We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“loved this hotel”
Review of Casa Angelina

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Casa Angelina
Ranked #4 of 19 Hotels in Praiano
Certificate of Excellence
santa monica
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“loved this hotel”
Reviewed 1 July 2007

We were thrilled with Casa Angelina. From its sleek white interiors to the warmth of the entire staff, I cannot think of anything that they could perfect. The pool area is a bit small however, it didn't really bother us. We spent 6 incredible days there with our children, both of whom loved it as well (ages 12 & 15). The staff is very friendly and eager to please with any request that we had...we took day trips to Capri, Positano and Amalfi...all were arranged by the hotel. I would highly recommend Casa Angelina.

  • Liked — Staff was very helpful and warm
  • Disliked — a million steps to the beach--but it was great exercise!!!
  • Stayed June 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank annettoivana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

791 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    646
    112
    23
    9
    1
See reviews for
44
589
8
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (114)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
essex, u.K
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2007

Having stayed in what are described as the best hotels in the world, this hotel takes star prize. My partner and I stayed here for 4 nights & were truly astounded at the cleanliness, helpfulness & amazing decor here. Nothing was too much trouble. I was unwell on the last day & just fancied a banana for breakfast, within 2 minutes of asking at reception a waiter arrived at my room with half a dozen bananas on a silver tray and was wishing me better! The service was incredible, the views were terrific & the staff were unbelievably courteous. Try a stress relief massage if you are there to unwind, it is fantastic. I'm back in the UK now in the pouring with rain and I have got Casa Angelina as my screen saver. I could cry!!
The only negative thing I could say is the restaurant is very expensive, but the food is lovely & the service is great.
They will be seeing us again for sure, our stay at this hotel was the best experience ever. I hope you enjoy it as much as we did.

  • Liked — The cleanliness
  • Disliked — nothing i liked it all
  • Stayed June 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JacAli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NYC
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2007

We stayed at Casa Angelina for 4 nights during our Honeymoon. It couldn't have been more perfect, except maybe the restaurant which was a bit overpriced. The room and view were both amazing, the staff friendly and helpful (not an easy thing to get in Italy).
Can't wait to go back!!!

  • Stayed July 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Kutz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
puerto rico
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2007

My family ( and we were 7) took a month long trip to Italy...starting in Venice and ending at the Amalfi coast...and what an ending it was!!!. Praiano was the last leg of our tour..... we had our own private transfer from Rome, a company called Flavio Goia with its driver Velerio....I highly recommend him. He were excellent. I must say....the drive to Praiano starting at Naples is a hair raising experience.....I could never have done it...so I suggest always to get a driver that can handle those curves...ridges and bigggg buses coming at you. Ohhh and when you get to Casa Angelina...it will be another experience just to get down to the hotel in the car or van....once again...get a driver!.

Having arrived at the hotel was such a relief.....we were greeted by the wonderful hosts that gave us a tour of the host and was I impressed. It was just like the pics you see on the site....minimalistic ...modern...all white with the most beautiful murano sculptures I have ever seen...by an Cuban artist called Sosa Bravo....by the way ...it just so happened he arrived the day before we left....so I had the privledge of meeting this very talented man.
The view is magnificent...i had room 212...with a private balcony with an arch and with Positano as a view. It was all white and immaculate...it also had free internet. It was just Paradise.

The service was excellent...anything we needed was provided....Delfina, Sandra, Gaetano were always there to help us...my compliments to the staff.

The Gym...was well equipped and has the most wonderful heated pool....and lounges to sun bath in.

The Sea Gem....we rented their boat for the whole day...and went island hopping....Capri....Sorrento, had lunch in Nerone and saw the grottos .....the captainis great!!!...he took good care of us.

In esssence....I have traveled far and wide and had yet to stay at a hotel where I was so happy at. It is small....once all discover this little gem on the Amalfi coast it will be impossible to get reservations. I plan of returning.
A Must Stay!

  • Liked — Everything
  • Disliked — Dinner Menu shouldn't be so gourmet
  • Stayed June 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank val255
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Home Counties
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2007

In line with all the other reviews on this hotel, we find our 6 night stay in Casa Angelina pretty prefect. We were picked up from Naples and driven very sypathetically on the winding journey to the hotel where we were greeting by delightful staff, all of them pleased to help without being pushy. Nothing was too much trouble.
Our room was fantastic (rm108) and had a lovely Sea view and a decent balcony. It was spotlessly clean and the bathroom had an amazing shower and bath with fantastic water pressure and an abundance of soaps etc.
The pool is small but quite adequate and refreshingly cool without being too cold. The bar is excellent and offers a wide range of drinks by the pool or on the terrace. an infinity pool is planned for the near future but they are having trouble getting planning permission!
One of the only disappointments to us was the food in the restaurant in the evening. We ate there on our first night and found the menu to be huge (far to big and confusing for everything to have been fresh?) and both our meals were really rather disappointing, especially for the price. It may be we chose badly or were unlucky but although the setting and service was excellent, the food let it down. The wine list, similar to the menu, was far too big with hundreds of wines which is really not necessary.
This should not detract from the fact the everything else was faultless including the breakfasts with delicious pastries and fresh fruit or eggs and cold meat if preferred, and freshly squeezed juices.
We would highly recommend a trip down the 170 or so steps to the sea. The restaurant La Gavitella is spectacular and the food is second to none, with beautiful fresh fish cooked to your request and breathtaking views over towards Possitano. once we found this restaurant we ate there 3 times for lunch and in the evening. Highly recommended. Reasonably priced as well. Sun beds are avialable down by the beach as well and can be reserved by the hotel for no charge.
There are also some good local restaurants in Priano which is a 5 min walk from the hotel and great value.
Overall, we had an amazing holiday and truely came back relaxed. Apart from the evening meal in the restaurant, we recommend everything and will defintely go back.

  • Stayed June 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank MaseratiGransport
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Germany
Level Contributor
77 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 164 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2007

We have stayed at Casa Angelina for a week in June and are absolutely excited about the hotel. If you are fond of clear design interiors, then it will be the right choice. The rooms are big for Amalfi Coast hotel( we had superior seaview), the view is fantastic. You can see the city of Positano and Capri island. We had dinner at the restaurant twice which was very good, and several times lunch in the poolside bar, which was good, but too expensive. The service was absolutel fantastic, you got all the answers to all the questions you had, and we had all the time the feeling to be very special guests. The poolside area is a kind of small, and we were astonished to discover, that some guests left their towels on the sunloungers to occupy them, before going to breakfast. I thought that happens only in third-class hotels in Turkey. The hotel have some more sunloungers on the gym's area, which is also convenient enough, but they don't have the sunshades there, that's why noone is using this area.

That is probably the only minor point on the whole thing. As I told already, we loved the hotel and can highly recommend it.

  • Liked — The hotel interiors
  • Stayed June 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank kobri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level Contributor
31 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2007

The Casa Angelina is a totally wonderful hotel. We have to agree with all the comments in the other reviews but also want to add a couple of observations.

We thought that a "book of knowledge" in the rooms would have been useful, giving us information regarding the local buses, the timetable for the free water taxi transfers to Positano, trips to Capri, etc.

In the hotel description, they say that their lift goes down to their own private beach. They didn't say that once you get out of the lift, it is 287 steps down to the beach (and the same number going up again!). Fine if you are fit, pretty tiring if you are not!

When the hotel booked a taxi for us to go to a local restaurant by the little harbour we were charged 25 euros. Coming back the restaurant booked us a taxi and it was 11 euros. When we queried the cost, the hotel said they had booked us a limousine (!!) - however, in both cases we had a mercedes and really couldn't tell the difference (the distance was all of 2 kms).

So apart from those little gripes, we would recommend the Casa Angelina wholeheartedly,

  • Liked — Everything
  • Disliked — Steps down to the beach
  • Stayed May 2007, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank yottie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Praiano
3.9 mi away
Santa Caterina Hotel
Santa Caterina Hotel
#1 of 29 in Amalfi
967 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Margherita
Hotel Margherita
#3 of 19 in Praiano
1,393 reviews
2.9 mi away
Monastero Santa Rosa Hotel & Spa
Monastero Santa Rosa Hotel & Spa
#1 of 5 in Conca dei Marini
378 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Tramonto d'Oro
Hotel Tramonto d'Oro
#5 of 19 in Praiano
809 reviews
4.2 mi away
NH Collection Grand Hotel Convento di Amalfi
0.3 mi away
Grand Hotel Tritone
Grand Hotel Tritone
#7 of 19 in Praiano
574 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Angelina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Angelina

Property: Casa Angelina
Address: Via Gennaro Capriglione 147, 84010 Praiano, Italy
Region: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Praiano
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Praiano
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Praiano
#4 Romantic Hotel in Praiano
#11 Family Hotel in Praiano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Casa Angelina 5*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Barefoot Luxury on Italy's Amalfi Coast ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, MrandMrsSmith, Hotels.com, Prestigia, Odigeo, Ebookers, Priceline, TravelUp, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Casa Angelina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Angelina Hotel Praiano
Casa Angelina Praiano, Amalfi Coast, Italy
Hotel Casa Angelina

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing