We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Sunny terrazzo with unimpeded views of the...”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of CASA AZZURRA

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
23 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Guest house -
1 Bedroom, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Praiano, Amalfi Coast, Campania

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 23 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
German first
Any
English first
carylhill
Canberra, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Sunny terrazzo with unimpeded views of the Mediterranean”
Reviewed 29 September 2017 for a stay in September 2017

My husband and I stayed at Casa Azzurra for 6 nights and very much enjoyed our stay. Praiano is a small, neat town built above the main Amalfi coast road, so the 90 odd steps to access the apartment with your luggage is to be expected. In contrast to previous reviews, we did not meet Luca or Giovanna, who has now moved to Napoli, but we were met by Pietro who showed us to the apartment and gave us the keys. The apartment is quiet and well equipped for cooking, as well as having a washing machine and a clothes line along the edge of the terrazzo which ensures that the clothes dry quickly. The bedroom is located up a narrow staircase, which may be an issue for anyone with dodgy knees. The highlight of the apartment was definitely the terrazzo which faces south and has a fantastic 180 degree view of the Mediterranean with the sun all day. We ate breakfast there every day and dinner on a couple of nights as the weather during the day and in the evening was beautiful and the view spectacular.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
11 Oct 2017
Ciao Caryl,
thanks again for coming and the review.
All the best!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brianturk...
Melbourne, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
116 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“This is what a holiday rental should be.”
Reviewed 14 July 2017 for a stay in June 2017
2
people found this review helpful

CASA Azzurra is sparklingly clean, well provisioned by the owner, fully documented (when and what rubbish to put out, how to get help quickly etc) and offers views only the Amalfi coast can give.
The deck faces south so gets the full benefit of the sun. You look over the houses in front which act to provide a sound deadening effect for the traffic on the main road.
The toilet works, the shower works, the fridge works, the washing machine works.... All is provided as if you thought of it yourself.
Praiano is like all the Amalfi coast built on a steep hillside. So there are plenty of steps which makes this problematic for wheelchair users or those with tricky knees, ankles or other parts of the extremities. But that applies all through the Coast.
A short walk is needed to get you to the supermarket (the Tutti-Fruitti). A longer walk (downhill) gets you to Praiano beach which has five restaurants, a beach club and safe family swimming. Water taxis (the only way to get around if you value your sanity....avoid the road ) run from here to Positano, Anakfi, Midori. There is also the ability to get boat tours at the beach.
Choose Casa Azzurra and your holiday will get off to the best start possible.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
15 Jul 2017
Ciao! Thanks again for coming and for your feedback.
Take care.
Giovanna.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
1 review
“Perfekt place!”
Reviewed 2 July 2017 for a stay in June 2017

We stayed 5 days in this beautiful apartment. Everything was really great, the view from the terrace is just amazing.
Giovanna and Pietro were both so sweet and helpful. If we ever visit Praiano again we are definitely giving Giovanna a call :)

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
2 Jul 2017
Ciao!
Thank you for coming. Thanks for respecting the apartment and appreciated our efforts to give the best stay we ever could to our guests.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BirdC
Farnborough, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent service and excellent location”
Reviewed 6 June 2017 for a stay in May 2017

Excellent communication with both Luca and Giovanna. They both were very helpful and provided much needed information.
The apartment was clean and tidy. It's in a great location with excellent view of the sea. We didn't expect to be walking up and down the steps so much like this but it has given us great exercise :)
Next time we will stay for a whole week!
Thank you for giving us the relaxing place to stay.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
9 Jun 2017
Ciao!
Thanks again for coming and your feedback,
Best,
Giovanna.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
1 review
“Beautiful View”
Reviewed 9 November 2016 for a stay in July 2016

This house is exactly as it is pictured, beautiful view from the balcony and spacious inside. It is stocked with everything that you could need with a grocery store about 10-15 min away. Praiano itself is built into the cliff so hills and stairs are inevitable in this location. The house is up a good amount of stairs so if staying here you may want to consider that with the luggage you are bringing. The beach is an "easy" (quotes for the hills and stairs involved!) walk and is secluded that if you get there early enough you can get a chair and umbrella, the water is beyond clear. There are some good restaurants in surrounding hotels and it is the perfect spot to get on a bus to Positano or Amalfi for the night. The hosts were extremely helpful in getting us checked in and checked in a couple of times to make sure that we were okay and didn't need anything. They were helpful in answering any questions that we had right away.

One thing about Praiano is that the bus system can be VERY confusing. If you are staying at this location they give you landmarks to look for on the bus but I would recommend asking for bus stop numbers to use.

We loved eating at Costa Diva and took the day trip to Capri on a 12 person boat (sold near the beach).

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
10 Nov 2016
Ciao!
Thanks again for coming and for the review.
Let's keep in touch.
Giovanna.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Susanmsus...
Edinburgh
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“A fabulous place to chill and savour the delights of the Amalfi coast”
Reviewed 18 September 2016 for a stay in September 2016
3
people found this review helpful

Casa Azzurra was amazing. It is about 140 steps up from the main road but is an oasis of peace and tranquility. It was spotlessly clean and equipped with everything we needed for our stay. The bedroom upstairs had an arched ceiling which, being tall, was a bit awkward for us. However we kept everything downstairs ( masses of storage space) and just used upstairs for sleeping and that worked out perfectly as everything we needed was on hand downstairs so no trekking up and down stairs for stuff. The balcony is big and is equipped with two deck chairs, two su beds, a small side table, a very large dining table, 6 dining chairs and two sun parasols. There is also a bamboo canopy which provides welcome shade from the sun and , on the odd occasion that it rained , it gave us shelter from that too . We just loved the balcony and spent masses of time out there gazing out on an open view of the sea and the coastline. It is also very private as most of it is not overlooked by anyone else. There is a small supermarket up the road which will provide you with just about everything that you need. Apart from the litre carton of wine at 1.50, the rest of the wine in the supermarket was very expensive. However, if turn left at the top of the steps (instead of turning right to go to the supermarket) and go downhill for 50m there is another little grocery shop which sells bottles of wine at more reasonable prices. The walk up to the supermarket is beautiful and l have included some photos later in this review. All the locals we met were very friendly and helpful. We ate out twice in Prianao. Once at the Costa Diva and once at La Morressa ( above the supermarket) and bothmeals were excellent. Giovanna was really helpful, right from the start of the booking process until the moment we left when she waved us off in the private transfer car which she had arranged for us at a very reasonable price. If you are looking for an apartment on the Amalfi coast you would be daft not to seriously consider Casa Azzurra for all the reasons above and the fact that it is placed half way between Amalfi and Positano and it has boat services to various other parts of the coast. We would go back in a minute!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The fabulous balcony
Liked least: The steps but we got used to them and l suppose it helped work off some of the wine and ice creams!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
19 Sep 2016
Dear Susan,
Thanks a lot for coming and the great review!
You are always welcome here.
All the best.
Giovanna.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
anthony g...
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Stairway to heaven”
Reviewed 26 June 2016 for a stay in June 2016

Luca and Giovanna, the owners, are fabulous and did everything to make our stay a great experience, including a welcoming glass of limoncella, pastries and even a parting gift of ceramics!! The villa really does have breathtaking views and eating out on the large balcony at night was awesome. It is worth every cent but there are two possible problems. The first is parking if you have a rental car. We contacted Giovanna before arriving and she was able to find a secure parking place for 20 euros a day, good considering it was high season. The second depends on your age and level of fitness because the stairs up (we counted over 140 steps up from the street) are challenging. We are in our late 60s and struggled on the first couple of days but we soon got used to it and became more confident as the days went by. We actually went back fitter than when we arrived ... and burnt off all that pasta!!!!

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
27 Jun 2016
Ciao! Thanks again for coming and the review.
The private parking, when available, is a very good option because close to the apartment and not that expensive (considering that the public one, if you are lucky to find some free space, costs €3,00 per hour).
Anyway, everything is at close distance so using the public transport is recommendable.
About the steps, It's an own Praiano characteristic. One hundred steps is the minimum to climb up!:)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing