We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Margherita
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Hotel Holiday(Praiano)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Open Gate(Praiano)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Il Pino(Praiano)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Reviews (1,606)
Filter reviews
1,606 results
Traveller rating
1,329
249
24
3
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,329
249
24
3
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe busamalfi coastrooftop restauranteggs to orderglass of proseccowonderful hotelsteep hillsea viewshuttle servicestar servicethree starlemon grovefree shuttlewelcome drinkamazing viewsthird floorlocal beach
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
724 - 729 of 1,606 reviews
Reviewed 1 August 2013

We stayed here in October last year with our two daughters (6 and 8).
I can only agree to the excellent previous reviews.
Margherita is a family-run hotel (Andrea, Suela, their four little kids and grandmother Margherita), which gives a cosy atmosphere. The personnel is extremely friendly and does everything to satisfy your wishes. The owners can give you good advice about things to do and visit.
The seaside rooms and the rooftop restaurant have amazing views: if you are looking for a holiday-brochure-like experience, this hotel is the place to be. The restaurant is of high quality: good and freshly prepared food. The swimming pool is not huge but still big enough to have a swim and to cool down. There is also a sun terrace with sun beds.
There is parking and it is free, both things being not obvious at the Amalfi coast.
Location: Praiano does not have the liveliness of a touristic place, but it is certainly a better place to stay than nearby, overcrowded, expensive and parking unfriendly Positano. Praiano is an excellent operating base to discover the Amalfi coast: Positano, Amalfi, Ravello, Salerno, Capri. However if you want to visit Sorrento, Pompei, Herculaneum, Vesuvius, Naples or want to go to the airport, take into account that the drive thereto is not easy and will take you quite some time (queues, curly road). We realised this during our stay and for that reason, we shortened our stay in Margherita with two days and booked a hotel next to the airport in order to visit Naples the first day and to go to the airport early in the morning the next day. Afterwards this proved to be a good decision. The hotel did not charge us for this late cancellation, many thanks for that.
Flexibility: we ordered a 4 person room but this was not available. We were offered two separate 2 person rooms instead at no extra cost.
The hotel also has excellent WiFi facilities: fast connection, also in the rooms, and no extra charge. Rooms have iPod docks.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Koen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2013 via mobile

I hesitate to write this review as this is a family favourite. The value is incredible cannot believe that it is a 3 star and the value is amazing. My family (2 kids aged 14 and 12) loved it! My husband and I could not believe the views from our balcony. Praiano is the quiet but beautiful part of amalfi coast. Avoid the crowds and $ and stay here. We usually do not return to a place visited but this is an exception !!!

Thank you thank you

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Roadtrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2013

Hotel Margherita - affordable, hospitable, clean, friendly, welcoming, comfortable, attentive, beautiful, panoramic and picturesque. These are just some of the adjectives that could be used to describe this very special hotel. My wife and I stayed here in July 2013 on our honeymoon. Our only guide ahead of time was trip advisor - yet our stay far exceeded our expectations. 3 Star by listing, Hotel Margherita delivers 4 star service and quality. Located in quaint, yet splendid Praiano, in between the tourist towns of Positano and Amalfi, and perched just above the main road, the hotel offers astounding views of this majestic and beautiful area. With a swimming pool, a restaurant at the top of the Hotel, with an uninhibited panoramic view of the coast and the ocean, it is simply delightful. Besides the location and comfort one feels when you are there, the hospitality and friendliness of the staff remains the most pleasant memory. From the owners, Suela and Andrea, to all the staff, you immediately feel like it is their joy that you are there. Just before we arrived, Suela communicated that they had mistakenly overbooked the room we had reserved, but to compensate for any inconvenience, offered us another room that night for free! It was evident they wanted our whole stay to be enjoyable. We learned that most of the workers are also extended family. And it is a special family! They have cultivated a culture of hospitality at the hotel, which immediately allows you to relax and enjoy your time. Every person went above and beyond to make our stay a great one! Some other highlights include a welcome drink upon arrival, free transportation to and from the beach, and a delicious breakfast, including fresh-squeezed juice from their own garden, espresso based coffee drinks, and omelets made to order. Not connected to the hotel, but just up the street is a local pizzeria, that you should be sure to visit. Tasty and affordable, with a nice local feel. In the future, we certainly hope to stay at Hotel Margherita once again. Highly Recommended! In fact, it may just exceed your expectations!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank StuartR124
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2013

We stayed five nights at the Margherita and enjoyed it very much. Suala, the owner, was very helpful and all the staff were service-oriented and kind. We speak very little Italian and Suala's English was excellent; she gave us many good ideas and suggestions for things to do. Breakfasts were great and dinners from the terrace restaurant were often very good. The lemon risotto and smoked mozzarella in lemon leaves are great. The sea view rooms are very pleasant and functional and all have balconies; the views of the coast and Med were wonderful. The small pool is lovely. Praiano is a great choice to stay as it is far less crowded and has much better views than Positano or Amalfi. There is good access to the Path of the Gods from behind the hotel.

Room Tip: 28 is a great room, other sea view rooms in the newer wing on the 3rd and second floors are good.
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lynn28970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2013

What a lovely hotel, and a perfect location! My boyfriend and I have just come back from a week staying here, we were so impressed with the personal service that the hotel offered; the team were more than happy to drive us to the beach and back, pick us up after dinner in the town and make us a packed breakfast for the morning we left. The rooms were clean and of a great standard with breathtaking views of the coast. The restaurant is also lovely, the food is fresh and delicious and the service is very good. Could not recommend it more highly and would love to go back at some point.

Room Tip: Go for a sea view - they are lovely!
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sally C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews