We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic views, great value for money”
Review of Hotel Le Sirene

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Le Sirene
Ranked #15 of 20 Hotels in Praiano
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 June 2011

My husband and I just returned from a wonderful 5 days at Le Sirene.

Firstly, we found the location in Praiano ideal, since it is roughly halfway between busy Positano and Amalfi, but much quieter. It is also close to the bus stop and a nice little supermarket.
One does have to climb a few stairs to get there, but while they can organize porters to assist with suitcases on arrival, we did not find this necessary. If one were to arrive by ferry, however, I would definitely recommend dialling ahead for a porter.
(Ps. To find the place by bus is very easy - just look out for the big yellowish church below the main road. The closest bus stop is a few meters after the church, and from there, there are clearly marked signs down to Le Sirene.)

We stayed in Room 12, which was very spacious and had a large private balcony. It also had a decent-sized bathroom with a shower in the bathtub. While the room is basic without any additional amenities like a fridge or safe, the fantastic views and cleanliness made it worth every cent.

Breakfast is served on the downstairs terrace and consisted of a fresh fruit salad, yoghurt, orange juice, the best croissants I've probably ever had, cornflakes, bread, cheese and salami as well as a choice of tea, coffee, cappuccino or hot chocolate. The 8 am starting time was a bit late for us on the days we wanted to leave town on day trips, but on those days we could still help ourselves to some yoghurt and cereal.

The only thing that I was disappointed in was the restaurants in Praiano - I was hoping that they would also be good value for money, being a bit outside of the main tourist areas, but we actually found them to be quite pricey, and found the restaurants in Amalfi to be better in terms of both price and quality. But since these were just an easy bus ride away, this was not a problem.

Maria and her husband were also excellent hosts and helped us a lot when it came to planning our daily activities.

We can highly recommend a holiday on the Amalfi coast, staying at Le Sirene.

Room Tip: I think Room 12 has the largest terrace.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Traveller1234575
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (155)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

66 - 72 of 155 reviews

Reviewed 8 June 2011

Wonderful views and very gracious hosts. Praiano is a small village so I recommend it if you plan to "stay put" for a couple of days prior to or after seeing the Amalfi sights. To get to Le Sirene there is one way up and one way down (over numerous steps) but it's worth the journey. The host arranged a porter for 10 euros to carry our bags up to the bus stop on the main road when we checked-out. We're in our 50's and are prone to over-packing so the fare was well worth it. Splendid breakfast.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ljbrx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2011

My husband and I stayed at Le Sirene for 6 nights in early Sept '10. We were looking for R & R on the AC and got it. Le Sirene was budget-friendly at 100EUR per night for the most amazing view ever, a very clean room, very gracious hosts and a great little town, within easy distance of the livelier Positano. If you are looking for luxury this is not the place but if you are looking for quiet, clean, and comfortable this fits the bill. The bathroom was a little tight, the bed not the most comfortable (but we slept fine and it was very quiet there) and there was no safe in our room (but we didn't have a problem) so really, if you are looking for a very reasonable price then this is the place to stay. Yummy lite breakfast and really nice cappuccino on the patio overlooking the sea. Le Sirene is on the "west" side of Praiano, facing Positano, within 5 minute walk of good restaurants (La Brace, La Strada, Il Pino) and One Fire Beach for lounging in the sun, swimming and lunching/cocktailing. The "beach" (no sand, more a giant concrete pool deck, but oh, what a pool!...the gorgeous blue Med) is a good 15 min walk down (including 200+ steps) and longer back up but very worth it! ("Piccolito" and Carlo and co will look after you, you'll feel like you're at a posh resort!) We had a great vacation at Le Sirene. No pool, but who goes to the AC to sit by a pool? Walk down to the "beach" or take the bus to Marina la Praia for an easier walk down the hill (no steps) and a really good restaurant at Il Pirata with lounge chairs for rent next door and swimming in the sea. Use "Gennaro" for taxi service (from Naples train station or anywhere else you want to go, speak with Giancarlo to book with Gennaro) and go to Le Sirene for a restful vacation. You will have a great time.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank pnaj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2010

What an amazing place; the view was like waking up in paradise. We booked through email, and everything, including the taxi that was arranged for us (Naples airport to hotel), went smoothly. In fact, we adored our taxi driver; he was charming, and a very good driver! Maria and Giancarmine were wonderful hosts, and it felt much like being guests in their home. Delightful breakfasts with croissants, butter, jam, yogurt, salamis, cheese, and fresh fruit. And the best part, cappuccinos. The rooms were simple and clean, no TV or refrigerator, and that was fine by us, because the terrace was like stepping into heaven, I honestly have never seen anything quite so beautiful. If I had to find one fault, it would be that the beds were rather firm, but considering the value, charm, and absolute jaw dropping beauty of the place, I can't really complain. We loved Praiano, it was so simple to jump on the bus and visit the nearby towns. In fact we loved the village feel of it, and could not imagine staying elsewhere. We loved it.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hellojudi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2010

Clean, quiet, comfortable, reasonably priced and, oh, yes, perched above the Mediterranean on the Amalfi Coast, with a balcony overlooking it in every room. Unparalleled view from the balconies, or, if you want, the fully stocked bar downstairs that doubles for the breakfast room in the morning. The rooms aren't fancy, but who cares? Quiet, comfortable, friendly, with a perfect host in quiet, easy Giancarmine. The only caveat is that there are about 100 steps up to the street. Even so, worth it. Praiano is the perfect compromise between over-touristed Amalfi and over-expensive Positano with an easy bus ride to either. La Sirene the perfect place in Praiano to stay.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank St.LouisEileen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2010

Stayed for 11 nights and was a perfect base to see the rest of the Amalfi coast. Maria and Giancarmine were very welcoming and helped us book some tours. Lovely rooms and amazing views. Towels changed and room cleaned every day. Little "extras" like tomatoes with olive oil and Basil. Lovely. Would certainly go back but maybe not in August. The heat and the steps combined were a little difficult. Certainly enjoyed our time there x

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pahef
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2010

This is a very nicely located hotel in the quiet relaxing village of Praiano (less touristy than Positano or Amalfi). The hotel itself is perfectly in order, with bright, clean, sober rooms - no frills, we liked that. We did not miss the TV, but the absence of a fridge in the room was maybe a bit inconvenient. There's no internet, but there's a bar nearby where you can use internet for a moderate fee.

We had a room with a wonderful terrace, that offered the most amazing view over the Amalfi coast, with Positano nearest and the Capri rocks in the distance.
Breakfast is good, nothing very special, but ok, and on a terrace with the same great views.

The owners are very friendly, welcoming and just absolutely nice people. We felt very at ease and welcome.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kardaf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Praiano hotels
0.5 mi away
Hotel Margherita
Hotel Margherita
#2 of 20 in Praiano
1,587 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Le Fioriere
Hotel Le Fioriere
#8 of 20 in Praiano
464 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Locanda Costa Diva
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Hotel Onda Verde
Hotel Onda Verde
#4 of 20 in Praiano
1,088 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Pellegrino
Hotel Pellegrino
#1 of 20 in Praiano
747 reviews
0.2 mi away
Casa Angelina
Casa Angelina
#3 of 20 in Praiano
844 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Le Sirene? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Le Sirene

Address: Via San Nicola 10, 84010 Praiano, Italy
Region: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Praiano
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Praiano
#4 Family Hotel in Praiano
#6 Romantic Hotel in Praiano
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Praiano
Price Range: £53 - £88 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Le Sirene 2*
Number of rooms: 12
Also Known As:
Le Sirene Hotel
Hotel Le Sirene Praiano, Amalfi Coast, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing