the dining room was closed. The staff made something for us to eat without us asking. Great service. They gave us a room with an extra large terrace on the corner of the hotel (without us asking). We ended up using the terrace every day. The hotel is in a quiet spot between Praiano and Postiano (1.5 km from Praiano, 6 km from Positano). It was kind of nice to be away hustle and bustle. We walked into Praiano several times and the bus stopped right outside our hotel so it was perfect for day trips to anywhere along the coast (no driving, no parking).

Faith Mann runs Amalfi Vacations (www.amalfivacations.com) and has been living in the Amalfi coast area for 7 years. Faith is American, a lovely person, speaks Italian and does a great job. Faith runs tours all over the area and picks you up by boat from the hotel (Hotel Tritone has an elevator that takes you all the way down to the beach). It's well worth it to have Faith show you around. We went to Capri and Ana Capri and Faith saved us a ton of time. She bought tickets ahead of time and knew when it made sense to take the bus instead and when to take a taxi. You get a whole other view of the area from a boat. I'd highly recommend it.

APK from Toronto

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Aidan K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
88 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2012

If it was views alone this property would get 5 points and be excellent but the interior is very tired and the service haphazard. It is supposedly 4 stars but not even a tissue box in the bedroom let alone a floor mat for the bathroom, alcohol in the mini bar and a wifi connection. As always the Italians are very nice people, try to help as much as they can but if management won't give them the resources there's nothing they can do. Having said that, the views are magnificent and where else can you catch an elivator down a cliff face to the beach. A big plus is that they provide parking, which virtually dosn't exist on these tight cliff top roads. A bit more attention to detail would make this a 5 star property. If I could get a good deal on the tariff, I'd stay again but bring your own champagne!

Room Tip: Avoid July and August if you can. The Amalfi Coast becomes a car park during these periods or arriv...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tony D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palm Beach, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2012

My wife and I (Americans) stayed here for five days (Mon-Fri). The staff was great every hour of every day. We walked to and from Praiana which was about 15 minutes from the hotel. The hotel is position on or as part of the coastal cliffs. The rooms' views are fantastic.

We enjoyed the sunrises and sunsets. Enjoy drinks in the evening from the bar especially as the sun goes down over Positano which is in view.

It exceeded our expectations and we are well traveled.

If I had to be picky, the biggest negative was Tritone's mattress was quite firm. Not a big deal but by day five we were antsy for a softer bed which we got at our hotel in Rome.

Room Tip: Ask for a bus schedule which is a good and inexpensive way to drink in Praiana and Positano without...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank James S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Praiano
0.4 mi away
Hotel Tramonto d'Oro
Hotel Tramonto d'Oro
#5 of 20 in Praiano
832 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Margherita
Hotel Margherita
#2 of 20 in Praiano
1,469 reviews
4.4 mi away
NH Collection Grand Hotel Convento di Amalfi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.6 mi away
Ravello Art Hotel Marmorata, BW Premier Collection
1.2 mi away
Hotel Onda Verde
Hotel Onda Verde
#3 of 20 in Praiano
1,010 reviews
4.1 mi away
Santa Caterina Hotel
Santa Caterina Hotel
#1 of 29 in Amalfi
993 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Tritone? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Tritone

Property: Grand Hotel Tritone
Address: Via Campo, 5, 84010 Praiano, Italy
Region: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Praiano
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Praiano
#5 Luxury Hotel in Praiano
#7 Family Hotel in Praiano
#8 Romantic Hotel in Praiano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel Tritone 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Since 1857 the Gagliano family welcomes its guests at the G.H.T,situated in the heart of the Amalfi Coast, embedded in the mountainside overlooking the sea. The Hotel offers private access to the Beach Club of the establishment, an outdoor salt water pool,and 24 hour guarded parking. Every room boasts a magnificent sea view and is equipped with every comfort. The various terraces in the Hall are the ideal location for a pleasant aperitif at sunset, or a romantic after dinner digestif with the splendid view of Positano and Capri on the horizon. Guests can savor the mediterranean cuisine on the panoramic terrace of the Restaurant “La Cala delle Lampare” or choose the gastronomical selections of the Beach Restaurant “Ninò”. For the passioned wine enthusiasts, we offer an ample selection of local and Italian wines from our extensive wine cellar. The strategic location of the Hotel permits those that would like to visit the Coast fast and comfortable access to the main tourist attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Grand Hotel Tritone reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Positano
Grand Hotel Tritone Praiano, Amalfi Coast, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing