We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great View and Nice Pool. The End.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Tramonto d'Oro
Ranked #6 of 20 Hotels in Praiano
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 July 2009

We made the decision to spend the 3rd leg of our Amalfi Coast trip in Praiano (1st leg Positano, 2nd leg Anacapri) because the Ravello hotels were booked and we wanted to pick a third location. We wouldn't do it again.

There is nothing in Praiano with the exception of a gorgeous view of the Mediterranean and Positano, and you can even see Capri from there. That was lovely, but for a great view I'd opt for Ravello in the future. Yes, you can take the SITA bus from Praiano (good luck getting the driver to stop and let you off back in town), or the local bus to Positano (make sure your life insurance is up to date), but you can wait as long as an hour each way.

As for this hotel... we were fooled by the gorgeous view from the lobby floor and the restaurant, and even had the same view from our room. The praise ends there. The bed was worse than sleeping on the floor. Hard as a rock. The bathroom was cheaply thrown together with a broken shower head. We had to wait two days for it to be fixed, and then after it was "fixed" the whole thing fell off the wall. We asked to send clothes out for washing and first they were never picked up, then picked up and we were told they'd be back in 24 hours. However, after 24 hours we were informed that the woman "didn't have time" to do them, so she'd do them now and we'd get them back wet. Which is exactly what happened.

Towels were non-existent in the room. Face towels were worse than dish rags. "Bath towels" were big cotton pique (waffled) things which absorb no water at all. No wonder there were never enough towels at the pool...everyone took them to the rooms!!

The restaurant is mediocre. (Actually, we both got sick after eating there. Could have been a coincidence, who knows). People were helpful enough, although I'm puzzled by all of the references to the "family" who run the place. We never got the impression that this was a warm, family-run establishment. Again, nice view. Nice pool. Not enough to recommend that anyone stay there.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank panthergirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (864)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

514 - 520 of 864 reviews

Reviewed 7 July 2009

We spent our weeks honeymoon at the Tramonto doro and couldnt have found a better place to stay. The staff were all very friendy and helpful.

The food was excellent and very good value for half board and the views off the terrace were breath taking, what a romantic setting!

Praiano was a unknow gem set between Postiano and Amalfi and I would recommend it to anyone wanting to stay in this beautiful part of the world.

We are already planning to go back for one of our wedding anniversaries.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JulieLondon_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2009

Initially we had made this over enthusiastic plan to spend two nights each in different towns on the Amalfi coast but after getting to Tramonto we realized how easy it was to go to every town for a day trip and how nice it was to have a base to come back to. Long story short we ended up only going to stay in Ravello for two nights (which is a must do) and then headed back to Tramonto for the remaining time that we were there.

All the towns on the coast are gorgeous, so its hard to go wrong. We liked Praiano because it was small and by day 2 you got to know the locals, chat with them and feel like you just want to stay there. Its less touristy which made it great. The bus right outside Tramonto makes it extremely convenient to get to Positano in 10 mins. We went to Positano for a day trip and dinner and to Music on the Rocks but were happy to get back to Tramonto.

About the hotel- you cannot go wrong with Tramonto. Its a family run hotel , the lady who owns it I think Mama Esposito (cant remember) is such a sweetheart. She personally came to drop us out and to tell our cab guy to drive us safely. We loved her and also the rest of the family and staff that works there. The rooms themselves face the water with gorgeous views all around. You can hear the church bells , its a very relaxing,beautiful place which makes you feel like you belong there. The breakfast was good with quite a few options. We did not eat at the hotel as we would be in other towns for dinner or this very amazing restaurant in Praiano where we ate twice called Hosteria Il Pino- go to it. It was very reasonably priced and excellent food.

We were deciding between Casa Angelina and Tramonto initially and are so glad that we went with Tramonto as its better value for money. Also, checked out a bunch of places in Positano but couldnt stand the thought of being in a crowded place when we could be in the cute charming town of Praiano. Also do not miss Ravello while on the coast, it is gorgeous specially in the evenings when its not crowded.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sal30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2009

We stayed for 3 nights here during the latter part of May 2009. We got a deluxe room, which includes an oceanfront view and a very large balcony and table.

When we got there, the place was packed with a wedding in progress, but the staff was still on top of things and got us taken care of. We had a car with us and thank goodness for the free parking.

The rooms are nice, simple with LCD TV and A/C. The bathrooms are very large, good shower pressure and water was always hot. Plenty of towels.

We had a breakfast included each morning and the spread was pretty decent with all kinds of pastries, cereals, fruits, juices, coffee, etc. We ate at the restaurant for dinner every night because the view was great, the food good, and the wine was CHEAP. Try the local Amalfi Coast wines, only 14 euro/bottle and well worth it.

Location wise, it took about an hour or so to drive Amalfi drive to get there. The road there is quite scenic, but very treacherous as well. If you are not a "good" driver, then be careful. Amalfi Drive is considered one of the most dangerous roads in Italy.

There is a bus stop right outside the hotel where you can get to all the other small towns on the coast. I recommend Positano for sure, about 10 min away, cool shops and good food.

There is a pool on the top where we relaxed one day, only downside is there is no beach, but there are not many beaches in that area anyways...

All in all it was a great stay, and we would definitely go back.

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Justinssvc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2009

What a fabulous place, a real must to go and visit. This family run hotel was perfect, staff so friendly and accommodating, excellent food, fabulous views over the sea from our balcony and the village itself was stunning, the most breathtaking scenery we have ever seen. A little tip though, book airport transfers through the hotel as we used public transport and the transfer was very long and very stressful, albeit amusing to talk about afterwards!!!

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jackie1961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2009

We started planning our wedding over a year ago at the Hotel Tramonto d'Oro and it finally all came together. From the moment we arrived they gave my husband and I and all our guests first class service. Anything we needed, they made sure we had and even went above and beyond the call of duty to make sure out wedding was the best day of our lives. The food was amazing. The rooms and views were to die for but most of all the warm and comfortable feeling the staff of the hotel gave us was the most memorable. I would happily stay there for months at a time if possible. I could not think of a better place to have my wedding and to have my entire family and all my closest friends stay. I can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed: March 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Aircat21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 February 2009

I had fantasized about our stay at the Tramonto D’Oro and our trip to the Amalfi Coast for nearly six years. In October when we finally boarded our plane to Naples on route to Praiano I began to worry that the reality would not measure up to the fantasy. All I can say is this place is like heaven on earth and it far exceeded my expectations. My only hope is that we can return someday.

We knew from the moment we walked in and were greeted by the warm and friendly staff, Carmella, Anita and Momma Esposito that this was someplace special. As I was checking in my husband was looking out the back window of the hotel at the amazing views of the sea and coastline. When I went to find him he was overcome by the grandeur of our surroundings and was in tears. I have never seen a reaction in him like this. He was overcome by the beauty.

We had a very comfortable room with a balcony, a refridgerator, mini bar, and a fantastic view of everything. The restaurant in the hotel has superb food and our waiter Giovanni took great care of us and had a great sense of humor. During the day we took trips to Capri by boat, Sorrento, Positano, Vesuvious, Pompei, Amalfi, Ravello and Vietri. We got great advice on where to go, where to eat and how to get to everything. When we returned in the evening we were usually greeted by Agnes Esposito the proprietor and had some great late night conversations. At the end of each day we always felt like we were returning home. I would recommend this hotel to everybody. In addition to everything else I’ve mentioned the hotel has a Turkish bath, a gym, offers cooking classes and you can even have a wedding there.

Praiano is a great town and very convenient to everywhere. We traveled at the end of the tourist season and while there were not so many tourists we met many of the folks who live in Praiano and felt like we made friends. We will never forget the great time we had. We left much the same way we arrived only this time both of us were in tears. We have taken many vacations but this one was the best. If you get the chance you should definitely go there and stay at the Tramonto D’Oro.

  • Stayed: October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 2Magellans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Praiano hotels
0.5 mi away
Hotel Margherita
Hotel Margherita
#2 of 20 in Praiano
1,586 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Onda Verde
Hotel Onda Verde
#4 of 20 in Praiano
1,088 reviews
0.4 mi away
Grand Hotel Tritone
Grand Hotel Tritone
#7 of 20 in Praiano
695 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Pellegrino
Hotel Pellegrino
#1 of 20 in Praiano
747 reviews
0.1 mi away
Casa Angelina
Casa Angelina
#3 of 20 in Praiano
844 reviews
0 mi away
Hotel Le Fioriere
Hotel Le Fioriere
#8 of 20 in Praiano
464 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Tramonto d'Oro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Tramonto d'Oro

Address: Via Gennaro Capriglione 119, 84010 Praiano, Italy
Region: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Praiano
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Praiano
#4 Luxury Hotel in Praiano
#7 Romantic Hotel in Praiano
Price Range: £201 - £338 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Tramonto d'Oro 4*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Tramonto D'Oro offers to their guests roof swimming-pool with wonderful view of Positano, Capri's Faraglioni and De Li Galli's Island. Gym with Techno gym equipment, Steamed Bath and Sauna. The restaurant offers excellent regional fish dishes. Private parking, Free shuttle to the beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Tramonto d'Oro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Tramonto D'Oro Praiano, Amalfi Coast, Italy
Tramonto d Oro Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing