We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Clean, comfortable, wonderful view from the room, lovely town”
Review of Hotel Il Pino

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Il Pino
Ranked #14 of 20 Hotels in Praiano
Certificate of Excellence
Sao Paulo, Brasil
Level Contributor
307 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
“Clean, comfortable, wonderful view from the room, lovely town”
Reviewed 27 July 2012

The hotel is just perfect (breakfast was not such a big deal, though). They have a parking space, which is a relief in the Amalfi Coast. The only low point is that wifi had an extra cost, when most hotels now offer it for free.
Staying in Praiano was better than staying in Positano, which is very crowded and much more expensive.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tata_Paulista
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

223 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    95
    92
    21
    8
    7
See reviews for
38
144
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 July 2012

A beautiful cosy hotel with super super views! Friendly staff and a nice breakfast (although the coffee was terrible). The hotel is centrally located and within walking distance of nice restaurants. Also close to the bus stop for trips to Amalfi and Positano. The room was much larger than expected and the bed large and comfy. The bathroom was brandnew. Don't believe a word Steve wrote - I experienced the opposite!!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HillyCapeTown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2012

Romantic atmosphere, pianist playing in the background, great view for sunset. Gourmet food, top notch service, a must if you enjoy seafood.

From presentation to showing you the the fish you choose, to deboning and plating the fish in front of you. The lemon risotto was delish. The appetizer were average, in terms of taste but presentation all the way was great.

The restaurant is open air but does have ceiling fans. Even the owner arranged a driver to take us back to our hotel for free.

Thank you for a fond fair well.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank CanadianSnowman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2012

Almost everyone neglects the surroundings of Positano: little cozy places like Praiano are seen just as a cheap shot to easy get to Positano which is expensive indeed!
Wrong.
Praiano is vital to exploring travelers just as the great base it is with its awesome sightseeings!
And so, Hotel Il Pino is too quickly neglected as a cheap shot in comparison, yet what a surprise... A fantastic set of rooms, we experienced both Standard and Suite, receptionist is such a delightful lady with extensive knowledge of English and all info one can ever need here.
The room is way above its cost in furnishings, amenities and decoration: lovely tiles all over and fantastic orthopedic beds! Bathroom in crystal and lavic stone, with hydro massage in the Suite. We LOVE THAT!

Prices are not telling the truth! This place deserves a 4 star category! Just the sightseeing from our terrace, where breakfast is room served free, is worthier than other hotels we stayed at in this area and that includes Positano.
Our best advise is to book it twice :-)

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank adrianoromano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kiev, Ukraine
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 January 2012

The hotel is nice, clean and neat. We were lucky to have stayed in "Positano" room with the biggest panoramic balcony in this hotel. The bed was soft enough for a good sleep.
The hotel managers were quite helpful although their English is not strong enough to understand our requests.

If you plan to rent a car, there are several hotel parking spots available. But if all of them are occupied you may park a car 50 meters away also for free.

The downside of this hotel is breakfast. Breakfasts are always same and not tasty, but opposite this hotel is an awesome small shop selling wines, fresh mozzarella, mortadella, prosciutto and fruits.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AndriyML
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wayland, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
103 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 November 2011

This hotel was a huge disappointment. Some people might call it "cozy" (a euphemism for tiny). EVERYthing is downsized: the lobby, the balcony where "breakfast" is served and especially the rooms.

Our first night, we were given "Ravello" (all the rooms have names): on the bottom floor, right next to the stairway, elevator AND the restaurant). You could barely walk around the bed, the room was so small, and there are no windows, so if your doors/curtains are closed for privacy, it's very dark and claustrophobic. The bathroom had a tiny shower with flimsy plastic doors (that leaked) and an exhaust vent (not fan) through which you could hear other guests' conversations. The hair dryer looked like a vacuum-cleaner hose, and got so hot you couldn't hold it without a towel to protect your hand. The closet was so small, we couldn't really unpack (for a week's stay). And at night -- IF you could sleep on the rock-hard mattress (double bed, not queen as requested) -- you could hear all the restaurant noises.

After complaining to the day manager -- more about HER in a moment -- we were able to switch to "Minori," a nicer room on the main floor. The same size, but nicer decor, a better bed, nicer shower, etc. (Looks like the photo, which is deceiving.) But get this: every day, they automatically turn off the AC at 7:30-8:00 in the morning and don't turn it on again until 4:30-5:00 p.m. (some days, later). I had to make a special request, several times, to get some cooling into the room, because the temperatures were uncharacteristically hot for that time of year (late September, 2011). And even then we were told that we'd have to wait to get AC.

Breakfast was always the same: the same two croissants, two hard rolls, yogurt if you wanted it, OJ from concentrate, coffee. (Even though it's included at Il Pino, go up the street to the Smeraldo hotel for a REAL continental breakfast -- with choices of cereals, freshly baked goods AND the option to get something to order (e.g.,omlettes).

I'm saving the worst for last: the day manager (I think her name was Manna) was one of the most inhospitable people I've ever encountered. She was rude, unhelpful, and reacted to any question or request as if she was being totally inconvenienced.

Most of the time, she was chatting on the phone or (away from the desk) with friends on the balcony. She never greeted us (unless we spoke first). One day, we requested two more bath towels, and she told us she'd make an exception, but that was the only time she would ever do this special gesture for us. The night manager (Antonio) was much nicer and more gracious, but the day manager really dampened our spirits. We kept being ourselves, being friendly and cheerful with her... and got nothing. Finally we gave up. We certainly didn't "need" her to have a good time, but who wants to have to deal with that kind of attitude while on vacation? Someone should explain to her the difference between hospitality and hostility.

Try Smeraldo, a few hundred yards up the street towards Positano, for a more realistic 3-star experience. Wonderful, family-run hotel; nice rooms; nice restaurant. Or spend the bucks at Tramonto D'Oro, also just up the street; it's 4 stars and for a good reason; in particular, the staff couldn't do enough to help us, and we weren't even staying there! Or go the other way and stay at Open Gate (a short walk out of town, towards Amalfi), a lovely more-B&B-type of place with fabulous staff and food. In general, look for family-run hotels... where the family is actually there. (And don't be swayed by "great view"; just about every hotel on the Amalfi Coast has one!)

Room Tip: Stay at a different hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Steve T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2011

The room and hotel are in a great spot. We look the Marozzi bus from Rome and it was very close to the stop (always a plus with luggage). No steps to climb etc.
The room was nice : we had a quadruple with one double and 2 twin beds. Balcony with a fantastic view of the coastline and Praiano. Loved sitting out here at night with a book hearing the church bells mark time.
Breakfast is continental, good coffee. Will bring it to yhe our room if requested.
Wifi is paid and available in public areas (or strangely in the doorway of our bathroom:)
We thought it was interesting that the AC is only on from 4pm to 8am. Had visions of an afternoon siesta (we arrived in a heat wave) that would have been much better with a working AC>
Reception on front desk was nice: printed boarding passes for us etc. but found her advice a little vague at times esp around bus stops in Positano: she told us they are all close by (in fact they are very far!)
Went to Positano by the Flavia Gioia bus much less crowded than the SITA.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EverRoamin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Praiano hotels
0.5 mi away
Hotel Locanda Costa Diva
0.2 mi away
Hotel Tramonto d'Oro
Hotel Tramonto d'Oro
#5 of 20 in Praiano
4.5 of 5 bubbles 799 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Margherita
Hotel Margherita
#2 of 20 in Praiano
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,357 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Holiday
Hotel Holiday
#13 of 20 in Praiano
4.0 of 5 bubbles 281 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Torre Saracena
Hotel Torre Saracena
#9 of 20 in Praiano
4.5 of 5 bubbles 456 reviews
0.6 mi away
Grand Hotel Tritone
Grand Hotel Tritone
#7 of 20 in Praiano
4.5 of 5 bubbles 543 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Il Pino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Il Pino

Property: Hotel Il Pino
Address: Via Gennaro Capriglione 13, 84010 Praiano, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Praiano
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#10 Family Hotel in Praiano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Il Pino 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In a natural scenery of enchanting beauty in the heart of the Amalfi Coast, not too far from Amalfi (km. 8) and Positano (km. 4), is hotel "Il Pino". The hotel has a modern and famous restaurant, with terraces on the sea, that offers local and international dishes. Of recent construction, endowed with all the comforts, our rooms guarantee a pleasant and restful stay between the green of the coast and the blue of the sea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Jet2Holidays , Expedia, Hotel.de, LoveHolidays, HostelWorld, Priceline, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, HRS, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Il Pino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Il Pino Praiano
Hotel Il Pino Praiano, Amalfi Coast, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing