We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel”
Review of Hotel Margherita

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Margherita
Ranked #2 of 20 Hotels in Praiano
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 June 2011

Great hotel out of the craziness of the crowded Amalfi Coast but close enough to see everything. Very relaxing atmosphere and staff was very accommodating. Lovely small pool area and a large rooftop deck where you can sun, sit in the shade and read or have a bite to eat. Highly recommend. They have parking if you have a car or there is adequate bus service close by to see towns up and down the coast.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank justkathyz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,587)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

960 - 966 of 1,587 reviews

Reviewed 20 June 2011

It is almost impossible to add to all the wonderful reviews that have already been written about Suela, Andrea, the hotel and the experience of staying in a quaint, quiet town like Praiano. The family-owned hotel is well cared for, clean and comfortable, thus the rating; no surprises. Our room had a tiny shower and also, a separate tub, which was a bonus. We had a small balcony overlooking the sea; enough for two chairs and a very small table to enjoy a glass of wine.

There is a very small lobby with one computer for use; however, there is a charge for the internet, which we did not know about since there is free wi-fi posting on the web site... so, to be clear: internet is not free if you use their computer! If you have your laptop, there is free wi-fi. Check to see if this policy has changed if it is important to you.

The young, sweet owners try to accommodate you in every way that they can. They are accessible through email before your stay and they are on site during your stay. We did not bring a car, but if needed, the hotel has a private parking area. We stayed for five days and this was our last stop before a few days in Rome to ready for our departure. Praiano was a great way to end our three-week stay in Italy as we relaxed and ventured out to other local towns. The views were fantastic from the room and from the outside facilities (roof deck and pool area) and the town, low key...not the hustle and bustle of the more known/touristy Amalfi Coast towns, like Positano. The hotel's location is closeby to a very small, nondescript beach (at least a 20 minute walk on the highway and down many steps if this is a concern or the owners will drive you there, 5 minutes). The nearby public transportation makes it possible to visit other popular, nearby towns.

Some reviews say that HM should be 5 stars. Because European and American star ratings are quite different....I would advise that you do not expect the elegance of the Ritz when reading the reviews that claim this hotel should be a "5 star" because the decor, bedding, etc. are not in that category. It is a nice, 4 star facility by European standards due to the overall amenities (restaurant, pool, roof deck, en-suite baths, size of the room and parking), the cleanliness and upkeep of the hotel and primarily, if not, the biggest reason people rate the hotel so well...is the attention Suela and Andrea give to their guests. If this is what you are looking for, you will be happy with Hotel Margherita!

We liked the location and had a pleasant, memorable stay at Hotel Margherita during the month of May 2010, which is a nice time to visit Italy; not too hot and less crowded than the hotter, summer months.

We would return again for the quietness and the hospitality Suela and Andrea provide. We enjoyed speaking with them and sharing stories about America, Italy and our common heritage from Bella Italia! Brava Suela e Bravo Andrea! Fino al prossimo tempo!

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank nothingliketraveling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2011

My partner and I stayed here for 2 nights and loved it - not long enough! Eating on the terrace at night is wonderful.
Unfortunately, we lost one of our cases on the Sita bus. When we arrived at the bus stop somebody took our case off at Positano and left it beside the road! Suela and Andreas were so were amazing and the case was returned by the police the next day. Lovely hotel and location, very relaxing, and I would like to return for longer as it's perfectly situated between Amalfi and Positano.
Local bus to Positano is great. The Sita buses are not good, not enough, late and if you have to stand on the Amalfi drive it's not for the faint-hearted! We took the boat from Positano to Sorrento and it's a much better way to travel than the bus. You can also go from Positano to Amalfi by boat. That said, travelling around is fairly easy by public transport. We even took the train to Pompeii.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JPepperpot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2011

Everything about Hotel Margherita was amazing. We loved the small size, the friendly staff, who went out of their way to make our stay comfortable, the balcony, pool, breakfast. If you're looking for a place to unwind, this is it

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank acooley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2011

We stayed in this hotel with our one year old. We had a room with a sea view which was well worth the upgrade. There is a sun terrace which also has great sea views of the cascading village where you can eat and drink. Everything seemed clean and modern and nothing was too much trouble for the friendly staff. They even came and picked us up at the local beach and bus stop after a quick phone call which made things easier with a baby. The village has a beautiful romantic beach with many lovely restaurants and trips can be done to Capri from there. Buses run regularly to the rest of the Amalfi Coast. We feel the hotel was exceptional and can not recommend it enough. It made our holiday even better. Thank you.

Room Tip: ask for a sea view - well worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank angel1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2011

I. Getting There - We flew into FCO in Rome as we were spending the second part of our trip in Rome. From there we took the Leonardo Express to Roma Termini. When we go to Roma Termini we could not find an automatic ticket machine like the ones in the airport terminal so we waited in a 40 minute line as there was only one woman at the ticket counter (when we returned to Roma Termini after staying in Praiano we did find automatic machines on the other side of Roma Termini). So with the extra wait we ended up buying IC tickets to Naples which only cost 22 Euros plus a 1.50 Euro tariff per ticket, which we didn't pay when using the machines and we had to pay the tariff in cash. The IC train takes about an hour longer than the ES. The ES costs 45 Euros and takes 1 hour 10 minutes to get to Naples. Once in Naples we took the Circumvesuviana train to Sorrento which takes 1 hour 6 minutes. We purchased Campania Artecard for 27 Euros that was good for unlimited public transportation for three days and admission to two attractions as we planned to go to Pompeii and also to the National Archeological Museum in Naples. From Sorrento we took a SITA bus to Praiano which takes 1 hour 15 minutes. The SITA bus stop is just in front of the Sorrento Circumvesuviana station and there is room for your luggage in the cargo area of the bus. The Praiano SITA bus stop is just after you pass the Chiesa di San Gennaro on your right. To get to the Hotel Margherita take the road to the left of the stop and it's a 10 minute walk up a steep hill that flattens out after about 200 meters. At the top of the hill turn right and the hotel will be on your left after walking down about 75 meters.
FYI - We could not go back this way on our final day as there was a transit strike so we were fortunate enough to find others to share a cab with to Naples. The hotel staff was very accommodating in this regard.
II. The Room - Our room was sort of on the second floor as the hotel is kind of a split level, hence the elevator was not an option for us. The room was a very good size with a large bathroom. Our bathroom only had a shower but had ample space on the sink and under the sink for toiletries. The bed was two twin beds put together with common sheets. It was a little harder than we are used to in America. The TV was quite nice and had a good HD picture. Most of the stations were in Italian but we were able to watch news programs in English. The room had a nice sized desk and a nice cabinet but only two drawers. The balcony was the highlight of the room with a gorgeous view of the Tyrrhenian Sea. It was quite breathtaking to wake up here every morning.
III. Breakfast - The best part of breakfast was the eggs cooked to order. They also made quite a cappuccino. There were also fresh fruit, croissants, cold cuts, cheese, cookies, bread, a toaster and pineapple juice.
IV. Pool - We were there in late May and the pool was a bit too cold for swimming. However, I did go in a few times in the evening to unwind for a few minutes but the water was too cold for my wife.
V. WiFi - This was my biggest disappointment as the WiFi did not work in our room. We were able to use it in the lobby.
VI. Capri - We took a boat tour of Capri through La Boa which was arranged by the hotel staff. We paid 50 Euros a person and an additional 12.50 Euros a person for the Blue Grotto (plus tip). I highly recommend taking this tour as they pick you up from the hotel at 8:30 am and drive you to the Marina in Praiano from there you see small islands on your way to Capri as well as all the grottoes of Capri. The Blue Grotto is an optional extra. The boat then drops you off at the Marina Grande in Capri around 11:30 am and departs at 4 pm. The return trip allows you to see the coast and you then they drive you back to the hotel around 5-5:30 pm. This was the highlight of our 12 days in Italy.
VII. Conclusion - No words can adequately describe how beautiful the view was from our balcony. Getting to the hotel was not all that easy and an unfortunate strike only complicated things, but all of that melts away when you finally arrive. The staff was extremely friendly and accommodating in every regard, hopefully someday my wife and I can return.

Room Tip: Sea View Room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jason J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2011

We stayed here for 3 nights in mid-May and had a great time. Everything was spotlessly clean and the staff was extremely courteous, helpful and friendly. The only negative I can cite is that the shower was very small, but for the price relative to other places we saw, I would highly recommend this facility. The hotel is conveniently located about halfway between Positano and Amalfi. Also, for a great experience of local cuisine at a very, very reasonable price for dinner, walk up the street about 100 yards to the local pizza shop... it was a very cool experience if you're looking for a taste of "local life" in Priano.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bozman1947
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Praiano
0.5 mi away
Hotel Onda Verde
Hotel Onda Verde
#4 of 20 in Praiano
1,088 reviews
2.6 mi away
Monastero Santa Rosa Hotel & Spa
Monastero Santa Rosa Hotel & Spa
#1 of 5 in Conca dei Marini
432 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Pellegrino
Hotel Pellegrino
#1 of 20 in Praiano
747 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Casa Angelina
Casa Angelina
#3 of 20 in Praiano
844 reviews
2.8 mi away
Positano Art Hotel Pasitea
3.6 mi away
Santa Caterina Hotel
Santa Caterina Hotel
#1 of 29 in Amalfi
1,029 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Margherita? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Margherita

Address: Via Umberto I, 70, 84010 Praiano, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Praiano
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Praiano
#1 Luxury Hotel in Praiano
#2 Romantic Hotel in Praiano
Price Range: £129 - £898 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Margherita 4*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hospitality and friendliness of a family. A warm and friendly welcome. The terrace with swimming pool, solarium and the restaurant on the roof garden. The enchanting view of Praiano, the heart of the Amalfi Coast. Only the guests of Hotel Margherita have the privilege of living these atmospheres, beauty, comforts and services in one of the most appreciated 3 star hotels of Praiano.With free garage, free wi-fi, free shuttle to the beach... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Margherita reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Margherita Hotel Praiano
Hotel Margherita Praiano, Amalfi Coast, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing