We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Just like heaven.”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Le Sirene

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Praiano
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hotel Le Sirene
Ranked #11 of 20 Hotels in Praiano
Certificate of Excellence
Altrincham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Just like heaven.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 October 2010

What an amazing place; the view was like waking up in paradise. We booked through email, and everything, including the taxi that was arranged for us (Naples airport to hotel), went smoothly. In fact, we adored our taxi driver; he was charming, and a very good driver! Maria and Giancarmine were wonderful hosts, and it felt much like being guests in their home. Delightful breakfasts with croissants, butter, jam, yogurt, salamis, cheese, and fresh fruit. And the best part, cappuccinos. The rooms were simple and clean, no TV or refrigerator, and that was fine by us, because the terrace was like stepping into heaven, I honestly have never seen anything quite so beautiful. If I had to find one fault, it would be that the beds were rather firm, but considering the value, charm, and absolute jaw dropping beauty of the place, I can't really complain. We loved Praiano, it was so simple to jump on the bus and visit the nearby towns. In fact we loved the village feel of it, and could not imagine staying elsewhere. We loved it.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hellojudi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

155 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    119
    30
    4
    1
    1
See reviews for
25
99
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
St. Louis
Level Contributor
50 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 October 2010

Clean, quiet, comfortable, reasonably priced and, oh, yes, perched above the Mediterranean on the Amalfi Coast, with a balcony overlooking it in every room. Unparalleled view from the balconies, or, if you want, the fully stocked bar downstairs that doubles for the breakfast room in the morning. The rooms aren't fancy, but who cares? Quiet, comfortable, friendly, with a perfect host in quiet, easy Giancarmine. The only caveat is that there are about 100 steps up to the street. Even so, worth it. Praiano is the perfect compromise between over-touristed Amalfi and over-expensive Positano with an easy bus ride to either. La Sirene the perfect place in Praiano to stay.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank St.LouisEileen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kildare Ireland
Level Contributor
184 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 August 2010

Stayed for 11 nights and was a perfect base to see the rest of the Amalfi coast. Maria and Giancarmine were very welcoming and helped us book some tours. Lovely rooms and amazing views. Towels changed and room cleaned every day. Little "extras" like tomatoes with olive oil and Basil. Lovely. Would certainly go back but maybe not in August. The heat and the steps combined were a little difficult. Certainly enjoyed our time there x

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pahef
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussels
Level Contributor
47 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2010

This is a very nicely located hotel in the quiet relaxing village of Praiano (less touristy than Positano or Amalfi). The hotel itself is perfectly in order, with bright, clean, sober rooms - no frills, we liked that. We did not miss the TV, but the absence of a fridge in the room was maybe a bit inconvenient. There's no internet, but there's a bar nearby where you can use internet for a moderate fee.

We had a room with a wonderful terrace, that offered the most amazing view over the Amalfi coast, with Positano nearest and the Capri rocks in the distance.
Breakfast is good, nothing very special, but ok, and on a terrace with the same great views.

The owners are very friendly, welcoming and just absolutely nice people. We felt very at ease and welcome.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kardaf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kapaa, Hawaii
Level Contributor
18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2010

The hotel is tucked away below Piazza San Gennaro and its location only adds to its charm. Lugging baggage down tiny avenues and a few flights of steps was no easy task, but the destination made up for this small inconvenience. Our room (triple) had unobstructed views of the Amalfi Coast and breathtaking sunsets. Our hosts, Maria and Giancarmine, were beyond accommodating and helped with many details of our trip - from scheduling a day trip to Capri to familiarizing us with the Amalfi bus system, no question went unanswered. I can't wait to return to this little slice of Italian paradise.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jennyersbak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2010

My husband and I, along with our 4 year old daughter, spent 4 nights at Le Sirene earlier this month. We certainly enjoyed our time there. We loved being in Praiano as it allowed us to be close to Positano and Amalfi but away from the hustle and bustle that comes with those two touristy centres. For us, the peace and quiet of Praiano was perfect. Giancarmine and Maria are wonderful hosts - very helpful and friendly. We loved having dinner at the Trattoria San Gennaro which is along the road, just about Le Sirene. The trattoria's terrace has spectacular views over the Piazza San Gennaro and the Mediterranean. The food is incredible and the family who runs it is very kind and welcoming. We spent part of one day at Marina di Praia Beach in Praiano but did not enjoy it nearly as well as La Gavitella Beach and One Fire Beach (the latter are side by side). You must descend approx. 384 steps to get from Le Sirene to La Gavitella and One Fire - and obviously have to climb back up on your return - but we considered it well worth the effort. The great amenities and atmosphere at One Fire Beach, along with the refreshing Mediterranean water, made it a complete paradise in the extreme July heat. Peppito, the owner of One Fire Beach, is an absolute hoot. We would definitely recommend Le Sirene, even to those travelling with young children as the stairs to and from the hotel and the main road are really not too bad. It's to La Gavitella and One Fire beaches that's tricky with young kids (and the only access to these is on foot) but you can always bus or cab it to Marina di Praia instead for easier access. Our only complaint about Le Sirene was that the bed was extremely uncomfortable. Other than that, it's a beautiful place and very well-located. We felt very much at home.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank leemcgov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2010

My girlfriend and I stayed at Le Sirene for four nights in June, 2010. Although our arrival was slightly difficult (do NOT use directions from Google Maps - it locates the hotel in neighboring Furore... Many unnecessary stairs climbed...), our stay was extremely relaxing.

Nuccio and Maria are very welcoming and have taken wonderful care of the premises. The views are spectacular and the location is ideally situated just beneath piazza San Gennaro. Our room included a wonderful balcony (overlooking the sea), a nicely appointed bathroom, and the usual "matrimoniale" double bed.

Breakfast was included - nice cappuccino, cornetti, fruit salad etc.

We hope to return.

  • Stayed July 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cnstntnrg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Praiano hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Tramonto d'Oro
Hotel Tramonto d'Oro
#5 of 20 in Praiano
4.5 of 5 bubbles 786 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Locanda Costa Diva
0.5 mi away
Hotel Margherita
Hotel Margherita
#2 of 20 in Praiano
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,327 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Hotel Torre Saracena
Hotel Torre Saracena
#9 of 20 in Praiano
4.5 of 5 bubbles 451 reviews
0.2 mi away
Casa Angelina
Casa Angelina
#4 of 20 in Praiano
5.0 of 5 bubbles 765 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Onda Verde
Hotel Onda Verde
#3 of 20 in Praiano
4.5 of 5 bubbles 935 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Le Sirene? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Le Sirene

Property: Hotel Le Sirene
Address: Via San Nicola 10, 84010 Praiano, Italy
Region: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Praiano
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Praiano
#6 Romantic Hotel in Praiano
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Praiano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Le Sirene 2*
Number of rooms: 12
Also Known As:
Le Sirene Hotel
Hotel Le Sirene Praiano, Amalfi Coast, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing