We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Tramonto d'Oro
Ranked #5 of 19 Hotels in Praiano
Certificate of Excellence
Worthing, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
251 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
Reviewed 27 August 2014

Bedrooms are furnished in traditional style and you have everything you need for a comfortable stay. Staff were so welcoming and helpful. The roof top pool is large with ample sun loungers and a really nice area to chill out. Breakfast is amazing with the most gorgeous freshly made cakes including the fabulous lemon cake. The hotel restaurant has the most stunning views and the very best food. Whilst I was there I took the hotel cookery course which really great fun and you get to eat your creations afterwards. Really loved the hotel and will definitely return

Room Tip: The hotel restaurant is fantastic and well worth a visit and sign up for the cookery course as its r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sharon B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

816 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    609
    143
    39
    15
    10
See reviews for
212
407
7
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (162)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2014

A beautiful, family-run hotel in a great location, just a bus ride away from busy Positano. Staff was extremely friendly and accommodating, giving us very detailed instructions on how to commute back to Rome to catch our flights home. The free breakfast with ocean views on this balcony were breathtaking. The restaurant is also great and always seemed very busy. Got a welcoming vibe from all staff members. Great stay - would highly recommend!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank marmarita12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York, USA
Level 6 Contributor
170 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2014

This is just a wonderful find in a smaller-than-usual and less touristy Amalfi coast city, Praiano. We went for the pool - other hotels seemed good, but this was a nice blend of a great pool and the hike (up and down the hill) to the closest beach. Our room was very comfortable, with a nice firm mattress, plenty of closets, adequate power, wi-fi that worked, and a good bathroom. The only complaint in this was the shower - there is a hinged shower enclosure that absolutely was the oddest thing to deal with ever. It took some figuring out. The staff are so marvelous, speak very good English, and are just genuinely friendly. No request seems too difficult, and we had a birthday dinner for my step-daughter and a lovely cake and a pyrotechnic candle was provided without fuss. Breakfast is excellent local fruit and pastries. Fresh OJ and good coffee. We had lunch at the pool, and it was also just fine. Dinner one night in the restaurant was really much better than expected, and not a downturn from food anywhere locally. The view from the dining room is just spectacular, with Capri in the distance and excellent views toward Positano and the hills behind you. Not cheap, but worth the investment. We would love to return.

Room Tip: upper floor, ask for a sea view with a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cdpinNYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rochdale, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
231 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2014 via mobile

This is a lovely hotel in the quieter area of Praiano. The views are stunning and our room was clean and comfortable with a large bathroom. We ate at the hotel's restaurant and the food was amazing. Breakfast was also plentiful with many sweet options. We parked our hire car at the hotel but as space is a premium we had to leave the key at Reception in case some shuffling was required to let cars out. It wasn't a problem for us. Driving around the area during high season is very, very busy and there are little parking options in Amalfi or Positano. As the hotel was so good it wasn't a problem having to return to it. We ventured the steps to the beach to find it wasn't worth it. All the sun beds are reserved and the beach is small and very stony, making it difficult underfoot. We didn't bother again. The pool was pleasant and not that busy.
We did find a charge on our bill for the mini bar (€21) that we didn't spend. It was too late to query it as we were home before we noticed. We did use the fridge to chill the wine and water we bought from the supermarket over the road. Whether moving items meant we would be charged or the maid didn't count the items left in the fridge I don't know. It could also be an admin error.
We would recommend here and would stay again.

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
Thank SPEL1990
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2014

Our family of 4 stayed 4 nights in this gem on the Amalfi Coast, in Praiano. The views and sunset are unparalleled as is the personal attention and friendliness of the staff. Close to Pompeii for an easy day trip. The pros: superb views from room, pool and restaurant; the friendly, responsive and knowledgeable staff treat you like family; the restaurant is great for all meals; good access to a small beach but you better be in shape; a very nice pool area with amenities and decent wifi. The cons: small quad room is tight for family of 4 (although we had a large balcony); Praiano is quiet compared to Positano and Amalfi but its easy to get to other towns by water taxi or driver. I would not hesitate to stay here again and recommend to others.

Room Tip: We had 47.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank UCCDad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chattanooga, Tennessee
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2014

We stayed here for three nights and were very happy with our accommodations. We are a family of four and we booked the quadruple/family room. It came with a queen bed and two twin beds. The view was amazing, the room was immaculately clean, had cold air conditioning, a nice pool on the roof top complete with bar and food service, nice lounge chairs, and very friendly staff. This is a family run hotel, and we felt very welcome. They were also very helpful with info we needed during our stay. This is not a hotel to stay in if you want beach access... the beach is 400 steps down from the hotel (and 400 back up!). The beaches in Praiano are not great for kids. The beach under the hotel was really rough for young children and rocky (all Amalfi beaches are rocky). When we stayed there we had some storms pass through making the water rough. We stayed here but went over to Positano's beach for the day. We definitely recommend staying at the Hotel Tramonto d'Oro but you should read our review about the restaurant in the restaurant section. Great experience overall. Would definitely go back!

Room Tip: Not all rooms have a view. We were supposed to have an ocean view room but when we got there it was...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cokidag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canterbury
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2014 via mobile

Lovely view as you walk in but the rooms are very dated. The pool is right by the road and if you've been to Italy before you will know they honk their horns all day, so there's no peace by the pool. Very long walk down to the beach but it looked good, just make sure you book a sun lounger before you go down (didn't realise that) otherwise you'll be making the long trek back up to the noisy pool for nothing. This is a 3 star but not a 4 star and cost us over £200 for one night. The Covo di Saraceni in Positano was only a little more expensive (~£230) and a 5star and well worth it, it was luxury. Don't waste your time in Praiano there's not a lot to see

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Seanhagger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Praiano
0.4 mi away
Grand Hotel Tritone
Grand Hotel Tritone
#7 of 19 in Praiano
614 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Margherita
Hotel Margherita
#2 of 19 in Praiano
1,425 reviews
5.4 mi away
Ravello Art Hotel Marmorata, BW Premier Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
NH Collection Grand Hotel Convento di Amalfi
0.6 mi away
Hotel Locanda Costa Diva
3.9 mi away
Santa Caterina Hotel
Santa Caterina Hotel
#1 of 29 in Amalfi
985 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Tramonto d'Oro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Tramonto d'Oro

Property: Hotel Tramonto d'Oro
Address: Via Gennaro Capriglione 119, 84010 Praiano, Italy
Region: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Praiano
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Praiano
#4 Luxury Hotel in Praiano
#7 Romantic Hotel in Praiano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Tramonto d'Oro 4*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Tramonto D'Oro offers to their guests roof swimming-pool with wonderful view of Positano, Capri's Faraglioni and De Li Galli's Island. Gym with Techno gym equipment, Steamed Bath and Sauna. The restaurant offers excellent regional fish dishes. Private parking, Free shuttle to the beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Tramonto d'Oro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Tramonto D'Oro Praiano, Amalfi Coast, Italy
Tramonto d Oro Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing