We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect spot to visit the Amalfi Coast”
Review of Open Gate

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Open Gate
Ranked #9 of 20 Hotels in Praiano
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 October 2013 via mobile

We loved the charm and character of this pretty family-run hotel. A lovely feature was the terrace dining across the crazy winding coastal road that is a major feature of the Amalfi Coast. The sea views from the terrace and indeed all rooms are spectacular. Sitting out on our own balcony watching the sun go down over the sea was quite magical.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MarGoNewZealand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (247)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

79 - 85 of 247 reviews

Reviewed 3 October 2013

The Trip Advisor reviews for the Open Gate swung it for me, and I'm glad they did. Just about anywhere on the Amalfi coast will have stunning views, but not all the hotels will have the same service as the Open Gate. The hotel is family run so all the staff have a commitment to providing a more than adequate service to their guests.
First things first, This is not a four star establishment, no pool, no sauna, no lift.
What does it have have?
Cleanliness.
Fair sized rooms with excellent vies of the coast
Decent food at affordable prices.
Free parking.
And the best part; all the staff speak English and are extremely helpful. They will arrange trips, suggest drives, (there are other roads besides the often mentioned coast road) and walks. In fact I believe that they really go the extra mile to help their guests enjoy their time on the Amalfi coast.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank llionellis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2013

We stayed 3 nights in Open Gate hotel in Praiano.We have only good things to say about this hotel.First, the people who run the hotel. This is a marvelous family with Stefania and her aunt and some other members of the family which welcomed us so nicely, with so much patience and always with a smile and good will to help in any situation, even when you could see that they are busy, because they run the hotel all by themselves.This is the kind of hotel that I will always wish to be a guest in.The rooms are simply furnished but very clean, from the balcony there's a beautiful view of the see, breakfast is Italian, good and full and above all is the restaurant of the hotel.Excellant pastas, fish, risotto, sea food, cakes, everything in high level of cooking, nice presentation, a real chef restaurant, maybe the best food we ate in Italy this visit. Thank you Stefania for making our stay in your hotel so good, and thanks to all the staff.
We shall recommend your hotel to other people and definitely wish to come again.

Room Tip: I think all the rooms are similar, sort of countryside, I don't have recommendation of a special...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pocci
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2013

The rooms look out over the sea, the outdoor restaurant tables are on e opposite side of the road overlooking the sea. Truly magical with the full moon reflecting on the water. The rooms are pleasant and clean and the hostess is polite. However the hotel is really secondary to the breath taking views and dinner by the sea.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kelvin_and_Jan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2013

We are a family of four and stayed here in August. The hotel is well run by friendly and welcoming staff. Our family room was spacious and clean with marvelous views and efficient air conditioning.
There was a good selection for breakfast and we dined 2 nights out of 3. The food was good quality and the service excellent.
Parking was free and available, if a little cramped!
We walked into Praiano which took 15 minutes where there is a good choice of restaurants.

Room Tip: Some rooms have larger balconies, ours did not but it was larger than we had expected. All rooms ar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Family_Trippers2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2013

Once again, the TA reviews are absolutely correct. The family at Open Gate are wonderful, kind and accomodating people. Our stay was superb.

My husband & I stayed here for 2 nights in June and wished we could have stayed longer. The location was perfect, the room was clean and spacious & the views are simply amazing. We arrived on the last bus to Praiano, very close to 10pm and the family quickly checked us in and encouraged us to come to the restaurant at our convenience for dinner. It was late and they were so kind and patient with us as we were tired and hungry.

The restaurant was wonderful. The brick oven pizza was excellent & the kind man making the pizza was a joy to watch. Breakfast was a typical Itialian selection. If you want to order an omlet or American breakfast they do have that option. However, their pastries are very good & you're in Italy for heaven's sake.....eat like the Italian! The cafe was very good. The prices are remarkably affordable for the region....don't let this scare you off.

Since our time in Praiano was limited, we asked for their suggestions on how to spend our time. They suggested we stay close and explore the nearby marina. It was a wonderful suggestion and gave us a great feel for the local culture. We are hoping to return someday and if we are able, we will DEFINITELY be staying at Open Gate.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SMM_052013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2013

Amalfi Coast in general is stunning. It's a trip I will NEVER forget. Open Gate definitely provided a wonderful stay for us for our 4 nights in Amalfi.

The rooms are spacious and feature doors that swing open to the enchanting Mediterranean Sea. We ate at the Open Gate twice for lunch and every day for breakfast. Although breakfast wasn't stellar, all the food for lunch was delicious.

Pasquale and Stefania are excellent people. The father, Gennaro, is a character and made my girlfriend and I feel welcome even more. They were accommodating and a very friendly family.

The prices are spectacular, the views are breath taking, and it's right between main town Praiano (to the right) and the beach, club, and artist tower to the left.

Don't miss this place... I will return here someday!

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FoodObserver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Praiano hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Margherita
Hotel Margherita
#2 of 20 in Praiano
1,570 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Locanda Costa Diva
0.5 mi away
Hotel Tramonto d'Oro
Hotel Tramonto d'Oro
#6 of 20 in Praiano
859 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Alfonso a Mare
Hotel Alfonso a Mare
#17 of 20 in Praiano
138 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Pellegrino
Hotel Pellegrino
#1 of 20 in Praiano
746 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Onda Verde
Hotel Onda Verde
#4 of 20 in Praiano
1,087 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Open Gate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Open Gate

Address: Via Roma 52, 84010 Praiano, Italy
Region: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Praiano
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Praiano
#10 Romantic Hotel in Praiano
Price Range: £89 - £117 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Open Gate 2*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Open Gate reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Open Gate Praiano, Amalfi Coast, Italy
Open Gate Hotel Praiano

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing