We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The view is the best part of this hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Grand Hotel Tritone
Ranked #7 of 20 Hotels in Praiano
Certificate of Excellence
The Hague, The Netherlands
Level 6 Contributor
109 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“The view is the best part of this hotel”
Reviewed 9 May 2014

This hotel is probably the hotel with the best view on the Amalfi Coast. It is between Praiano and Positaro, some 15 minutes walk to Praiano and 30 minutes walk to Positaro. If you don't have a car then this is not the best place to stay since public transport (bus) is available but is not running very frequently (at best 2 times an hour). Bus stop is in front of the hotel. There are enough parking places available, at least in May (hotel was not full) and they are easy to access.

The hotel itself is good with friendly staff. Restaurant is good, but expensive. A cappucino in the lobby is Eur 5. The pool is great and also the facilities near the sea are very good. The sunbeds were new and comfortable.They were still painting the facilities in early May when we stayed there. Also, I do not understand why the daily cleaning of the pool is done in the middle of the morning for an hour. This should be done early in the morning before the guest arrive.

The room for 4p was spacious and clean but we had problems with the wifi in the room. It should work, but we didn't get it to work. Wifi in the lobby, near the pool and at the beach was working.

The shower had a cloughed drain and although staff reacted instantly to our notifications, it was not resolved.

All in all a nice hotel, and the location is such that you forget the little things that are not perfect.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HongKongTraveller3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

638 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    390
    160
    51
    20
    17
See reviews for
160
353
5
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New Jersey
Level 2 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 February 2014

The Gran Hotel Tritone truly amazed me. The diversity of people stood out to me at first. Couples, families, friends, even solo! It is the type of hotel that everyone can appreciate.
The Staff was great, I felt like I knew everyone by the last day of my trip.

Breakfast was delicious, dinner was spectacular and lunch was the best!!! Sitting right next to the ocean watch the staff fish!

The private beach was really different. Due to the current we had to actually swim to the private beach! The pool was salt water, not very big.. but who needs the salt water pool when you have the ocean!

We took a day trip to Capri. They picked us up right where we were sun bathing.. so convenient!

I really enjoyed this hotel because it gave me the secluded feeling but still was so close to everything. The views were breathe taking.

&& I have to add the elevators were SCARY & It was an intense work out walking up and down the steps... so this is not a handicap friendly hotel


I would recommend this hotel to just about everyone I know!

Room Tip: All of the rooms have a spectacular view of the ocean!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SamanthaJRose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moscow, Russia
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 February 2014

Amazing hotel on the Amalfi Coast! The hotel is not big, situated on a cliff and tiered down to the sea. Hotel has private Beach for guests. Rooms are very comfortable. We had a big balcony in our room with a fantastic sea view. Place is really wonderful! Hotel has a good restaurant. By car you could reach such a beautiful towns as Amalfi and Positano.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Irina R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Porto Alegre, RS
Level 6 Contributor
192 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 November 2013

Very well located hotel by the coast. Besides the wonderfull localization and the room view, it is one of a few hotels with the location by the road with parking and an access to the beach using an elevator. A dinner is the balcony is a pleasant experience.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cidio_H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
Level 5 Contributor
95 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 October 2013

Arrival was quite disappointing. Our room looked like it was last renovated in the 1980's, the early 1980's. We had dinner in the hotel and it was very average and very expensive. All in all we were wondering what we were doing spending over 200 euro a night for the next ten nights on!
As the days went on, the character of the place and the beauty of the setting overcomes you. Yes, the room was very old but it was clean (smelled a little musty) and the balcony was massive. The breakfasts were also lovely with an enormous selection of sweet things, great coffee and the best croissants and doughnuts you will ever eat.
The staff in reception are a little under motivated although generally polite and decent. The rest of the staff are very nice and helpful, particularly the breakfast waiters.
The hotel has a lift that brings you to a glorious pool area and beach by the sea.
It does seem simple things could make this hotel a lot better, simply replacing the worn out prints in the picture frames, front office being more proactive, the car park man helping with buses and a few small touches could really perk it up. It is hard to understand why these things don't happen.
In the end, we loved it, you can't help but love it. The quirky lay out and labyrinth of corridors and rooms. The great views, some eccentric and fun staff, the beach, and the glorious nearby village of praiano which you can walk to in about 15 minutes. (slow walking)

Room Tip: The lower floor rooms are not renovated but are huge. The higher up rooms were newer and nicer but m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MalDublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gavignano
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 October 2013

This being my second visit to the hotel, we're continue to be impressed with this hotel. From arrival to departure, the service, the room (which they upgraded to a suite) was impeccable. We don't think there is a view more beautiful (that is for each room). We dined there and the menu reflected a diversified cuisine that was served as all good Italian food is served (Oh those courses). There is so much to this property it is difficult to put into such a short experience. The property was closed October 13 for the winter, so if your vacation plans have Amalfi on the list, I'd consider this a luxury destination.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rlphbald
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madison, Wisconsin
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 October 2013

We had a great stay at Grand Hotel Tritone to finish off our two week trip to Italy and Greece. We booked this hotel for the views and were not disappointed. Our room was ok and the view from it was awesome.

We booked a Capri pickup from the hotel and this was amazing and a great value. We also went to a winery called Tenuta San Francesco Winery. We found it with the help of the hotel staff and no GPS and had the best time of our trip. Private lunch with the winemaker's family! It was also nice to have our car at this hotel which is a must to go out to restaurants in positano and praino.

The staff was nice, not the best English but they were helpful. Beach access and pool access made for a relaxing last day of our trip and we had a pizza down at the beach that was good as well. Rooms and hotel could use an update but overall we enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank laurelpatrick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Praiano
0.4 mi away
Hotel Tramonto d'Oro
Hotel Tramonto d'Oro
#5 of 20 in Praiano
832 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Margherita
Hotel Margherita
#2 of 20 in Praiano
1,465 reviews
4.4 mi away
NH Collection Grand Hotel Convento di Amalfi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.6 mi away
Ravello Art Hotel Marmorata, BW Premier Collection
1.0 mi away
Hotel Locanda Costa Diva
4.1 mi away
Santa Caterina Hotel
Santa Caterina Hotel
#1 of 29 in Amalfi
995 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Tritone? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Tritone

Property: Grand Hotel Tritone
Address: Via Campo, 5, 84010 Praiano, Italy
Region: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Praiano
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Praiano
#5 Luxury Hotel in Praiano
#7 Family Hotel in Praiano
#8 Romantic Hotel in Praiano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel Tritone 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grand Hotel Tritone in Praiano, located in the heart of the Amalfi Coast. The hotel offers guests 60 rooms with frontal sea view. Rooms, Junior Suites and Suites have all comfort and service of a top hotel. The ambient is bright and comfortable. The interior design shows traditional materials like the famous ceramic of Vietri. Equipped with all the comfort , like high speed wifi (free of charge). The Amalfi Coast, with its lovely emerald colored water, is full of rocks , caves and hidden bays. This magic scenery, guests can enjoy from the private beach below the hotel, which is reachable by elevators. In this peaceful place, exclusively reserved for the clients, it is possible to have lunch, sitting at tables facing the sea. The "Beach Restaurant Ninò" is much appreciated by clients, as it allows to enjoy traditional local and carefully prepared dishes and fresh fruit in high quality. For active clients or trekking lovers, the private beach can be reached by an unbelievable stairway, unbelievable because many architects did not trust in realizing it, but- thanks to the tenacity of the founder Giuseppe Gagliano- was built. Who instead likes to dip in the swimming pool has just the problem to choose the right one, as the hotel has two, both seawater pools. Th bigger one, with hydro-massage, is faced to the sea, surrounded by the amazing colors of the mediterranian nature. The second one, smaller sized and located at the beach level, offers clients an alternative to the sea, especially when there are days with a strong breeze. The different terraces of the reception area invite clients to have an aperitif, enjoying the amazing sunset with incredible views to Positano and the island of Capri. After the aperitif clients can enjoy dinner in our restaurant "La Cala delle Lampare" with its beautiful terrace, overlooking the sea, and can visit the wine cellar "Canticalana", where top quality wines are waiting to be tasted. Every year, the Grand Hotel Tritone continues the tradition of genuine hospitality, welcoming visitors from all over the world. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Grand Hotel Tritone reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Positano
Grand Hotel Tritone Praiano, Amalfi Coast, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing