We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spectacular Amalfi Experience”
Review of Casa Privata

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Casa Privata
Ranked #8 of 13 Praiano B&B and Inns
Sydney, Aust.
Level Contributor
34 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Spectacular Amalfi Experience”
Reviewed 18 May 2014 via mobile

Ca Pa was recommended to us for a base for a group of friends. We took the entire villa plus 2 new garden rooms in early May. This is an excellent time of year as the crowds and insects are almost non existent. Always a good idea to have some insect repellant though I suppose.

First, let's sort the steps, there are a lot but if you want to avoid steps then a spectacular coastline of steep cliff faces like the Amalfi coast is not for you anyway. There are a lot of steps to the villa and the water but they are really a health bonus for most and can be managed fine by just taking it slow if you are out of condition.

The good news is that you could get to the villa and not leave for a week. The food was spectacular and outshone our fine dining at the #2 Tripadvisor restaurant. There is an honesty bar that is well stocked and worked out surprisingly good value.

Patrizia did a fantastic job looking after all 14 of us. The rooms were great and full of charm. The new garden rooms were about 10 paces from the main dining area and, being new, a bit more modern and smaller than the main house rooms.

We had no porter issues despite arriving late probably because we had Patrizia organise the car for us so the driver knew we needed after hours porters.

We hired a boat for a day which is the easiest and quickest way to see the Amalfi. At the other extreme, and being unsatisfied with the 190 steps to the road, we did the Walk of the Gods from Praiano to Positano which our fitbits told us included some 250 floors of elevation. If you are up for it, it is spectacular and beautiful.

We came to relax with friends and found the perfect place.

Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
3 Thank Fairway_Smooth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

49 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    39
    1
    3
    3
    3
See reviews for
5
36
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 October 2013

Oh dear. This was far from what we expected. It should be perfect but is generally neglected. The setting (apart from the stairs) was stunning but we were bitten alive with mozzies from the very overgrown and neglected gardens. We were unable to sleep with the window open as somehow the insects still got in. 24 bites at last count!

The gardens were shocking which was such a shame. They should be beautiful but are neglected +++. The pool ...wouldn't dare go in there! The health and safety at the cliff top beach lacking even a life ring and rope. The steps to the water hazardous. Wear shoes. What can I say about the open sewage on the steps down to the beach?

A lot more thought and effort is required for this to live up to the claims on the website as it is not cheap by any means. 300 euro + a night.

The rooms are impressive but a bit dusty and the linen a bit threadbare.

The breakfasts are scanty but the coffee good and the evening meals pleasant/quite expensive.

The staff are pleasant and obliging but really the atrocious gardens and lack of pool were the big disappointments for us.

However, our fellow guests were quite delightful and enhanced our stay considerably.

Would not go back again. Beautiful views but hugely disappointing and over priced.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank BarbaraGlasgow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 October 2013

My wife and I had a fabulous time in Casa Privata. It truly felt like an oasis along the Amalfi coast – a place we could rest, enjoy the sunsets, wind down from hectic business life and find calmness and peacefulness. If you're looking for a marvelous hotel with direct access to the sea and a cordial team, we can only recommend Ca'Pa. Be quick to book though as the six beautiful rooms go away quickly. Then you'll get to appreciate a huge and lovely garden that offers lots of possibilities for privacy (I read whole books without interruption) or you can explore the beautiful villages of Positano, Ravello and Amalfi, or – as my wife and I did – rent a boat to explore the coast and Capri by water.

Casa Privata is not a 5-star hotel so you won't find a receptionist but, as the name suggests, a serviced place of tranquility. We enjoyed taking a glass of red wine at the honesty bar and soaking in the atmosphere of homeliness. Patricia, the amiable soul of Ca'Pa, has kindly helped us put together a tour through some of the best restaurants and must-see attractions and she generously organized the booking for us. We particularly recommend the family-owned boutique Italian restaurant in the next bay which we comfortably reached with a water taxi directly from the hotel – even for free. That is to say, the food was also delicious at Casa Privata.

Summarizing we enjoyed taking a break from everyday life in paradise – or as close it gets – so much that we really want to visit again.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 October 2013

Arriving after a stunning two-day visit to Rome and a transatlantic flight from New York, the welcome at Casa Privata was singularly disappointing. Our driver was told porters would come to carry our bags down to "Ca Pa" so we waited...and waited...and waited. No porters. They go off duty at 5pm (despite CaPa's knowledge of our arrival at 7pm). Had it not been for the other guests (note, not staff), we would not have been able to get our bags down the (many more than?) 150 very steep steps--in the dark.
While the location of this villa may be lovely, it was difficult to fully appreciate it with the poorly maintained gardens, rickety furniture, wobbly breakfast tables, filthy swimming pool and raw sewage dripping down the pathway to the "beach". This latter is a series of sometimes very narrow platforms carved out of the cliff, which is the beautiful norm in this area. However, the paths were narrow and poorly maintained (bushes overgrowing them, cracked steps), there was no hand railing in sight, the shower was faulty, and the ladder into the water would never pass any kind of health and safety inspection. The flimsy hand rail at the top seemed ready to part company with the ladder at any moment, the steps were slimy and slippery and only those with a head for heights and marathon training fitness should attempt the entry into the water. There is no service at the beach area so you have to lug your own bottles of water down the hundreds of perilous steps. The view, however, is stunning, especially in the evening. But good luck getting back up the (unlit) steps after sundown.
As noted by other guests, breakfast was mediocre at best, the rooms were not clean and linens were worn. There is no air conditioning, which would be fine with the sea breeze except you couldn't open the windows at night because of the mozzies--the screens were torn and missing. No ceiling fans, only old metal floor fans that sound like B52s taxiing for takeoff.
In the evening, returning after dinner in the small town the entire hotel was in darkness. No staff anywhere, the living areas were dark, pathways dark. Steps dark. Wifi only in the tiny indoor dining room was intermittent at best.
It is such a shame because this place could be really idyllic if only someone bothered to take care of it, maintain it appropriately and provide the kind of service one would expect for 450 Euros a night. We left feeling that somehow we had been monumentally ripped off. On the positive side, the other guests were fun and friendly, there are good restaurants in the little village (which make up for lack of dinner service in the hotel unless booked 12 hours in advance) and easily available boat charters that make it less dangerous to enter the crystal clear waters.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Barbara B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 September 2013

Ca' Pa has a priceless setting and location, with beautiful gardens and is small and intimate. With a price of nearly €300 a night one's expectations were reasonably high. What could have been an experience of holidaying in someone's villa, was compromised by simple things such as the same unimaginative breakfast every day that was more like a two star international hotel, no tea or coffee facilities in the room, or access to tea and coffee facilities in the kitchen, mould in the shower and an Ikea shower curtain guaranteed to wrap itself around you, bath towels that were worn and some even with holes and shower fittings that were substandard. The experience would have been significantly enhanced by small touches such as flowers in the room on arrival, and decent toiletries (especially in Italy), new bed linen, the room being dusted at least every few days and a clean swimming pool. Some guests had to carry their own luggage up or down 150 steps as the porters were not available. The gardens are beautiful but not well maintained and to top it off a 4% charge to use credit or debit card, of which we were not informed until check out (when it was not possible to draw such a large amount of cash).
We have no doubt that the location is second to none, as is the building, and all that is required is for it to be tuely loved.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hartley-Mitchell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2013

Gorgeous, everything about this place is gorgeous.
If you want to stay on the Amalif Coast but would like to sample a more private style away from the masses, you will not find anywhere better.
Just a 190 steps from the road, (count them its half the fun) is the most beautiful 6 bed room villa.
Each room is individual and decorated effortlessly, like the whole property.
There are stunning views in every direction, (other than back up the steps)
The garden terrace at the back of the villa sets the tone for the beautiful meandering path down to the sea.
Once at the sea, private alcoves scatter your secluded bay where the warm salt water is to good to stay out of.
Patricia is on hand to answer every question you could ask, be it booking a water taxi, ferry to Capri, concert tickets at Ravello or just advice on the fantastic local restaurants.
We stayed for a week in August and it was as perfect as it gets.
Local restaurants are simple, serving great fresh food, well prepared by very competent staff.
The only place to eat that's better is in the villa, cooked by their in-house chef.
However you may want to save this meal up as it won't be beaten!
Positana is a ten minute bus ride one way and Amalif a ten minute ride the other.
The bus is cheap, taxis about 20 euro or a water taxi 30 euro
We hired our own boat for 220 euro and discovered the whole coast in one glorious day.
Fly into Naples and Patricia will organise a taxi transfer from the Airport for 100 euros, trust me take it it's worth every penny. They phone ahead and take your bags down the step, plus there is nowhere to park on the coast road and with the bus and taxi's being so cheap you don't need a car.
We got married here in a small ceremony that they organised which again was faultless.
There are one or two evil gnats around the garden at sundown and the steps are a killer, I won't lie, 190 from the road to the villa and about 270 to the sea.
However take it slow, like the locals and u'll be fine, there really is no rush. If you don't want to do the sea every day take in the pool which is a small skip from the villa at only 50 sweet little steps thru the gorgeousness garden.
And take some insect repellent. Simple.

Go, u'll love it more than you could ever hate them steps.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PleasantlyFull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
perth
Level Contributor
85 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2013

My husband and I loved Ca Pa ,but it is not for everyone. Yes there are a huge amount of stairs to deal with everyday but for us they are well worth doing to have this amazing location.
Ca Pa is a very unique place to spend some time with the people you love. It is very peaceful and private.
We loved the location in Praiano as Positano , Amalfi etc are way too touristy and busy for us.
We should also mention the lovely staff lead by Patricia . All so friendly and helpful.
Ca Pa was exactly the experience we were looking for.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank petalee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Praiano
0.4 mi away
Casa Angelina
Casa Angelina
#4 of 19 in Praiano
791 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Margherita
Hotel Margherita
#3 of 19 in Praiano
1,393 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Tramonto d'Oro
Hotel Tramonto d'Oro
#5 of 19 in Praiano
809 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Grand Hotel Tritone
Grand Hotel Tritone
#7 of 19 in Praiano
574 reviews
3.9 mi away
Santa Caterina Hotel
Santa Caterina Hotel
#1 of 29 in Amalfi
967 reviews
2.9 mi away
Monastero Santa Rosa Hotel & Spa
Monastero Santa Rosa Hotel & Spa
#1 of 5 in Conca dei Marini
378 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Privata? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Privata

Property: Casa Privata
Address: Via Rezzola | Localita Torre Grado, 84010 Praiano, Italy
Region: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Praiano
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Praiano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Casa Privata reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Privata Hotel Praiano
Casa Privata Praiano, Amalfi Coast, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing