We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stunning and pure pleasure”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Grand Hotel Tritone
Ranked #7 of 20 Hotels in Praiano
Certificate of Excellence
Beverly Hills, Michigan
2 reviews
“Stunning and pure pleasure”
Reviewed 22 June 2013

This family owned hotel is all about service and making you comfortable while you soak in some of the most amazing views. The rooms are spacious with lovely views. They offer breakfast and dinner inside or out and their private beach has a bar and serves lunch. We spent one day touring around the neighboring towns, winery and ceramics stores. Then one day we never left the hotel and had a very wonderful day. I would go back here again for sure, except next time we will stay longer. Paulo and Joseph are great hosts, and their mother provides many yummy foods homemade to eat. Antonio? Best bartender! Stay here and enjoy!

Room Tip: Our room was a suite since there were 3 of us. Very nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Te and Eric A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

638 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    390
    160
    51
    20
    17
See reviews for
160
353
5
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Durango, Colorado
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2013

The hotel sits on the cliffside with amazing views of the coastline below. There is a feeling of value when you enter the lobby but that soon faded with our room. We had a room with a patio which had great views. My complaint was the smoke smell in our expensive room. This was suppose to be a non-smoking room although there was an ashtray in the room. The front desk assured me it was a non-smoking room and sent a maid up to spray fragrance on our drapes when I complained of the smoke smell. The fragrance did nothing and we had no choice but to accept it.

The elevators down to the beach were very cool and the beach restaurant was perfect for lunch. There is a salt water pool near the restaurant which was welcomed after crawling over large boulders to reach the beach. I would highly recommend bringing your water shoes when you visit the Amalfi Coast because the sand is more like pebbles and they hurt bare feet.

The breakfast buffet was very nice and was included in our room price. They offered a variety of choices. This was the second hotel we stayed at in Praiano and we thought of it as a "splurge" but I was ultimately disappointed by the overall hotel quality and responsiveness of the staff. I would not stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BeachMtnDesert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pasadena, California
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2013

Sorry this is going to be long, we fell in love with this hotel. First of all, if you are coming with a car, the parking is free. You park and take the elevator down (yes down) to the lobby. We had a room with a balcony, they gave us a mini suite with a terrace.

The view from this hotel is a million dollar view. I have never seen a view like this. It is built on the side of a cliff overlooking the Mediterranean. The room and bathrooms are immaculate.

The restaurant and the food were magnificent, and gourmet, down to the way they serve things. Giusseppe was our server for all our meals, and along with 2 other servers, they just made sure we had everything we wanted. The restaurant has a nice terrace, but it also has 2 tables on a perch at the edge that were out of this world. View when we were eating was nothing like I had seen, not quite 270 degree view but almost 200-220 degrees (Sorry didn't have my compass).

The hotel is in what they call Praiano, it is actually midway between Praiano and Positano, right on one of the curves. And I will definitely come back to this hotel, but it will be for more than one night, I assure you.

Oh, I almost forgot, besides having a pool in the regular levels of the hotel, they have 2 elevators that go all the way down (700+feet) inside the mountains and the cliffs below the hotel and then walking through what looks like caves, to their private beach with another pool (sea water pool), and access to a beach. But the beaches we went to here and Positano were actually very rocky, not sandy, but the water is excellent. You can also take the steps down and if you are daring (Or stupid like us) on the way up. It is 780+ steps, and not all the same height, it definitely is a workout and makes you look forward to dinner.

What didn't you like
Oooh taking the stairs up thinking it would be good exercise. I should have taken the elevator up.

Anyway, nothing bad about the hotel, it's an amazing and one of a kind hotel.

Room Tip: Take the elevator from the beach unless you want a really good stepper workout (780+ steps)
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DiranAfarian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 February 2013 via mobile

I stayed here during August which is a toasty time in Italy. It was also not where 3 single girls over 30 should have stayed. We didn't know the area but Positano would have been better suited for us. The hotel is very quiet, the food is ok, the waitstaff can be standoffish but they do meet your requests. It is difficult to charge a laptop, iPhone, and camera so US citizens beware and bring two converters. Also, the wall unit AC cranks out air slowly. The best part was my balcony and the view-amazing! It was difficult to get to the beach as you had to climb down many stairs and the sand is rocky so bring diver's boots to walk in. Overall, it was pricey for the value.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VinoVixen1111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2013

Don't expect a technologically advanced hotel, this is the Amalfi Coast and most hotels were built years ago. Keep a close eye on what you spend as all hotel charges are done via pen and paper. The beach is beautiful but takes some effort getting to via elevators and or stairs but is a really neat experience and you will be well rewarded once reaching it. This hotel has spectacular views from the giant lobby with hidden rooms and sitting areas throughout the hotel. Don't miss breakfast it is a must out on the terrace and included in the price. The hotel is in between two towns but only a short bus ride or walk to either one.

Room Tip: FYI the so called pull out sofas are not adult size but only good for a single child. It is actually...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank James J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 13 October 2012

My wife and I spent three nights here in October. Views were stunning both towards Praiano and towards Positano. Room and bath room were clean, staff was helpful, friendly and courteous. Our room was a junior suite and was large. Parking was available. We returned late one night and the lot was full. The staff was present outside when we arrived and took care of parking for us. We had dinner one night at their restaurant. It was good food, excellent service and we enjoyed a warm night on their terrace watching the lights from businesses, homes and ships dance in the darkness of the Amalfi night. Despite its proximity to Praiano, you will need to take a cab, drive or use public transportation to go into town. Walking along the road, at night, is not an option.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank William D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vienna, Virginia
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2012

The views are worth a trip here. I loved the hotel for the cliffside location and for that it is located away from everyone else. The access to the beach is wonderful and there are very few people so.... The hotel is interesting however the rooms are very tired and the cleanliness was just so-so. While the staff is not rude and is willing to help, most of the time with a smile, don't expect any one to go out of their way to help or advise. The breakfast is average and lunch at the beach restaurant is a bit below average...

Room Tip: all are seaside and have wonderful views, for a large balcony request ahead
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tami L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Praiano
0.4 mi away
Hotel Tramonto d'Oro
Hotel Tramonto d'Oro
#5 of 20 in Praiano
832 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Margherita
Hotel Margherita
#2 of 20 in Praiano
1,469 reviews
4.4 mi away
NH Collection Grand Hotel Convento di Amalfi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.6 mi away
Ravello Art Hotel Marmorata, BW Premier Collection
1.2 mi away
Hotel Onda Verde
Hotel Onda Verde
#3 of 20 in Praiano
1,010 reviews
4.1 mi away
Santa Caterina Hotel
Santa Caterina Hotel
#1 of 29 in Amalfi
993 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Tritone? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Tritone

Property: Grand Hotel Tritone
Address: Via Campo, 5, 84010 Praiano, Italy
Region: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Praiano
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Praiano
#5 Luxury Hotel in Praiano
#7 Family Hotel in Praiano
#8 Romantic Hotel in Praiano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel Tritone 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Since 1857 the Gagliano family welcomes its guests at the G.H.T,situated in the heart of the Amalfi Coast, embedded in the mountainside overlooking the sea. The Hotel offers private access to the Beach Club of the establishment, an outdoor salt water pool,and 24 hour guarded parking. Every room boasts a magnificent sea view and is equipped with every comfort. The various terraces in the Hall are the ideal location for a pleasant aperitif at sunset, or a romantic after dinner digestif with the splendid view of Positano and Capri on the horizon. Guests can savor the mediterranean cuisine on the panoramic terrace of the Restaurant “La Cala delle Lampare” or choose the gastronomical selections of the Beach Restaurant “Ninò”. For the passioned wine enthusiasts, we offer an ample selection of local and Italian wines from our extensive wine cellar. The strategic location of the Hotel permits those that would like to visit the Coast fast and comfortable access to the main tourist attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Grand Hotel Tritone reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Positano
Grand Hotel Tritone Praiano, Amalfi Coast, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing