We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lived up to it's reputation.”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Margherita

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Margherita
Ranked #2 of 20 Hotels in Praiano
Certificate of Excellence
London,UK
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Lived up to it's reputation.”
Reviewed 7 August 2009

We had a thoroughly enjoyable week at Hotel Margherita. We had a nice room with a private balcony with a beautiful sea view. The sun terrace was magnificent with comfortable beds and shaded areas for eating. I loved the little pool with jacuzzi. We ate in the hotel restaurant for three nights of our stay and found the food very good.
The location was quiet as the street outside is one way and is off the main Positano-Amalfi road
We walked down to the main street some evenings. It only took 5-10 minutes, and great views while walking.
Our favourite places to go in Praiano were Hosteria il Pino (lovely restaurant) and Vivaro Wine Bar.
We never had to walk back up the hill to the hotel as Andrea was happy to come and pick us up at the end of our evening.
Suela helped us to arrange taxi transfers from Naples, a day trip to Capri and was always there to offer advice on local transport etc. She was also very kind with lifts.
I have no regrets about choosing to stay in Praiano at the Margherita and would love to go back.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank London_UKRuth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,322 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,072
    223
    23
    3
    1
See reviews for
313
779
9
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (266)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
toronto
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2009

We spent 6 days at the Hotel Margherita in July, 2009 and recommend it highly. It is a 4-storey family-run hotel with gorgeous views to the sea, Amalfi and Positano, built into the side of the mountain. The rooms are large and well-furnished and have either garden terraces or terraces facing the sea. There are beautiful common terraces as well facing the sea and a lovely pool and hot tub with views to die for. Breakfast is sumptuous and kept us going most of the day. We ate at the restaurant two evenings and the food and service rivals any other establishment in the area. We stayed in Praiano, spent a day at each of the two local beaches and took day trips to Positano, Amalfi and Capri. The bus to Positano and the beach stops right in front of the hotel and costs only one Euro. A short, but steep, walk down the hill were many other restaurants in the lower level of Praiano. Consuelo, her husband and all of the staff (who seem to be related to the owners) are incredibly helpful. they cheerfully ferry guests up the hill from the lower town and the beach and are warm and welcoming. After a couple of days, the place just seems like home.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank spbsfp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cambridge
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2009

We booked through bookings.com who did not advise us that the hotel would pick us up from the local bus stop as we travelled by public transport from Rome. Therefore we had to walk uphill for about 15 minutes with luggage in the searing heat. That was the only downside. When we arrived we had been booked into a double room and we wanted a twin room. This was probably my mistake as I don't think I requested it, however, the owners bend over backwards to accommodate us and we were given a truely lovely room with a fantastic bathroom and views over the coast. Then we ate!! Wow, what wonderful food. We did not eat anywhere else as I was afraid of being disappointed as the bar had been set so high. The pool was small but in a place like The Amalfi Coast what do you expect? It certainly was a plus point to have one, and the water jets made it even better. The owners were very attentive and nothing seemed to be too much trouble for them. We will definately return, however, we will hire a car next time!

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank thetholostwo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norway
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2009

Stayed at this hotel for a few days.

Everything was excellent, the location, the rooms, the sun teracce, the swimming pool, the service.
The only negative we experienced was the receiptionist (Andrea) that seemed to hate his job. Seemed to be grumpy all the time, hardly offered a little smile or a thank you.

Regardless, the service that Hotel Margherita offered was outstanding.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank _tiger1276
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ermy, owner at Hotel Margherita, responded to this review, 7 August 2009
Dear tiger1276,
I feel sorry for the impression that I gave.
I'm not "work" into Hotel Margherita, the Hotel Margherita is a large part of my life and I hope that my guests are also my friends.
Certainly I'm not a "smile-man" but I love what I do and I try to do it in the best possible way.
Also for this thank you for the advice and thank you more for the nice review.

I am indebted to you with a smile.

Best regards and see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2009

Hotel Margherita sits on the dramatic Amalfi Coast. The hotel offers hypnotic views, allowing one to discover the beauty that Praiano has to offer. The staff offers unforgettable service allowing for immense relaxation. Overall it is a fine location, with great service, and a hearty breakfast. Will definitely be returning next year!!!!

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nancy07142009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hillsborough, CA
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 July 2009

We stayed at the hotel for seven nights and loved the whole experience. It is a quiet hotel in the small town of Priano. It is a perfect location (the bus picks you up in front of the hotel or the hotel staff will drive you to the beach or the other bus stops). The owners are incredibly friendly and helpful. We loved the restaurant in the hotel as well. They even gave us meals that were not on the menu for our children who are picky eaters. The area is quiet but close enough to the action (Positano is 15 minutes away and Amalfi is about the same). Don't rent a car on the coast. You don't need it and it's too dangerous to drive. The bus drivers are amazing there and get you where you want to go. There is also a nice grocery store down the street from the hotel with fresh produce daily. I highly recommend this hotel. You and your family will love it. The views are spectacular and the staff is exceptional. This one is a keeper and a find!!!

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DianeHillsborough_CA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
49 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2009

This is a real gem! Will definitely come back! The hotel is high up a hill wich provides great view of the ocean and Amalfi coast. They have a nice little pool and several great terraces and rooms with good views. The service is great from the whole family running the place, they even drop you off and pick you up from the bus and everything is "no problem".

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Patrikbzz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Praiano
0.5 mi away
Hotel Tramonto d'Oro
Hotel Tramonto d'Oro
#5 of 20 in Praiano
783 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Pellegrino
Hotel Pellegrino
#1 of 20 in Praiano
656 reviews
3.6 mi away
Santa Caterina Hotel
Santa Caterina Hotel
#1 of 29 in Amalfi
921 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Onda Verde
Hotel Onda Verde
#4 of 20 in Praiano
930 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Locanda Costa Diva
0.5 mi away
Casa Angelina
Casa Angelina
#3 of 20 in Praiano
763 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Margherita? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Margherita

Property: Hotel Margherita
Address: Via Umberto I, 70, 84010 Praiano, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Praiano
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Praiano
#1 Luxury Hotel in Praiano
#2 Romantic Hotel in Praiano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Margherita 4*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hospitality and friendliness of a family. A warm and friendly welcome. The terrace with swimming pool, solarium and the restaurant on the roof garden. The enchanting view of Praiano, the heart of the Amalfi Coast. Only the guests of Hotel Margherita have the privilege of living these atmospheres, beauty, comforts and services in one of the most appreciated 3 star hotels of Praiano.With free garage, free wi-fi, free shuttle to the beach... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Studio Scivoletto S.r.l. , Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Margherita reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Margherita Hotel Praiano
Hotel Margherita Praiano, Amalfi Coast, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing