We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Gorgeous, hidden gem of the Amalfi Coast: pros and cons.”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Casa Angelina

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Casa Angelina
Ranked #4 of 20 Hotels in Praiano
Certificate of Excellence
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
86 reviews
86 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 694 helpful votes
“Gorgeous, hidden gem of the Amalfi Coast: pros and cons.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2014

Let me introduce myself as a seasoned traveller who has stayed in some of the most luxurious hotels of the world (Aman, Four Seasons, Banyan tree, Rosewood, Como, to name a few). When travelling, I like to pick my hotels by using websites such as Kiwicollection, Conde Nast magazine, Travel & Leisure (see my other reviews). So I only like the best of the best. I picked Casa Angelina a choice for a short break, mainly because of its heigh Kiwicollection score and because I love the Amalfo coast. I uploaded a lot of photos here & made a youtube clip as well to give you an idea of what to expect: http://theluxurytravelexpert.com/2014/04/23/hotel-review-casa-angelina-hidden-gem-of-the-amalfi-coast-italy/

PROS & THINGS I LIKED:

- It’s hard to imagine a more majestic location than the one of Casa Angelina in the small village of Praiano, perched on the Amalfi coastal cliffs between towering mountains and the deep blue Mediterranean sea. From almost every corner of the hotel, the ocean view spreads out before you like an azure blanket, disturbed only by the island bumps of Capri and Li Galli into the horizon. This has to be one of the best views on the Amalfi coast because Praiano is located on a rocky outcrop allowing glorious views on the coastline itself towards the romantic village of Positano.

- Casa Angelina is oriented toward the west, meaning that you will enjoy the evening sun until it disappears behind the mountains about 20 minutes before sunset (something that is not the case with most hotels at Ravello or Positano that are in the shade starting late afternoon).

- With its white, minimal and monochrome interiors, Casa Angelina’s modern design is a tasteful alternative for its classic Italian environments, where most other luxury hotels have a traditional 19th-century style. The white hotel interiors contrast with the bright colors of contemporary art including Murano glass specialties, bronze sculptures, and original oil paintings dotted around the communal areas.

- Service is simply phenomenal! The staff and management are highly skilled and offer the best service you could wish for (on pair with the service you would expect at, let’s say, an Aman resort). Whether it is near the pool, at the restaurant or in the bar, you will be served with a smile and discrete professionalism.

- The rooms and suites are exquisitely contemporary, the clean lines and white furnishing offsetting the amazing views of the Gulf of Salerno and the Amalfi Coast itself. Beds are comfortable and shrouded in soft white cotton sheets. All bedrooms have flat-screen TVs and free internet access. Bathrooms are fully equipped and come with luxurious l’Occitane toiletries.

- After a (half) day of sightseeing, you can dip your toes into the Mediterranean Sea in the private, tranquil and picturesque cove of La Gavitella (with a small beach and rocky terrace), which is accessed by a private glass elevator and 200 steps. This is a huge advantage over many other grand hotels of the Amalfi coast, which mostly don’t have immediate access to the Mediterranean Sea.

- Casa Angelina has two small pools. Inside the hotel, in the small gym, a heated hydrotherapy pool bubbles away under a constellation of fibre optics on the ceilings. Out on the decked terrace, a sun-warmed counter-current pool is surrounded by white sunloungers and parasols (with views to die for).

- The food is one of thé highlights at Casa Angelina (simply the best hotel food that I ever had). The signature restaurant, Un Piano nel Cielo (‘a floor in the sky’) has a top-floor terrace with yet more amazing views of the Amalfi coast. The indoor area is fitted with wall-spanning coast-facing windows, so you can still admire the vista. The food, as well as its presentation, is simply fabulous and the service incredible. Breakfast buffet is also displayed in Un Piano nel Cielo and is another highlight with a very diverse breakfast spread (on pair and even out-classing buffet breakfasts served at the most luxurious hotel brands in the world).

- Children under 12 years of age are not allowed, so tranquility is guaranteed.

- During the morning and evening hours, the hotel offers frequent shuttle service to Positano (6 km away), which needs to be booked in advance. This is a huge advantage given the shortage of parking space at Positano.

CONS & THINGS TO KNOW:

CONS & THINGS TO KNOW

The hotel has it almost all right, but there are some minor issues that you need to be aware of.

- The hotel is not well-marked along the road in Praiano (when you come from Positano, the turnoff is just before the tunnel to the right). Some extra signs along the main road would be helpful.

- The white, minimalistic design may not fit everybody’s taste, but this should be a non-issue because of the spectacular surroundings.

- Beds are comfortable but a little on the hard side. They could use a mattress topper.

- Rooms are on the small side, some would use the world “tiny” to describe them. But in the end, that will not matter as you will be overwhelmed by the phenomenal views that embrace you from morning till sunset.

- There is only a limited number of sunloungers near the pool (22 in total), which may be a problem when the hotel is fully occupied. In addition, the sun loungers would be more comfortable with cushions.

Highly recommended!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LuxTravelExpert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

765 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    625
    106
    23
    9
    2
See reviews for
42
572
8
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (105)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
20 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2014

We are fortunate and get to travel frequently. We were very impressed by all aspects of the establishment. Exceptional staff and the rooms while ultra modern are cosy. The gourmet dining room is a bit over the top. The food is good but not spectacular. The "Water List" is a bit pretentious for my liking. Breakfast is outstanding.

Room Tip: Room 207 has large private patio with lounges. No need to leave room for sun or views. A sea view r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Randy F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 April 2014

We stayed here for honeymoon....after landing at Naples and quickly getting out of there...we found ourselves in a beautiful hotel with friendly staff and amazing surroundings! Would go back here in a flash!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Eleanor1111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stratford-upon-Avon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 January 2014

Choosing an hotel for my wife isn't easy but here I scored a lot of points!! We had a sea view, balcony room where she was very happy to sun bathe & I could enjoy the perfect view of Positano & Capri. The room isn't that big but it didn't seem to matter, the white Mediterranean decor made you feel relaxed & on holiday. The staff were very helpful and we could want for nothing. The fascinating sculptures & Murano glass through out made a very interesting space to hang out. The small pool is handy and pleasant to cool off. The small beach down 200 steps wasn't a place to go for us but we did go once as the hotel arrange a private boat for the day to go to Capri which was fabulous. There is an informal bar & restaurant down there too which isn't part of the hotel. The hotel restaurant though is outstanding and we were happy to eat there several nights, michelin quality food with perfect views. Breakfast is also served there and I didn't go a la carte for cooked as they have the finest continental breakfast buffet I have ever had. The hotel provides a day & night shuttle to Positano which was very useful and the hire car wasn't really needed. Highly recommended and hope to go back soon.

Room Tip: Sea view with balcony is a must.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank foodfozz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 December 2013

We stayed here for a few days on our honeymoon and it was just wonderful.
The attention to detail is incredible, the food divine, the hotel tranquil, staff discreet but utterly charming, location fabulous. Pure chilled out romance. Would go back in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jojobm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austria
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 November 2013

Facts
- small high-end Luxury Hotel in Praiano (Amalfi Coast)
- built into the cliffs directly above the sea, stunning view from your room
- excellent breakfast
- great beach club
- reduced, stylish and consistent overall concept
- amazing Suites

Design
Lots of art objects from a collector are part of the whole Hotel, and most of the furniture has been especially produced for Casa Angelina. This results in an impressive and reduced overall style concept, which stays in the background, underlying the overwhelming beauty of nature. Lots of glass, lots of white, every detail has been taken care of.
There are several different room types available, from cosy and chic double rooms to most luxurious Suites. You can also book exclusive and romantic "Cave Rooms", adapted old fisherman's houses which have been built directly into the stone and are even closer to the sea.

Around
Casa Angelina is located in Praiano, which is quite in the middle of the Amalfi Coast and which is one of the more authentic places, among more touristic places like Positano or Amalfi - which are nevertheless definitely worth seeing. I recommend especially Positano, which also has a beautiful beach and Casa Angelina provides a complimentary shuttle service to this nice village.
You can spend a lot of time in the region, going hiking high above the sea, visting Capri and the many other beautiful places. Of course also volcano Vesuv and Pompeji are a muste-see, as well as visiting Naples and trying the best pizza in the world.

Conclusion
When you wake up in the morning and open the curtains your are immediately overwhelmed by the stunning view out of the oversized terrace doors. It seems that your are part of the sea, part of the coast line, part of nature. It's an amazing experience which will accompany you the whole day, and which keeps you smiling... inside and outside. Breakfast is served on a beautiful terrace with delicious local specialities and premium quality dishes. And then the day is yours...
Either relax on the hotel pool, have some drinks or spa treatments or you go out for sight-seeing. Take your time for the little things... Relax and enjoy the moment!
Buy Limoncella & Mozarella di Buffalo. Visit Vivaro Wine Bar in Positano, and meet the great cook Gennaro - who will guarantee a perfect meal, but without a menu... He just asks about your preferences and surprises you with daily changing, superb meals. Enjoy the beach club beneath Casa Angelina with a glass of Aperol Spritz and some Mozarella. And experience life and lifestyle in its purest form!

(heartoflife.cc)

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
5 Thank heartoflife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 November 2013

What a refreshing take on the Amalfi lifestyle! We really enjoyed our stay and thought the hotel was fabulous. The food and service were great- as was the constant supply of almond milk. The hotel even has beach access which really makes it unique. I was also personally impressed by the fitness facilities, which most hotels seem to forget about.
I'd recommend the hotel to anyone looking for a contemporary luxury accommodation on the Amalfi Coast.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank freddycharles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Praiano
3.9 mi away
Santa Caterina Hotel
Santa Caterina Hotel
#1 of 29 in Amalfi
5.0 of 5 bubbles 926 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Margherita
Hotel Margherita
#2 of 20 in Praiano
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,326 reviews
2.9 mi away
Monastero Santa Rosa Hotel & Spa
Monastero Santa Rosa Hotel & Spa
#1 of 5 in Conca dei Marini
5.0 of 5 bubbles 355 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Tramonto d'Oro
Hotel Tramonto d'Oro
#5 of 20 in Praiano
4.5 of 5 bubbles 786 reviews
1.1 mi away
Il San Pietro di Positano
Il San Pietro di Positano
#3 of 39 in Positano
4.5 of 5 bubbles 765 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Pellegrino
Hotel Pellegrino
#1 of 20 in Praiano
5.0 of 5 bubbles 661 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Angelina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Angelina

Property: Casa Angelina
Address: Via Gennaro Capriglione 147, 84010 Praiano, Italy
Region: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Praiano
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Praiano
#2 Luxury Hotel in Praiano
#4 Romantic Hotel in Praiano
#11 Family Hotel in Praiano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Casa Angelina 5*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Barefoot Luxury on Italy's Amalfi Coast ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Odigeo, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Casa Angelina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Angelina Hotel Praiano
Casa Angelina Praiano, Amalfi Coast, Italy
Hotel Casa Angelina

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing