We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It was exquisite!”
Review of Casa Angelina

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Casa Angelina
Ranked #3 of 20 Hotels in Praiano
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 June 2007

My family ( and we were 7) took a month long trip to Italy...starting in Venice and ending at the Amalfi coast...and what an ending it was!!!. Praiano was the last leg of our tour..... we had our own private transfer from Rome, a company called Flavio Goia with its driver Velerio....I highly recommend him. He were excellent. I must say....the drive to Praiano starting at Naples is a hair raising experience.....I could never have done it...so I suggest always to get a driver that can handle those curves...ridges and bigggg buses coming at you. Ohhh and when you get to Casa Angelina...it will be another experience just to get down to the hotel in the car or van....once again...get a driver!.

Having arrived at the hotel was such a relief.....we were greeted by the wonderful hosts that gave us a tour of the host and was I impressed. It was just like the pics you see on the site....minimalistic ...modern...all white with the most beautiful murano sculptures I have ever seen...by an Cuban artist called Sosa Bravo....by the way ...it just so happened he arrived the day before we left....so I had the privledge of meeting this very talented man.
The view is magnificent...i had room 212...with a private balcony with an arch and with Positano as a view. It was all white and immaculate...it also had free internet. It was just Paradise.

The service was excellent...anything we needed was provided....Delfina, Sandra, Gaetano were always there to help us...my compliments to the staff.

The Gym...was well equipped and has the most wonderful heated pool....and lounges to sun bath in.

The Sea Gem....we rented their boat for the whole day...and went island hopping....Capri....Sorrento, had lunch in Nerone and saw the grottos .....the captainis great!!!...he took good care of us.

In esssence....I have traveled far and wide and had yet to stay at a hotel where I was so happy at. It is small....once all discover this little gem on the Amalfi coast it will be impossible to get reservations. I plan of returning.
A Must Stay!

  • Stayed: June 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank val255
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (844)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

607 - 613 of 844 reviews

Reviewed 21 June 2007

In line with all the other reviews on this hotel, we find our 6 night stay in Casa Angelina pretty prefect. We were picked up from Naples and driven very sypathetically on the winding journey to the hotel where we were greeting by delightful staff, all of them pleased to help without being pushy. Nothing was too much trouble.
Our room was fantastic (rm108) and had a lovely Sea view and a decent balcony. It was spotlessly clean and the bathroom had an amazing shower and bath with fantastic water pressure and an abundance of soaps etc.
The pool is small but quite adequate and refreshingly cool without being too cold. The bar is excellent and offers a wide range of drinks by the pool or on the terrace. an infinity pool is planned for the near future but they are having trouble getting planning permission!
One of the only disappointments to us was the food in the restaurant in the evening. We ate there on our first night and found the menu to be huge (far to big and confusing for everything to have been fresh?) and both our meals were really rather disappointing, especially for the price. It may be we chose badly or were unlucky but although the setting and service was excellent, the food let it down. The wine list, similar to the menu, was far too big with hundreds of wines which is really not necessary.
This should not detract from the fact the everything else was faultless including the breakfasts with delicious pastries and fresh fruit or eggs and cold meat if preferred, and freshly squeezed juices.
We would highly recommend a trip down the 170 or so steps to the sea. The restaurant La Gavitella is spectacular and the food is second to none, with beautiful fresh fish cooked to your request and breathtaking views over towards Possitano. once we found this restaurant we ate there 3 times for lunch and in the evening. Highly recommended. Reasonably priced as well. Sun beds are avialable down by the beach as well and can be reserved by the hotel for no charge.
There are also some good local restaurants in Priano which is a 5 min walk from the hotel and great value.
Overall, we had an amazing holiday and truely came back relaxed. Apart from the evening meal in the restaurant, we recommend everything and will defintely go back.

  • Stayed: June 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank MaseratiGransport
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2007

We have stayed at Casa Angelina for a week in June and are absolutely excited about the hotel. If you are fond of clear design interiors, then it will be the right choice. The rooms are big for Amalfi Coast hotel( we had superior seaview), the view is fantastic. You can see the city of Positano and Capri island. We had dinner at the restaurant twice which was very good, and several times lunch in the poolside bar, which was good, but too expensive. The service was absolutel fantastic, you got all the answers to all the questions you had, and we had all the time the feeling to be very special guests. The poolside area is a kind of small, and we were astonished to discover, that some guests left their towels on the sunloungers to occupy them, before going to breakfast. I thought that happens only in third-class hotels in Turkey. The hotel have some more sunloungers on the gym's area, which is also convenient enough, but they don't have the sunshades there, that's why noone is using this area.

That is probably the only minor point on the whole thing. As I told already, we loved the hotel and can highly recommend it.

  • Stayed: June 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank kobri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2007

The Casa Angelina is a totally wonderful hotel. We have to agree with all the comments in the other reviews but also want to add a couple of observations.

We thought that a "book of knowledge" in the rooms would have been useful, giving us information regarding the local buses, the timetable for the free water taxi transfers to Positano, trips to Capri, etc.

In the hotel description, they say that their lift goes down to their own private beach. They didn't say that once you get out of the lift, it is 287 steps down to the beach (and the same number going up again!). Fine if you are fit, pretty tiring if you are not!

When the hotel booked a taxi for us to go to a local restaurant by the little harbour we were charged 25 euros. Coming back the restaurant booked us a taxi and it was 11 euros. When we queried the cost, the hotel said they had booked us a limousine (!!) - however, in both cases we had a mercedes and really couldn't tell the difference (the distance was all of 2 kms).

So apart from those little gripes, we would recommend the Casa Angelina wholeheartedly,

  • Stayed: May 2007, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank yottie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2007

Wonderful wonderful wonderful!

  • Stayed: September 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank !!!!!!?
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2007

We stayed at Casa Angelina for 5 days - arrived late one afternoon after quite a trip from Naples airport - the staff were all at the front door to greet us with a fresh drink and calm and attentive service.

We were given a full tour of the hotel and shown to our room. We stayed in one of the superior sea view rooms which was absolutely beautiful.

The room was minimalist and cool and the view was breathtaking. All the bathroom products were loccitaine which they kept topped up.

the hotel is very modern and very calm. the staff are all wonderful and attentive and go out of there way to make your stay as pleasant as possible.

the restaurant was 5 star luxury, at a very reasonable price.

there is absolutely nothing i can say against this hotel. The town is just out of all the hustle and bustle and the locals were lovely.

I highly recommend this hotel and the area.

  • Stayed: May 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mcdetv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2007

My wife and I stayed at Casa Angelina April 24th - April 27th. Where do I start?!? From the moment we arrived in Naples, we knew we were in for a special experience. Sergio, our driver, was waiting to whisk us away to quite possibly the most beautiful hotel and location we have ever experienced (and we have been fortunate enough to have seen quite a few). The service is in a word, amazing. Do you need something from the pharmacy? We'll get it for you. Would you like to use the internet? Please, use our computer. Want to watch the big soccer match? We'll order it for you! The rooms are just like the pictures on their website. The beds are very comfortable. The views from your balcony/window will take your breath away. The restaurant is a gastronomic wonder. However, if pizza and a bottle of wine on your balcony is more your speed, then just pop across the street to La Strada for take away. Honestly, there is not one negative that we can say about this place. From Valerio and the wonderful staff in reception to Massimo in the bar to Sergio the driver to the excellent restaurant staff, Casa Angelina has a place in our heart as well as our memories as our home away from home! We can't wait to return (scheduled for some time next April/May)

  • Stayed: May 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank CSwan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Praiano
0.5 mi away
Hotel Margherita
Hotel Margherita
#2 of 20 in Praiano
1,587 reviews
2.9 mi away
Monastero Santa Rosa Hotel & Spa
Monastero Santa Rosa Hotel & Spa
#1 of 5 in Conca dei Marini
431 reviews
3.9 mi away
Santa Caterina Hotel
Santa Caterina Hotel
#1 of 29 in Amalfi
1,029 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Hotel Onda Verde
Hotel Onda Verde
#4 of 20 in Praiano
1,088 reviews
1.1 mi away
Il San Pietro di Positano
Il San Pietro di Positano
#1 of 38 in Positano
906 reviews
2 mi away
Le Sirenuse Hotel
Le Sirenuse Hotel
#8 of 38 in Positano
984 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Angelina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Angelina

Address: Via Gennaro Capriglione 147, 84010 Praiano, Italy
Region: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Praiano
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Praiano
#2 Luxury Hotel in Praiano
#4 Romantic Hotel in Praiano
Price Range: £351 - £828 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Casa Angelina 5*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Barefoot Luxury on Italy's Amalfi Coast ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Casa Angelina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Angelina Hotel Praiano
Casa Angelina Praiano, Amalfi Coast, Italy
Hotel Casa Angelina

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing