We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely place”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Locanda Costa Diva
Ranked #6 of 20 Hotels in Praiano
Headley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Lovely place”
Reviewed 23 September 2013

This is the second time we have stayed here and can recommend this hotel - simple, clean with fantastic views and lovely food. Staff couldn't be more helpful.

Good breakfast and easy access to the local beach. This would be a great location for a wedding!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ZoeMows
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

922 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    742
    154
    17
    4
    5
See reviews for
168
526
10
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Watlington
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 September 2013

We arrived here on foot, having walked from Amalfi over the mountain and having got lost several times! Tired and foot sore and very relieved to find our hotel. We got a wonderful welcome, room with gorgeous view and own terrace. The hotel is beautiful with lovely gardens spilling down the hillside towards the sea. Very well maintained and full of flowers lemons etc. The restaurant looks out over the gardens and the sea and we enjoyed a delicious supper watching the sun go down. The hotel provides a calm and relaxed atmosphere very different to our visits to Amalfi and Positano teeming with tourists and is highly recommended as a base. We set off from here to walk to Positano via the sentieri degli Dei. This is a wonderful walk, very well signed although the initial climb as always around here is long and steep.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Watlington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
111 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 September 2013

Stayed three nights in mid September. The hotel is very informal, and spills down the side of the hill near the small beach of La Praia. We booked a superior room ("Rafaella") which was our our cabin on the edge of the cliff, with stunning views of the ocean and the surroundings. Sleeping with the balcony doors open all night was just awesome, with the sunrise visible from bed! We were surrounded by olive and lemon trees and pomegranate bushes. All very lovely, all very typical of the area.

The Amalfi Coast is, obviously, very hilly, so expect lots of steps to go anywhere. The hotel has lots of steps - many from our very quiet, isolated cabin up to the restaurant area and then up to the exits on to the Via Roma, the main road. The staff are really friendly and helpful, and will carry your luggage up and down, which is a great thing. The breakfasts included with the room rate are very good, and the restaurant is generally good (but not inexpensive.)

Getting there can be a challenge. We used the SITA bus from Sorrento. You need to ask for Praiano Stop 9 (main entrance) or Stop 10 (Restaurant entrance), which are stops after the more central area of Praiano and after the Chiesa di S. Gennaro if you are coming from Sorrento and Positano. The SITA buses are usually very, very full by the time they get to Praiano from either the Positano or the Amalfi direction, so expect to stand for most of your trips on these buses, if you can actually get on them. This can be a real hassle, so make sure you have time in hand when attempting to make transfers. Leave early!!! Taxis are available, but are pretty expensive.

You can catch the local bus from Praiano to Positano instead, if you are exploring, and then take a ferry from Positano to Amalfi and beyond. We found this to be much less of a hassle than the SITA bus, and really quite inexpensive, plus you get an awesome experience and stunning views. There are numerous restaurants within walking distance of the hotel, all those we tried were really good. The little beach at La Praia is very lovely, and the walks by the sea at the bottom of the cliffs very pleasant indeed. Don't miss a visit to the art studio of Paulo Sandulli in the Tower at the bottom of the cliff!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Dave N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 September 2013

We have to thank Faith from amalfivacations.com for suggesting the Costa Diva and we can see why she did. There are occasions when you wish everyone you know could have shared and this was one. My wife, who is very fussy said it just might have been the cleanest room she's ever stayed in. The views were wonderful and the food was perfection, but the real surprise was that the price was very reasonable considering the gourmet meals. A wonderful meal for the two of us including wine was only around 60 euros. Here in New Hampshire (never mind Boston) we've spent more than twice that many times. Thank you, thank you, and what wonderful service!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cheryljean362
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chelmsford, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 September 2013

I'm just here returning the favor to all you TripAdvisors who have helped me on so many occasions - this was definitely one of them. We booked this hotel knowing nothing of Italy or the Amalfi coast, and though we had a bit of trouble finding the place - it was WELL worth it.

We took the bus from Amalfi, and as we found is normal on the death-defying ride on the cliffs, it dropped us off on the side of the road, and since my cell phone won't work over there, it was up to ask to start lugging our luggage around and asking anyone we could find. Luckily, the first restaurant we found had a nice lady who directed us down a flight of stairs... and then another, and another... to this wonderful, hidden place.

A very special thank you to Nicola(s), who helped us from the VERY beginning - I think he slept there and never got an hour off. He helped us bring our bags in, and when we asked him for his best room with an ocean view (it was our honeymoon), he actually bargained with the owner to help us get it for a great rate, being it was the only 3 days it wasn't already booked.

Our room... was.... GORGEOUS. Called the "junior suite", we were on a patio jutting out on a cliff overlooking the ocean, with our private terrace and even private walking path up to dinner, lined with gardens and lemon vines. WOW.

Nicolas was our luggage carrier, our negotiator, our server for breakfast and dinners (PS - the food... OMG, the FOOD... I believe most of the produce comes from their own gardens on site, which you live amongst - some of the freshest we've found), and he helped see us out. Like a personal rep - he made our stay wonderful.

If you're looking for a GREAT place, for a reasonable price, away from the tourists of Amalfi and Positano, that has EXCELLENT service and EXCELLENT food, this is it.

The ONLY drawback I can mention are it's a bit tough to find (also a plus if you think of it) and you need to definitely be in shape to go up and down a LOT of stairs - definitely not handicap friendly. Or even people with a heart condition. I run races, and those steps were definitely a workout every morning! We also had an ant problem one morning, where they had pretty much taken over our front step and made it into our room - but again, one word to Nicolas (maybe Niccola?) and he had it taken care of, sprayed, cleaned, and they didn't bother us the rest of the trip.

We will DEFINITELY stay here again.

Room Tip: If the Junior Villa is not taken - see if you can get it for a reasonable price! A MUST HAVE for ho...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nick66718
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 6 September 2013

This was my trip to the Amalfi Coast, and in a new relationship so I was keen to try and get the hotel right! I don't normally write reviews but I used the reviews on Trip Advisor to guide me so I thought I would return the compliment. In short, Locanda Costa Diva is a fantastic, family run, very reasonable and beautiful place to stay.

Good Bits: Lots of them. The hotel is in Praiano, which is a small town about half way in between Amalfi and Positano, which are both a bit touristy and more expensive as a result. By far the best way to get around is by local bus (you buy the tickets at any tabac shop). There's a stop right outside the hotel. The hotel itself is a magical little oasis. The restaurant is beautiful, overlooking the coast and nestled into a lemon grove. The service is incredibly friendly and helpful - the owner wanders around chatting in a convivial way to anyone who speaks Italian and saying ciao bella to anyone female who doesn't (and just ciao to their boyfriends). We stayed in Marina, which is a small room right at the bottom of the hotel (which is mostly fruit trees and lemon groves) with its own terrace and jacuzzi. I would highly recommend upgrading - it cost us 160 euros a night but was well worth the extra. It was incredibly private and although the room was small and basic it was clean and the bathroom was new. There was a small balcony overlooking the sea and the terrace was pretty and in the shade (although the foliage was a bit too high to have much of a view when sitting down). Relaxing in the hot tub after a long day sightseeing was a pleasure not to be forgotten.

The food in the restaurant was very good - not expensive, home made and consistently delicious. We eat there most nights and you'll be pushed to find anywhere better in Praiano. Breakfast was fresh tomatoes, salami, ham and cheese, cereals, fruit, yoghurts, pastries, eggs etc. The local wine is all fantastic and inexpensive (16 or 18 euros will get you a very nice bottle).

Bad Bits: The public beach next to the hotel isn't great - there's a much better inexpensive private one around the headland about 30 minute walk away along a dodgy stretch of road (cliffs and tunnels you have to squeeze through along with the passing traffic) in what is the main bit of Praiano. Likewise if you have mobility issues or have a family then the hotel might be a little isolated - but the whole of the coastline is on a cliff, there are lots and lots of steps everywhere, so it's not just the hotel. We are both fairly fit and did the walk to Positano along the path of the Gods in a couple of hours but even so after a week of walking up and down to the beach my legs were aching. Not much else to say - we knew all the staff by first name by the end of the week and had a really fantastic time. Thank you to everyone.

Other tips for the coast:
In Praiano go to Angela's really good shop for the cheapest water and local wine poured from a vat. The tourist info is also very helpful.
If you're doing the path of the gods you'll have to walk up a steep and overgrown path up from Praiano. It's well worth it though as the walk is great once you get up there!
We did Herculaneum and Pompeii in a day from the hotel, which is possible but a bit exhausting. You have to get the bus to Sorrento, which takes about an hour and fifteen minutes, then the CircumVesuviano to the sites. Quick tip - if your bus to Sorrento stops at Meta get off there and join the train - it saves about half an hour from the trip. It's still a couple of hours each way though. Herculaneum is very compact and well worth visiting but it doesn't compare to the sheer scale of Pompeii, which was mind-blowing. Il Pirate at the foot of the cliff was ok for food and great for location. There's also a Club called Americana which is set into the cliff and might be very cool if it was busy but was empty when we went there (at the very beginning of September to be fair). There's also place to hire boats by the beach immediately below the hotel.

And finally, if you're getting a coach transfer to the airport from Sorrento leave plenty of time! The traffic around Naples is dire and we were within thirty seconds of missing our flight after being caught in a traffic jam.

Room Tip: Marina. Private terrace, hot tub, sea views, what more could you want?!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CapJM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elena S, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Hotel Locanda Costa Diva, responded to this review, 9 September 2013
Thank you, thank you, thank you very much! Your comment, precise, detailed and accurate, flatters us and fills our hearts with joy. Thank you for the beautiful words addressed to all of us and our Locanda Costa Diva! Thank you for the time you have dedicated to us in describing everything in detail and suggest valuable advice to dear readers! Thank you for having honored us with your presence and for having made ​​this place even better! We are really happy that you had a pleasant holiday in our company!
We really hope to welcome you again in the beautiful Amalfi Coast for a new stay of relaxation and well-being!
A dear greetings from all of us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Concord, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 August 2013

Near Amalfi and Positano but without all the people, noise and hassle, Costa Diva was divine. The views were unbelievable, the beach was a short walk away, and the room was clean and comfortable. We had our 13-year old with us so the added cot made the room seem a little small, but we weren't there to hang out in the room. The restaurant area is spread out and the grounds are large enough to find a quiet spot away from everyone if you want to. In particular, the staff is wonderful. We were welcomed so warmly and treated like royalty the entire time. Dinner was especially amazing - the restaurant is completely open on one side and you can eat something delicious (I recommend the fish with lemon sauce) and watch boats, stars, and the moon. Or, you can come back after dinner somewhere else and spend a heavenly hour or so sipping limoncello and watching the sea. (Don't miss the limoncello.) It is a wonderful place and I will stay there again if I'm in the area!

Room Tip: Be aware that if you want to put 3 people in an ordinary room, the third person sleeps on a cot so t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank cfillmore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elena S, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Hotel Locanda Costa Diva, responded to this review, 2 September 2013
Thank you so much for visiting our Locanda Costa Diva and for describing it with such beautiful words!
It's a big pleasure for us to know that you enjoyed your time in the Amalfi Coast and appreciated the beautiful landescape, the peace and the atmosphere offered by this paradisiac place.
We are glad to know that you could appreciate the room, the cleaning, the kindness of all the staff and the food offered by our restaurant!
We look forward from hosting you again for a new stay and take the occasion to extend our best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Praiano
0.2 mi away
Hotel Margherita
Hotel Margherita
#2 of 20 in Praiano
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,359 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Tramonto d'Oro
Hotel Tramonto d'Oro
#5 of 20 in Praiano
4.5 of 5 bubbles 800 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Torre Saracena
Hotel Torre Saracena
#9 of 20 in Praiano
4.5 of 5 bubbles 456 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Holidays Fico d'India
1.0 mi away
Grand Hotel Tritone
Grand Hotel Tritone
#7 of 20 in Praiano
4.5 of 5 bubbles 544 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Pellegrino
Hotel Pellegrino
#1 of 20 in Praiano
5.0 of 5 bubbles 676 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Locanda Costa Diva? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Locanda Costa Diva

Property: Hotel Locanda Costa Diva
Address: Via Roma 12, 84010 Praiano, Italy
Region: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Praiano
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Praiano
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Praiano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Locanda Costa Diva 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Locanda Costa Diva is situated in Praiano in a privileged position overlooking the sea. Pride of the house is the beautiful lemon garden of 7000 qm which surroundes the building and it is fully accessible by hotel guests. This is the ideal place for people who are looking for a relaxing holiday but also for people who love nature. The hotel is equipped with all the comfort and makes possible to spend un unforgettable vacation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, TravelUp, Odigeo, Expedia, Ebookers, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Locanda Costa Diva reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Locanda Costa Diva Hotel Praiano
Hotel Locanda Costa Diva Praiano, Amalfi Coast, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing