We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Views!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Tramonto d'Oro
Ranked #5 of 20 Hotels in Praiano
Certificate of Excellence
Vacaville, California
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Fantastic Views!”
Reviewed 16 October 2009

We stayed at the Tramonto d'Oro for 5 nights in a deluxe seaview room with terrace. What a treat! Our view was fabulous and the room was big and comfortable. We enjoyed Praiano as it was less crowded than the rest of the Amalfi Coast...it was convenient for taking day trips to the other towns and then coming back to peaceful Praiano! The meals at the restarant were excellent and we enjoyed the owners and staff. They were all very helpful and friendly. We plan to return again next year and we will stay at the Tramonto d'oro! The Hosteria Il Pino restaurant down the street was fabulous and the bar across the street was great...the best olives!

Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Vacagirlie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

816 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    609
    143
    39
    15
    10
See reviews for
212
407
7
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (162)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Denver
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 October 2009

If you're looking for action, Praiano is not the place for you. If you're looking for relaxation then it is. And this hotel was really wonderful. Family run, the food was exceptional. The deluxe rooms are nice and spacious with big bathrooms and a great private balcony and view.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LimparDenver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Champaign, Illinois
Level 6 Contributor
101 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 October 2009

The staff were friendly and helpful in every way (English spoken easily); room was impeccably clean as were all the areas of the hotel. We didn't upgrade to a room w/ a view as we were in the room only to sleep. Spectacular views of the Amalfi Coast abound throughout the public areas of the hotel.

Parking is very limited so be certain to let the staff know when you book that you need a place to park your car (parking is just outside the front door in adjacent lot.)

Staff recommendations of local sites to visit were right on the mark. Suggesting travel times to avoid traffic was a real plus...the staff know the traffic patterns.

This is a family owned/operated hotel for more than 50 years...they make you feel like family w/o suffocating you w/ attention.

Breakfast was excellent and included. The restaurant and lounge areas have incredible views. A heads up on the restaurant: be certain to inquire whether the seafood is fresh or frozen. If frozen, select another entree. Otherwise the food prep and presentation were top drawer. We ate in the hotel restaurant 3 consecutive nights and were disappointed only in the one frozen seafood entree.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank C5Cye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
illinois
2 reviews
Reviewed 9 October 2009

My husband and I signed up for cooking school at Hotel Tramonto d'Oro through The International Kitchen and has the most amazing week. Not only were the 4 days of cooking and learning about the regional food fun and informative but the excursions the hotel set up for us were incredible. The Esposito family is very present in daily operations and the rest of the staff couldn't have been more warm and attentive.
The view from the dining room where we would have breakfast and dinner each day was spectacular. Normally on vacations we eat at a different restaurant each night. Here we had no problem eating on the terrace 6 nights. The food was incredible, so fresh and full of flavor. We will miss and often think of our friends, Carmela, Ivana, Agnes, Pepe, Salvatore and the rest of the gang. We had tears saying goodbye!

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jenillinois
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dunfermline, Fife
Level 5 Contributor
35 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 October 2009

Stayed for 2 nights at the Hotel Tramonto d'Oro with my husband while on a tour of Italy. We did not book and had orginally headed towards a hotel recommended to us in nearby cosmopolitain Positano, but as it was excessively busy and almost impossible to park, we continued along the very scary road until we entered the lovely authentic Praiano. There was ample parking spaces outside the hotel and we were made to feel very welcome at reception. It was very clear that is was a family run hotel. The reception is bright and wecoming and we were shown around two rooms. There were a variety of rooms and prices put to us, but we decided upon a deluxe sea view. When we were shown the room it was lovely, but after being shown the deluxe plus (with jaccuzzi bath and bigger balcony/room) we decided we'd take that room instead, as it was only an extra 20 Euro. I did think it was a little pricey for the room, but as it is a sought after destination, I think you would pay that anywhere else too.
The view from the balcony was breathtaking and we had table and chairs and two sunbeds too.
The room was huge and had all the mod cons. We didnt use the jaccuzzi, but Im sure it would be a nice touch to anyone stayin there longer.
We were so impressed with the view from the balcony restaurant that we ate there both nights. We decided to eat the 'italian way' and have antipasta, first and 2nd courses. The food in this hotel is absolutly AMAZIN! They go out of their way to make you feel looked after. The food is very tasty and we were utterly stuffed both nights. The wine selection is very good too and we stuck to the local white wine, which was exceptional.
The owners of the hotel were extreamly friendly and helpful and took an active role in talking to all the guests throughout dinner and in the morning at breaskfast. I just think it was such a lovely touch that they took interest in us and our enjoyment not only of their hotel, but of the area and they took pride in their beautiful surroundings.
We had a drink at the bar opposite the hotel to the right and sat on the terrace watching the world go by. The impressive church sits in the centre of the town, buillt into the hillside and is gorgeous. We walked around it after our dinner and it was very humbling!
On our second day we had a gorgeous breakfast again, on the beautiful balcony terrace, overlooking the sea. There was plently of local fresh produce on offer, fruit, crossants, eggs etc, and lovely coffee!
We walked around the town and then attempted the walk down to the beach, we got quite far in swealtering heat, but didnt quite make it, so walked back to the hotel where we spent our day on the roof top swimming pool, glaring out at the delighful views, while we sipped on the local beer. While we were at the hotel we watched the boats and yachts below and were amazed to see on our arrival back in scotland, it pictured in Hello magazine, Gary Linekar and his bride were married on a boat right there....it sums up the beauty of the place if footballers/stars are gettin wed here!
All in a lovely experience and a hotel I would like to return to one day. Grazie mille to the owners and fantastic staff who made our stay very enjoyable.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank samparschick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florida
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 September 2009

The hotel was fine, but not worth the money. The rooms were clean and the location was good for Praiano. The staff was not friendly and made me feel very uncomfortable. I actually left early because of this. If you travel to Praiano check out the Hotel Margherita and make sure you eat at the Hosteria El Pino and get the crazy water style fish. The best......

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hbnumber3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kerry
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2009

We stayed in tramonto d'oro for 4 nights , it was a wonderful experience. Staff were attentive and friendly, a family run hotel and it shows, We ate in hotel most nights , delicious food and good wines, as we had booked at last minute we had a room with a partial sea vie , but this was still quite adequate, bathroom was fine, plenty of towels and goodies, daily shirt service was excellent . The hotel has fantastic terraces overlooking med. and a beautiful pool, will be going back again in october, D and K o Callaghan ireland.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KerryDingle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Praiano
0.4 mi away
Grand Hotel Tritone
Grand Hotel Tritone
#7 of 20 in Praiano
618 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Margherita
Hotel Margherita
#2 of 20 in Praiano
1,427 reviews
5.4 mi away
Ravello Art Hotel Marmorata, BW Premier Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
NH Collection Grand Hotel Convento di Amalfi
0.6 mi away
Hotel Locanda Costa Diva
3.9 mi away
Santa Caterina Hotel
Santa Caterina Hotel
#1 of 29 in Amalfi
985 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Tramonto d'Oro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Tramonto d'Oro

Property: Hotel Tramonto d'Oro
Address: Via Gennaro Capriglione 119, 84010 Praiano, Italy
Region: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Praiano
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Praiano
#4 Luxury Hotel in Praiano
#7 Romantic Hotel in Praiano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Tramonto d'Oro 4*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Tramonto D'Oro offers to their guests roof swimming-pool with wonderful view of Positano, Capri's Faraglioni and De Li Galli's Island. Gym with Techno gym equipment, Steamed Bath and Sauna. The restaurant offers excellent regional fish dishes. Private parking, Free shuttle to the beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Tramonto d'Oro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Tramonto D'Oro Praiano, Amalfi Coast, Italy
Tramonto d Oro Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing