We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A joy for the eye & barefoot luxury!”
Review of Casa Angelina

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Casa Angelina
Ranked #3 of 20 Hotels in Praiano
Certificate of Excellence
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A joy for the eye & barefoot luxury!”
Reviewed 4 April 2013

This Hotel is quite a unique experience - it have never seen anything like it. The hotel itself is a very modern building on to the side of the mountain on the Amalfi coast. Everything is white and in amazing shape, clean and beautiful. Lots of designs and a very scandinavian design feel to the place. The surroundings are stunning and the view to die for. Every window you look through is like a painting. It is in a very private spot and hard to see from the road (a very good thing in the busy tourist season).
We went there to look for wedding venues and was stunned to find this beautiful place. Whether it is for a your dream honeymoon or wedding this place is simply the best!
The staff is amazing and very friendly. The feel of the place is high end luxury but without being stuffy... real barefoot luxury! Oh yes.. and the scent... well you just have to go there and see for yourself.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SandraabergTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

781 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    638
    110
    23
    9
    1
See reviews for
43
582
8
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (109)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Prague, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
36 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 March 2013

We were looking for a unique hotel at the Amalfi coast. And we found it. I never forget the delicate ubiquitous scent, even today I remember it. We were amazed by the atentive service and warm modern decor, magnificent views on the sea. Quite difficult to describe.

If you exepect white sandy beaches, do not visit Amalfi coast. You have to spend some energy steping down to the sea side and back. The hotel though is offering nice, little pool to refresh.
Do not waste time by driving around, simply ask for a limo with the driver who will bring you anywhere you wish - why not Ravello?

We stayed in Casa Angelina for one week and never felt bored. Unforgettable aura - unforgettable experience - unforgettable hotel. We would love to come back.

Room Tip: all rooms are facing the sea, only ask what size you wish. We had large french window even in the ba...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mxn399
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 March 2013

My daughter (18) and I stayed at the hotel a while back, for one week, during the summer. If you are looking for an experience, this is the hotel for you. If you are looking for a large american style hotel, it's not. Yes, it's all white and pristine but that allows the beauty of the area to shine through. The staff are superb, attentive but not in your face. Shuttle to and from Positano, sometimes in their little mini bus or their mercedes... On arrival we had cocktails, a tour of the hotel, while the porter took our bags to the room. Prosecco and fresh fruit in our room. The room was a fine size, nice balcony. But we were out mostly so didn't matter. The pool was a bit small but as the weather was hot we preferred to walk down the 200 or so steps to the beach, which was cooler, plenty of umbrellas & recliners there. The breakfast was great, plenty of variety and a chef there to make you anything you wanted. We also ate at the hotel's upstairs terrace restaurant quite a few nights, and it was amazing. Hotel food typically "not the best" but here it was fabulous, so fresh, beautifully cooked and presented, more modern italian cuisine, which we loved and their wine list is quite impressive. If I had young children I wouldn't stay at the hotel, although there were 2 young children staying there and very well catered for. Personally, if I had young children I wouldn't take them to Positano, too hilly, too crowded. After our holiday I felt so refreshed on our flight back to NYC!!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank kh7009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 December 2012

My husband and I enjoyed an excellent four night stay at Casa Angelina at the beginning of November. The weather was a bit rainy, but we didn't mind because the staff had upgraded us to a lovely romantic room with a covered balcony that had an amazing view of Positano and Capri in the distance. We spent afternoons relaxing on the balcony and enjoying a bottle of wine, then wandering up the stairs into Praiano for an authentic Italian lunch/dinner. Praiano is a tiny fisherman's town, and the people are so friendly and welcoming. We had some delicious pizza and pasta meals (La Strada, La Brace, Trattoria San Gennaro). However, the main attraction is Positano which is a short 15-20 min drive from the hotel (they offer regular shuttles). We took the hotel shuttle in to Positano for dinner one night, but were happy to be staying in Praiano where it was less touristy.

Casa Angelina is a beautiful hotel with amazing views and amenities, but my favorite part was the warm and welcoming staff. Everyone who worked there was very sincere, without a trace of pretension. For a high-end hotel, this is such a refreshing quality. We thoroughly enjoyed our dinner at the hotel's rooftop restaurant, and the breakfast buffet was amazing. They have an exceptional pastry chef and every delicacy we tried was memorable.

During our stay, we had one sunny day where we relaxed by the outdoor pool (very chilly water, but my husband did a few laps). During the evenings, we enjoyed the small indoor pool in the fitness center. There is also a nice (but steep) walk down to the beach. It was closed in November and much too rocky to swim, but I expect it's very pleasant in the summer.

Overall, our stay was excellent and we would recommend this hotel to our friends. It may not be for everyone (especially if you don't like the minimalist decor or smallish rooms). However, it's perfect for a romantic get-away where you just want to relax and enjoy time with your sweetheart--the views and service can't be beat.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Christy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
38 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 November 2012 via mobile

We were here for 1 night in the off season a couple weeks before closing for the year. We were extremely impressed by the attentive service and unusual, yet interesting decor. We were greeted by name and given a terrific tour of the hotel. They called to a restaurant for us for a late lunch, arranged for a off-time shuttle for us to Positano and even gave us their personal ibuprofen when what they had in stock was not sufficient. I realize we were not here at a busy time- but everyone on staff went out of their way to ensure we were taken care of. We often stay at Ritz Carltons and are staying at the St Regis in Rome on this trip- so we expect a certain level of service.

We stayed in a Romantic Sea view room. The all white decor really added to the focus on what is outside. It was an unusual warm November day and our room was warm- but opening the door to the sea breezes and sounds was both effective and relaxing. The bathroom is small yet clean and modern. The sink did not have enough room for all my cosmetics but there was a small table for added space.

The hotel has a ton of led lighting -star lighting in the bar and elevators is very cool - and expensive to put in. The glass enclosed front elevator is amazing. The room lighting is a bit much - 1the over the bed light actually lights the entire room. The entrance lights when you enter the room are too bright and very hot. The recessed lighting around the edge of the room is quite nice. Seems like there is 3x the lighting necessary for the space. The hotel renovators must have stock in a lighting co. With the large windows, sea reflection and fabulous over all natural light - seems strange! I am just being picky now since I am in business!

The roof top restaurant was terrific! All courses were multi-layered and the menu was interesting. Don't miss the Neapolitan-style tune appetizer - but definitely avoid the over priced bottled water menu. Without that, it was a perfect meal! Finally, portions in Italy that were not overwhelming! Wine list was very good and reasonable. In fact, our meal with a bottle of wine, apps and entree was 127 euros - extremely reasonable for the food choices and quality.

This is a very modern gorgeous hotel - the modern, artsy furnishings are truly distinctive and I completely agree with the reviewer who stated you felt you were a guest in a billionaire 's home.

That said, this is not a choice for children. Actually, the Amalfi coast is not a destination for children under 12. Too many racing drivers and cliffs! For a romantic trip for a couple or a group of couples or older children it will be very memorable. With young kids, stick to Disney or even Club Med!

Ciao!

Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Michelle B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nyc
Level Contributor
83 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 November 2012

i have to say we went a while ago but it occurs to me that I never wrote a review so here is our take... we had a deluxe sea view with a huge balcony. well - the room is so small it is ridiculous - the balcony is huge but you have no privacy as you are only separated by your next door neighbor by tiny plantings in pots. We were on the top floor - right under the dining room. OMG - it was so noisy. They have no soundproofing in that hotel. Yes, everything is white. Yes, they have murano glass sculptures (many were chipped). Yes, most people who work there were nice - but Praiano is really a tiny town that you do not need to stay in - and that hotel is definitely not one we will go back to again. We were so disappointed that we never used the travel agent who recommended it again.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lazydaysNyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
188 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 October 2012

This hotel was one of the highlights of our trip - super hip design, staff that were helpful and happy despite it being the end of the season, excellent kitchen and stunning views you never tire of. Expensive but worth it.

Room Tip: we had the least expensive room which was smallish.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MVFM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Praiano
3.9 mi away
Santa Caterina Hotel
Santa Caterina Hotel
#1 of 29 in Amalfi
5.0 of 5 bubbles 949 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Margherita
Hotel Margherita
#2 of 20 in Praiano
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,357 reviews
2.9 mi away
Monastero Santa Rosa Hotel & Spa
Monastero Santa Rosa Hotel & Spa
#1 of 5 in Conca dei Marini
5.0 of 5 bubbles 371 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Tramonto d'Oro
Hotel Tramonto d'Oro
#5 of 20 in Praiano
4.5 of 5 bubbles 799 reviews
1.1 mi away
Il San Pietro di Positano
Il San Pietro di Positano
#1 of 39 in Positano
4.5 of 5 bubbles 802 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Pellegrino
Hotel Pellegrino
#1 of 20 in Praiano
5.0 of 5 bubbles 674 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Angelina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Angelina

Property: Casa Angelina
Address: Via Gennaro Capriglione 147, 84010 Praiano, Italy
Region: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Praiano
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Praiano
#2 Luxury Hotel in Praiano
#4 Romantic Hotel in Praiano
#11 Family Hotel in Praiano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Casa Angelina 5*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Barefoot Luxury on Italy's Amalfi Coast ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, MrandMrsSmith, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Ebookers, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HRS so you can book your Casa Angelina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Angelina Hotel Praiano
Casa Angelina Praiano, Amalfi Coast, Italy
Hotel Casa Angelina

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing