We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Loved it.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Casa Angelina

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Casa Angelina
Ranked #3 of 20 Hotels in Praiano
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Loved it.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2011

Amazing hotel, amazing staff, amazing food and service and we had a beautiful sea view room. Definitely recommend this hotel if you have the money to spend.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank catherine__1985_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

760 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    620
    107
    23
    9
    1
See reviews for
42
567
8
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (105)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
37 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2011

My BF and I spent 5 days and 4 nights at this modern, chic yet down to earth hotel. The grounds are very well maintained and the staff was very friendly, especially the ladies who worked by the pool area during the day. The pool is small but perfect for cooling off. We walked to the beach one day but preferred to lay out by the pool. Even though there are only 12 or so lounge chairs by the pool we never really had a problem getting one and if it was full at a certain time, we would lay out in our balcony until chairs were freed up.
I loved the all white room decor and our balcony that looked out into the beautiful water. The bathrooms is huge and very clean and modern. My only issue was that sometimes we seemed so very close to our next door neighbors when I was laying out on our balcony although they expertly placed some high potted flowers to separate the balconies.
My bf was even able to use the gym every morning and one day ran up and down the stairs to the beach as his workout. He said the gym was small but clean and he always came back to the room with fresh fruit. The front desk was always helpful, there is a free car service to Positano we used one day...try the almond milk in the reception area, it was delicious! They have a nice little selection of books to "borrow" and I left mine there for others to enjoy. The art all around, mostly blown glass, is strange but interesting. We like the dressers with hands as the knobs and shoes as the stands.
After being a little scared the first night to "walk to town" in the dark for our first dinner, it was actually very easy with helpful signs along the way. We walked to town every day. At night I would have like to have my small keychain flashlight but really its not necessary. The steps can be steep and tricky so flip flops or flats are a must! At first it seemed strange to walk through private residences but the local didn't seem to mind. Make sure to admire the beautiful lemon and grapes all around! The only ATM is in town. Please see my other reviews for some fantastic restaurants we tried during our trip.
We had the unfortunate incident of being at the resort when there was an emergency situation with a sick guest. The staff was very professional and though acted quickly to help her, it was not disruptive to the guests. There was an air of sadness for the guest's fate as the layout of Praiano just does not allow for easy access to emergency care but again, it was handled very professionally.
The only real downside of this hotel was the a la carte restaurant upstairs . The staff was wonderful but it was actual one of our least favorite meals. Nothing was very exceptional or fresh as our other meals in Praiano and Positano or even Rome. While the singer in the outside dining area was a nice touch, we did ask to move inside as I felt that it was too loud to be able to hear my bf. The lunch menu by the pool was simple but better. A little on the pricey side but nothing out of the ordinary for this class of resort. The club sandwich is HUGE and a must try. I had the spinach salad a lot. Ask to try the fresh olives while by the pool. They were the best I have ever tasted! Bottled water was crazy expensive at 6 Euros a bottle but if we were a little smarter we would have stocked up on water while in town where it was less than 2 euros for a huge bottle. In town are also small mom and pop grocery shops where you can get delicious and fresh prosciutto and mozzarella sandwiches on ciabatta bread for less than 6 euros each. We found it our last day and wished we had found them sooner!
We enjoyed having cocktails at the end of the night in the pool area. The bartender was very friendly and never rushed us. It was quiet and serene every night. I wish there had been more English channels than BBC. even though we watched little tv, its a little depressing to hear the same sad news over and over again.
This was hands down one of the most beautiful and romantic places we have stayed. You can't help but feel relaxed and happy in such a serene environment. I would highly recommend for couples for a romantic getaway! We were very sad to leave and hope to come back one day!

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank frannypants1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2011

Great view, but not they push their restaurant on you, the wifi works sparingly, it's a long 200 steps to the beach, and certain things don't work in the room like the bed lights. It's a modern hip hotel, though.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sasadango
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2011

Perfect location. Nice food and pool. Great location. Amazing views. Great fitness with a professional trainer. A must stay.

Room Tip: Get a sea view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RosaT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
new york, NY
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2011

Gorgeous modern hotel- lovely l'occitane products in bathroom- all white rooms were immaculate and perfect after a day at the beach. There is no "beach" its rocky- so small children may not be able to handle it. Food was great at the hotel restaurant for lunch. Dinner was a little pretentious (menu just for the bottled water choice). The views on the website are absolutely accurate. Praiano was gorgeous. one note- the walk down to the beach is quite a hike. It is not easy to go up and down! Lovely fitness center for such a small hotel. Not expected- next time would make sure to use it more

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank christiebeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Annapolis, Maryland
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2011

Nice location looking at Positano- very good food at local seafood restaurant on the water above the beach. Take advantage of the water taxi to take you to dinner- lovely way to travel.
A nice hotel with a clean, modern design.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SHDLL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2011

We had such a wonderful time at Casa Angelina, they took such great care of us. We went on our honeymoon and were nervous as the original hotel we had booked was not opening for the season, so we went to Casa Angelina last minute. We couldnt have been more happy with fate taking a hand in our destination, the staff were so welcoming, we had a bottle of champagne and fruit as a congratulations on our first night there.

Our room was spacious, clean and we had an amazing balcony overlooking the ocean with a view of Positano. Everything is certainly white! But we loved it, it is modern, sleek and very chic.

We took advice from other reviews posted here and did the boat trip to Capri, absolutely worth doing, but remember to wear your bikini, they stop on the way to go swimming. We also had a driver take us to Pompeii and to Ravello, they were really nice high end cars and the drivers were very safe on the twisty turning roads of the Amalfi Coast, I would highly recommend doing that.

For dinner we climbed the 100 steps to Praiano every evening, it felt like penance for all the pasta and pizza we ate! Il Pino is a real find, highly recommend that restaurant. There is an adorable little wine bar that opens out onto the street, the owner gave us complimentary appetizers with our wine, it was a great way to start or end an evening. We ate out in Positano a few evenings and found the good in Praiano to be better.

I would highly recommend this hotel for a romantic Italian experience, we will be back!

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CCLNYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Praiano
3.9 mi away
Santa Caterina Hotel
Santa Caterina Hotel
#1 of 29 in Amalfi
5.0 of 5 bubbles 907 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Margherita
Hotel Margherita
#2 of 20 in Praiano
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,298 reviews
2.9 mi away
Monastero Santa Rosa Hotel & Spa
Monastero Santa Rosa Hotel & Spa
#1 of 5 in Conca dei Marini
5.0 of 5 bubbles 353 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
NH Collection Grand Hotel Convento di Amalfi
1.1 mi away
Il San Pietro di Positano
Il San Pietro di Positano
#3 of 39 in Positano
4.5 of 5 bubbles 751 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Tramonto d'Oro
Hotel Tramonto d'Oro
#5 of 20 in Praiano
4.5 of 5 bubbles 783 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Angelina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Angelina

Property: Casa Angelina
Address: Via Gennaro Capriglione 147, 84010 Praiano, Italy
Region: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Praiano
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Praiano
#2 Luxury Hotel in Praiano
#4 Romantic Hotel in Praiano
#11 Family Hotel in Praiano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Casa Angelina 5*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Barefoot Luxury on Italy's Amalfi Coast ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, TravelUp and Priceline so you can book your Casa Angelina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Angelina Hotel Praiano
Casa Angelina Praiano, Amalfi Coast, Italy
Hotel Casa Angelina

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing