We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“in one word 'paradise'”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Grand Hotel Tritone
Ranked #7 of 20 Hotels in Praiano
Certificate of Excellence
Blaricum, The Netherlands
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“in one word 'paradise'”
Reviewed 19 July 2014

Seldomly have we been so swept away by a hotel, staff and surroundings. Not only our quote, but at least two other guests (from Norway and Canada) expressed their experience at this beautiful place with the same word : 'paradise'. Truly an exceptional hideaway with so many assets : the overwhelming view, the private beach, wonderful food & beverage. Yet most of all the soul of the estate is sustained by the extraordinary warm hearted staff. From Lorenzo to Enzo and Paolo. And don't forget the extremely kind life guards. Absolutely everyone's main concern is to make sure you have a great holiday. That's why many guests have stayed at GHT several times and that's why we certainly will return. The sooner the better.

Room Tip: We had room 110 with wonderful private balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

638 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    390
    160
    51
    20
    17
See reviews for
160
353
5
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2014

We had an amazing time at this hotel. The staff were very friendly and constantly helpful throughout our stay. They helped us to arrange some diving at la boa, the brilliant diving centre nearby, and consequently we were picked up by boat from the hotels private beach for our dive. The hotel itself is beautiful with simple stylish decor and breathtaking views of the coast everywhere you turn. The hotel is set within the mountain and there various lifts in the hotel - one which takes you down to the beach at sea level, there are all plenty of steps too. We hired a car on our stay and used the hotel as a base (there is parking) which we'd advise as there is a fantastic coastal route to drive along. With Positino on one side and Praiano on the other and Capri a boat ride away we were spoilt for choice. We will definitely be coming back to this hotel.

Room Tip: If you can pay for a superior room, the balcony and panoramic sea views are worth it
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KPickthall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 July 2014

If you want to views from your room and amazing access to the incredible mediterranean without walking to a crowded "pebble" beach, it doesn't get better than at this hotel. Yes, there are Ants - the hotel is built into the side of the mountain. Yes, the rooms are just okay - but it's Italy. Loved the experience. Reasonable price for a relatively pricey location. Spend the day sunbathing on the rocks steps from the sea...and you won't care about the ants.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brandyk80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Germantown, Maryland
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2014

My wife and I just returned from our honeymoon in Italy where we spent 5 nights with the lovely folks at Tritone. This hotel separates itself from others in a variety of ways. First of all, we loved the location. 15 minute walk to the town center of Praiano and 10 minute ride to Positano. Best of both worlds. Looking for a night on the town head in to Positano, looking to keep it low key and relax with some locals head to Praiano. The hotels landscaping and attention to detail is exquisite. Real Vines traveling along the ceiling in the lobby, and flowering shrubs throughout the grounds. The reception set up a day trip to Capri for 65 Euros/ person on a boat of just 12. They even pick you up right at the dock of the hotel. As soon as we stepped foot on to the boat the rest of the passengers were taking pictures of our hotel. That is when we knew our hotel was special. We did not see any other hotels with a lift to the water and their own beach! Yes the hotel is slightly dated but that brings out the charm. The views, the privacy, the staff(Enzo, Gennaro, Delia and Alfonso) and the access to the water is what sets this hotel aside from the others. Would 100% go back.

Room Tip: We were on our honeymoon and the staff allotted us room 200. We absolutely loved this room. It is th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Tyler B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woerden
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 June 2014

We stayed a week to explore the Amalfi coast, Sorrento, Capri, Naples and Pompei. This hotel offered a relaxed stay with stunning view from our balcony.
Friendly staff, good kitchen and really nice to start the day with a good breakfast on the terrace with amazing view. Parking service was great. Going to the sea terrace by elevators was convenient.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Elbert W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2014

My husband and I stayed here in early May, before the "season" really started. We had a junior suite - bedroom and sitting room with french doors in both rooms leading to a huge, private balcony with incredible views of the coast and Praiano to the left and Positano to the right. Balcony had comfortable chaise lounges and as a sun worshipper, I could have stayed there the whole trip. But then I would have missed the huge bathroom lined in hand painted tile with the biggest tub I've ever seen (unfortunately the whirlpool tub was not working). And the hotel dining room - had a lunch served on our first day after the dining room was technically closed - they graciously served us incredible pasta - the best I had in my 10 day stay in Italy - and wine, and a dinner there, I am vegetarian and had good options. Very nice wine list. Had breakfast buffet every morning, loaded with fresh local fruit and everything else under the sun. Many of the servers and desk staff are members of the family that owns the hotel and their dedication and genuine interest in our well being was felt at every turn. Easy to walk to and from Praiano, and great parking at the hotel right off the road. Elevator to the beach and the pool area - another pool nestled into the hillside at the top. Whole place is filled with blooming flowers and huge plants that twine along every surface. A lovely, old world feel. Really beautiful, magical place.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Elisabetsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2014

Good location, very nice view from the seaside of the hotel. However the hotel needs to be brought up to date, furnishing is old, bathrooms small and poor lighting. Walls a thin and you can hear people when you are in your room.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Praiano
0.4 mi away
Hotel Tramonto d'Oro
Hotel Tramonto d'Oro
#5 of 20 in Praiano
832 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Margherita
Hotel Margherita
#2 of 20 in Praiano
1,467 reviews
4.4 mi away
NH Collection Grand Hotel Convento di Amalfi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.6 mi away
Ravello Art Hotel Marmorata, BW Premier Collection
1.2 mi away
Hotel Onda Verde
Hotel Onda Verde
#3 of 20 in Praiano
1,010 reviews
4.1 mi away
Santa Caterina Hotel
Santa Caterina Hotel
#1 of 29 in Amalfi
994 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Tritone? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Tritone

Property: Grand Hotel Tritone
Address: Via Campo, 5, 84010 Praiano, Italy
Region: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Praiano
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Praiano
#5 Luxury Hotel in Praiano
#7 Family Hotel in Praiano
#8 Romantic Hotel in Praiano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel Tritone 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Since 1857 the Gagliano family welcomes its guests at the G.H.T,situated in the heart of the Amalfi Coast, embedded in the mountainside overlooking the sea. The Hotel offers private access to the Beach Club of the establishment, an outdoor salt water pool,and 24 hour guarded parking. Every room boasts a magnificent sea view and is equipped with every comfort. The various terraces in the Hall are the ideal location for a pleasant aperitif at sunset, or a romantic after dinner digestif with the splendid view of Positano and Capri on the horizon. Guests can savor the mediterranean cuisine on the panoramic terrace of the Restaurant “La Cala delle Lampare” or choose the gastronomical selections of the Beach Restaurant “Ninò”. For the passioned wine enthusiasts, we offer an ample selection of local and Italian wines from our extensive wine cellar. The strategic location of the Hotel permits those that would like to visit the Coast fast and comfortable access to the main tourist attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Grand Hotel Tritone reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Positano
Grand Hotel Tritone Praiano, Amalfi Coast, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing