We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stylish boutique hotel with great views”
Review of Casa Angelina

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Casa Angelina
Ranked #4 of 19 Hotels in Praiano
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
55 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
“Stylish boutique hotel with great views”
Reviewed 29 September 2013

We spent two nights at this stylish boutique hotel on a four-destination tour of the coast. Casa Angelina occupies a gorgeous setting, nestling into the cliffs one bay beyond Positano and accessed via a precarious zigzag driveway below the main road. The position is ideal - there's a regular 5-minute shuttle to and from Positano so you can take full advantage of that town's bustling labyrinth of shops and restaurants but then escape back to the calm tranquility of the hotel. Casa Angelina's design and decor is modishly handsome - stark white minimalist rooms offset by warm wood floors in the common parts and gloriously quirky Murano glass sculptures throughout, even perched on ledges on the outside of the building. Plus a small but funky lift lit by constantly changing multi-coloured bulbs. Staff are all dressed like Thai masseurs, in matching cool grey linen long-shirts and loose trousers. Our corner terrace bedroom was a little smaller than some of the others, but had the advantage of a larger bathroom with its own views of Positano and out over the bay. (Most other rooms have an internal bathroom).

Space is at something of a premium here, so be prepared for the very pleasant but slightly cramped sun terrace and its equally space-challenged pool - three or four strokes will get you from one end to the other. Food was excellent - probably the best overall of any of the four hotels we visited. Don't be put off by the restaurant's low-key decor and pretentious menu (including a separate menu of bottled waters, offering ten or more different choices, including one Swarovski-encrusted bottle priced at E130). Despite slightly nervous service, our dinner was extremely good (my tempura starter was among the best and crispest I've ever tasted, in Japan or anywhere else). Breakfast the following morning was also excellent, with an imaginative and expansive selection of mouth-watering buffet items. A light lunch in the bar was also very good indeed.

When you're not in shopping in Positano or relaxing in the hotel, make sure you take the opportunity to have a wander around Praiano itself. On our second night we had a very pleasant but more rustic meal in local restaurant Il Pino, a short walk from the hotel through an enchanting maze of alleys and steep stairways, accessed via the hotel's back door. (Take a torch and mind your step!). The town was gearing up for the local saint's festival day so on our way back to the hotel after dinner we were able to enjoy an open-air classical concert and fireworks in the charming square in front of Praiano's little church, alongside villagers of all ages from 8 to 80.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank luckythree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

791 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    646
    112
    23
    9
    1
See reviews for
44
589
8
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (114)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Near Edinburgh
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 September 2013

We ended up staying here because our first choice was fully booked, but
how fortunate did that turn out to be for us!

This hotel is truly amazing! We read the reviews and thought it sounded
good, but the reviews really don't begin to convey how good it really is.
You really need to visit, to truly experience that.

The attention to detail, thoughtfulness and initiative of the staff, is
something I have never experienced in any other hotel of this standard I
have stayed in, anywhere in the world. One example - I managed to 'loose'
my sunglasses when we visited Positano one evening(the hotel offers a free
shuttle service hourly). When we enquired at reception, the said to 'leave
it with them'. Not only did the reception staff manage to locate them, but
they also had them delivered back to the hotel! Another example - it was
my birthday when we stayed, something my husband mentioned at the time of
booking. We came back to our room on the first afternoon to find a half
bottle of champagne, a bowl of fruit and a deliscious birthday cake!

The hotel is spotlessly clean and maintained to an extremely high standard
throughout. The food is amazing and the views over to Positano and beyond,
from the roof top restaurant are truly breathtaking.

The beach bar located down 200 steps below the hotel is definately worth a
visit. There is a beautiful area for swimming in the sea and the food is
delicious, simple Italian.

We will definately be back for more pampering and extreme relaxation!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Alison V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2013

The Casa Angelina is everything you see on their web site. The cleanliness is beyond anything I have experienced. The service is first class. The views are spectacular. The rooms are spacious and the decor is modern and all white. The beds are comfortable. The bathroom is a comfortable size. The cost is pricy but you are getting a first class facility. The drive to Pariano is challenging and the driveway to the the hotel is narrow and could be classified as scary. It is a steep downhill with challenging turns. You can walk to the toen of Pariano and the they have a free shuttle to Positano. It is equiped with a small gym, suana, indoor pool and out door pool. Spacious sitting areas and a small bar. The food is high end with an expansive wine list. A very romatic setting.

Room Tip: Pay the extra for a sea side balcony and view. It is spectacular.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2013

I've stayed in a few hotels of this type around the world and Casa Angelina was by far the best. We spent three nights in a Canopy room, with views of Positano and the dramatic cliffs of the coast. If you're wondering whether to stay this far from Positano don't worry, Casa Angelina is much more sophisticated, quiet and peaceful. You can always visit Positano with the free shuttle the hotel provides.

The staff at both the front desk and restaurant are incredible and can attend to your every need. The beach club in particular is spectacular... what a view! We hired through a boat through the hotel and drove along the coast, visiting secret coves and little beach bars.... something we highly recommend. The hotel can recommend some excellent restaurants nearby.. we visited a place with the best lobster spaghetti 50m from the hotel (can't remember the name) and it was the best pasta I've ever had!!

Unforgettable experience, we'll definitely we back (tomorrow, please!?).

Room Tip: It has to be a room with a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank georgie1000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 September 2013 via mobile

We had a four night stay during our honeymoon. Such a delight!! Modern hotel, perhaps a bit too modern/stark white wall and furniture design, but the simplicity allows your eyes and mind to focus on the beautiful natural landscape beaming through the expansive windows overlooking the coast and Positano from the main floor of the hotel and elevator (what a ride). The service was absolutely phenomenal!! Besides taking care to clean the room/freshen up based on when you leave the hotel, to delivering me a surprise birthday cake, to setting up flowers, candle and rose pedals with swan shaped towels one night, to coordinating activities and restaurants, to even helping hunt down my phone (lost on the public bud from Amalfi back to the hotel). The only downside is also the upside- distant from Positano, requiring a shuttle (they offer free of charge) but for the average American the drop off (especially at night) location on the side of the coastal highway is quite frightening. Also walking into Praiano from the hotel required about 70 steps into town, but then again frightening walk on the coastal highway. The major downside was the bed, which is firm and not comfortable. Breakfast was excellent but expensive- 25€ pp, but worth it on most days. We hope to come back- what a delightful stop for us.

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Michael K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bolton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 September 2013

We have just spent five nights at the Casa Angelino in Praiano. What a magnificent hotel with fantastic views. All the staff were very friendly and polite. There is a pacifying white theme throughout the hotel with some amazing glass sculptures. WiFi is freely available. There is an indoor and outdoor dining area and the pool area has recliners and a dining area and bar and towels are provided. Throughout the hotel there are wonderful views accross the bay to Capri & Positano. There is plenty sailing and boating activity throughout the day. The room was fantastic and very clean. The first night we received a complimentary bottle of bubbly & they put pettles in the bath and had lit a candle when we returned after dinner. There were two recliners on the balcony. The food at the hotel was excellent with a good variety. The service was first class. We had an eveing meal at La Strada & La Braca restuarants, both with authentic local dishes and great views over the bay. The highlight of the trip was when i proposed down on the beach below the hotel. Picoletto the waiter was an absolute beaut and sent over some champaigne. The is a great place to be during the day as they have music a bar and you can order food. The water is very clear and I would advise on taking some goggles to look at the fish below. You can also hire a rubber duck which we did and we travelled along the coast and past Positano to see the wonderful views of the cliffs and bays. We drove along the coast past Amalfi to Salerno and back. The views were awesome with quaint villages, but beware the roads are very narrow and windy. Not sure how we did not crash as most of the vehicles have a dent in both bumpers. There are plenty af stalls on the side selling chillies and lemons and plenty of shops with ceramic wares. On our last day we go a free shuttle to Positano and walked down the whitewashed alleys to the beach. There are some wonderful shops and the views are great. Down at the beach we hired a water taxi to a beach restuarant in one of the coves between Positano and Praiano called Da Adolfo. This was fantastic especially the muscles and Jeseppe the waiter was great. You will have to taste the lemoncello - its marvellous.
All in all we had a fantastic trip and were sorry to leave but happily engaged. Highly recommend this to anyone.

Room Tip: Don't drive there - get a taxi.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PRayment
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JOHANNESBURG
Level Contributor
59 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 September 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for a full week having an suite with the most enormous balcony over looking the oceon towards Capri ! The views are out of this world as is the service and food. Did find the swimming pool to be a bit small and not enough loungers . I would stay there again Priano is much more private and a stone through from busy Pasitano and Amalfi stunning stunning hotel

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SUESUEJOHANNESBURG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Praiano
3.9 mi away
Santa Caterina Hotel
Santa Caterina Hotel
#1 of 29 in Amalfi
967 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Margherita
Hotel Margherita
#3 of 19 in Praiano
1,393 reviews
2.9 mi away
Monastero Santa Rosa Hotel & Spa
Monastero Santa Rosa Hotel & Spa
#1 of 5 in Conca dei Marini
378 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Tramonto d'Oro
Hotel Tramonto d'Oro
#5 of 19 in Praiano
809 reviews
4.2 mi away
NH Collection Grand Hotel Convento di Amalfi
0.3 mi away
Grand Hotel Tritone
Grand Hotel Tritone
#7 of 19 in Praiano
574 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Angelina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Angelina

Property: Casa Angelina
Address: Via Gennaro Capriglione 147, 84010 Praiano, Italy
Region: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Praiano
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Praiano
#2 Luxury Hotel in Praiano
#4 Romantic Hotel in Praiano
#11 Family Hotel in Praiano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Casa Angelina 5*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Barefoot Luxury on Italy's Amalfi Coast ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, MrandMrsSmith, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Prestigia, Priceline, Odigeo, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Casa Angelina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Angelina Hotel Praiano
Casa Angelina Praiano, Amalfi Coast, Italy
Hotel Casa Angelina

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing