We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Tramonto d'Oro is a marvelous family run hotel in spectacular Amalfi Coast setting.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Tramonto d'Oro
Ranked #5 of 20 Hotels in Praiano
Certificate of Excellence
Surfside, Calif., USA
Level Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Tramonto d'Oro is a marvelous family run hotel in spectacular Amalfi Coast setting.”
Reviewed 8 August 2010

This was our sixth stay at Tramonto d'Oro and we will continue to make it a must stay for all future trips to Italy.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bentley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

799 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    595
    141
    39
    15
    9
See reviews for
206
396
7
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (160)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviewed 3 August 2010

We stayed here for 11 nights in June/July 2010 - for our wedding anniversary and my wife's birthday. Its a lovely smallish, family run hotel. Rooms are clean, tidy, traditional and comfortable - with TV (only BBC news and CNN in English) - but not luxurious. The hotel balcony of our room (we had a room with a sea view) had absolutely stunning sea views, as was the view from the hotel balcony where all the meals were served outside (you could go inside if you wanted).

The food was also very good - we had half-board and intended beforehand to eat some meals out, but the food, views and the 'ambience' was so good, that it didn't seem worthwhile - so we ate in every night.

Praiano is fairly small and quiet - with just a few bars and restaurants - so don't come here for the night life - but this suited us fine. The village - in the lower and upper reaches (below and above the main road) was quite interesting to amble through by day - with some lovely views - but there isn't anywhere very interesting to amble to at night.

Although the hotel is on the main road, all the bedrooms are lower down, mainly facing the sea - so there is no noise from the road at night (there were even roadworks outside one night whilst we were there, but we didn't hear anything).

The hotel (and village) is wonderfully situated about halfway between Amalfi and Positano - both interesting places to visit (about 25 minutes in each direction) - which is easy and reasonable by bus. We considered hiring a car, but I was very glad that I didn't - as the road is tortuous and difficult to drive (let the bus take the strain!)

However what makes this hotel really special is the family and staff, who were all very friendly at all times - nothing was too much trouble (both by phone and e-mail before - and during our stay) - and it made this hotel a joy to stay at. Thanks to all the family and the staff for your hospitality.

I hope that the photos reflect some of this special nature of this place too.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank saffpost
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 18 July 2010

This is a wonderful hotel, with one of the best views in Italy. This family run hotel gave us great service and wonderful food. In Praiano it avoids the crowds of Positano but was a great base for exploring the area. We will be going back.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lesley06710
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
1 review
Reviewed 13 July 2010

Fantastico! We ended up at this hotel by mistake in our booking and ended up being the best part of our two week vacation through Italy! As a local New Yorker the last thing I want to do is stay in Times Square, the Tramonto d'Oro is by far the best hotel If you want the real Italian experience and charm of a family run business in the heart of Praiano. By the end of our 5 day stay we new the family, the locals, had enjoyed their fantastic food and breathtaking view. The staff was accommodating when we requested an extra room at the last minute and helped us plan the most amazing day trip to Capri with a local "Captain". Honestly... look no further, Tramanot d'Oro and their family will not disappoint.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cmparkin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kerry
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2010

We held our daughters wedding in Tramonto D''oro in may. It wasa big wedding with family and friends travelling from all over the world, The hotel owners and all the staff did a magnificent job, every detail was perfect, We all stayed over a week . Every day was magical . The wedding reception held on the beutiful top terrace was amazing, The wedding meal was held in the function room overlooking amalfi, so romantic and picturesque, Next day a divine brunch was held, again using the glorious top terrace. Tramonto Doro gets full marks from us and all our family and friends. Thank you so much for all your hard work, your patience , and most of all your wonderful kindness, in helping us to give our daughter and her new husband their dream wedding . The O' Callaghan family , Ireland . I

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KerryDingle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ny, ny
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2010

Dinner was the bomb. Breakfast buffet was even better. Our room was nice spacious, nothing special, great balcony. Make sure to eat on the veranda overlooking Positano and the sea. Views can't be beat and I can't help thinking that they make the food taste better. Idk, just me?

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank falconcrest_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jerusalem, Israel
1 review
Reviewed 24 May 2010

Excellent hotel, with attention to each small detail. The staff is great, giving you a fuzzy feeling while staying there. The view from the room is amazing, take the room with the sea view. The food in the evening is incredible, therefore we had a dinner every night on the hotel terrace, enjoying the wonderful food and the amazing view, it's so romantic!
One thing to notice is that this location is close to tourist attractions during the day, but at night there is nothing to do in Praiano, if you want to go out to Sorrento or Salerno it's a drive in a dark serpentine road that is not easy to drive during the night.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ada_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Praiano
0.5 mi away
Hotel Margherita
Hotel Margherita
#2 of 20 in Praiano
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,359 reviews
0.4 mi away
Grand Hotel Tritone
Grand Hotel Tritone
#7 of 20 in Praiano
4.5 of 5 bubbles 544 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Onda Verde
Hotel Onda Verde
#4 of 20 in Praiano
4.5 of 5 bubbles 948 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
Hotel Marina Riviera
Hotel Marina Riviera
#3 of 29 in Amalfi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 764 reviews
3.9 mi away
Santa Caterina Hotel
Santa Caterina Hotel
#1 of 29 in Amalfi
5.0 of 5 bubbles 949 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Locanda Costa Diva
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Tramonto d'Oro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Tramonto d'Oro

Property: Hotel Tramonto d'Oro
Address: Via Gennaro Capriglione 119, 84010 Praiano, Italy
Region: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Praiano
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Praiano
#3 Family Hotel in Praiano
#7 Romantic Hotel in Praiano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Tramonto d'Oro 4*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Tramonto D'Oro offers to their guests roof swimming-pool with wonderful view of Positano, Capri's Faraglioni and De Li Galli's Island. Gym with Techno gym equipment, Steamed Bath and Sauna. The restaurant offers excellent regional fish dishes. Private parking, Free shuttle to the beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline, TravelUp, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Tramonto d'Oro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Tramonto D'Oro Praiano, Amalfi Coast, Italy
Tramonto d Oro Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing