We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Privacy and Pampering” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Grand Hotel Tritone

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Grand Hotel Tritone
Ranked #7 of 20 Hotels in Praiano
Certificate of Excellence
New York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Privacy and Pampering”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2014

My husband and I stayed here in early May, before the "season" really started. We had a junior suite - bedroom and sitting room with french doors in both rooms leading to a huge, private balcony with incredible views of the coast and Praiano to the left and Positano to the right. Balcony had comfortable chaise lounges and as a sun worshipper, I could have stayed there the whole trip. But then I would have missed the huge bathroom lined in hand painted tile with the biggest tub I've ever seen (unfortunately the whirlpool tub was not working). And the hotel dining room - had a lunch served on our first day after the dining room was technically closed - they graciously served us incredible pasta - the best I had in my 10 day stay in Italy - and wine, and a dinner there, I am vegetarian and had good options. Very nice wine list. Had breakfast buffet every morning, loaded with fresh local fruit and everything else under the sun. Many of the servers and desk staff are members of the family that owns the hotel and their dedication and genuine interest in our well being was felt at every turn. Easy to walk to and from Praiano, and great parking at the hotel right off the road. Elevator to the beach and the pool area - another pool nestled into the hillside at the top. Whole place is filled with blooming flowers and huge plants that twine along every surface. A lovely, old world feel. Really beautiful, magical place.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Elisabetsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

522 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    302
    142
    45
    18
    15
See reviews for
125
289
3
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2014

Good location, very nice view from the seaside of the hotel. However the hotel needs to be brought up to date, furnishing is old, bathrooms small and poor lighting. Walls a thin and you can hear people when you are in your room.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
33 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2014 via mobile

The standard rooms were very simple and basic ( very clean).
The amazing thing is the panoramic view and the amazing private beach. We stayed two nights and if we knew what we know now - we would stay there for all the stay cause its the perfect location for. STAR trip - between Positano and Amafi.
The breakfast was reach

Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank raanananit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Hague, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
101 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 May 2014

This hotel is probably the hotel with the best view on the Amalfi Coast. It is between Praiano and Positaro, some 15 minutes walk to Praiano and 30 minutes walk to Positaro. If you don't have a car then this is not the best place to stay since public transport (bus) is available but is not running very frequently (at best 2 times an hour). Bus stop is in front of the hotel. There are enough parking places available, at least in May (hotel was not full) and they are easy to access.

The hotel itself is good with friendly staff. Restaurant is good, but expensive. A cappucino in the lobby is Eur 5. The pool is great and also the facilities near the sea are very good. The sunbeds were new and comfortable.They were still painting the facilities in early May when we stayed there. Also, I do not understand why the daily cleaning of the pool is done in the middle of the morning for an hour. This should be done early in the morning before the guest arrive.

The room for 4p was spacious and clean but we had problems with the wifi in the room. It should work, but we didn't get it to work. Wifi in the lobby, near the pool and at the beach was working.

The shower had a cloughed drain and although staff reacted instantly to our notifications, it was not resolved.

All in all a nice hotel, and the location is such that you forget the little things that are not perfect.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HongKongTraveller3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Jersey
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 February 2014

The Gran Hotel Tritone truly amazed me. The diversity of people stood out to me at first. Couples, families, friends, even solo! It is the type of hotel that everyone can appreciate.
The Staff was great, I felt like I knew everyone by the last day of my trip.

Breakfast was delicious, dinner was spectacular and lunch was the best!!! Sitting right next to the ocean watch the staff fish!

The private beach was really different. Due to the current we had to actually swim to the private beach! The pool was salt water, not very big.. but who needs the salt water pool when you have the ocean!

We took a day trip to Capri. They picked us up right where we were sun bathing.. so convenient!

I really enjoyed this hotel because it gave me the secluded feeling but still was so close to everything. The views were breathe taking.

&& I have to add the elevators were SCARY & It was an intense work out walking up and down the steps... so this is not a handicap friendly hotel


I would recommend this hotel to just about everyone I know!

Room Tip: All of the rooms have a spectacular view of the ocean!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SamanthaJRose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 February 2014

Amazing hotel on the Amalfi Coast! The hotel is not big, situated on a cliff and tiered down to the sea. Hotel has private Beach for guests. Rooms are very comfortable. We had a big balcony in our room with a fantastic sea view. Place is really wonderful! Hotel has a good restaurant. By car you could reach such a beautiful towns as Amalfi and Positano.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Irina R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Porto Alegre, RS
Level Contributor
180 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 November 2013

Very well located hotel by the coast. Besides the wonderfull localization and the room view, it is one of a few hotels with the location by the road with parking and an access to the beach using an elevator. A dinner is the balcony is a pleasant experience.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cidio_H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Praiano
0.9 mi away
Hotel Margherita
Hotel Margherita
#2 of 20 in Praiano
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,293 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Tramonto d'Oro
Hotel Tramonto d'Oro
#5 of 20 in Praiano
4.5 of 5 bubbles 783 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel Onda Verde
Hotel Onda Verde
#4 of 20 in Praiano
4.5 of 5 bubbles 917 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Casa Angelina
Casa Angelina
#3 of 20 in Praiano
5.0 of 5 bubbles 760 reviews
4.8 mi away
Hotel Marina Riviera
Hotel Marina Riviera
#3 of 29 in Amalfi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 748 reviews
4.1 mi away
Santa Caterina Hotel
Santa Caterina Hotel
#1 of 29 in Amalfi
5.0 of 5 bubbles 905 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Tritone? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Tritone

Property: Grand Hotel Tritone
Address: Via Campo, 5, 84010 Praiano, Italy
Region: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Praiano
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Praiano
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Praiano
#7 Family Hotel in Praiano
#8 Romantic Hotel in Praiano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel Tritone 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Grand Hotel Tritone reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Positano
Grand Hotel Tritone Praiano, Amalfi Coast, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing