We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“😄”

Ristorante Pepe Nero
Ranked #3 of 539 Restaurants in Prato
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$18 - US$71
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Business meetings, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Lunch, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Reviewed 15 April 2014 via mobile

Extremely pleasant - really worth a visit- have known the staff for a long period and followed here from the previous location

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank harry1249
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mirkoPrato, Direttore generale at Ristorante Pepe Nero, responded to this reviewResponded 11 September 2014
Google Translation

La ringrazio per la recensione e di esser stato presso il nostro ristorante, ci impegneremo a dare sempre di più.

Grazie mille

Mirko Giannoni

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,261)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

18 - 22 of 1,262 reviews

Reviewed 24 May 2013

We were staying at Prato Est and we read previous reviews so we thought we would give it a try. Even if we stay in the middle of Firenze next time we will still go to Pepe Nero.

The food was amazing, so much flavour. Plenty of variety on the menu. Superb wine list, including dessert. And they know their wines.

We spoke only the very basics in Italian, the menu was in Italian and most of them spoke very little if any English. This was not a problem. They had one of their main people wait on us for the night and she was excellent. Very patient, talked us through the menu and wine list the whole time we were there. A genuinely beautiful person.

There was an older gentleman walking around all night serving, clearing plates, laughing and watching. He looked very proud of the restaurant. Pepe Nero? Whoever it was he added to the charm of the place.

Little touches all night such as a hand written saying under your coffee cup.

And it was very reasonably priced considering the quality of the food. We have eaten at many places around the world and really appreciate great experiences and this one is easily towards the top of the list. Thank you Pepe Nero :)

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank ellanor10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mirkoPrato, Proprietario at Ristorante Pepe Nero, responded to this reviewResponded 17 December 2014
Google Translation

Grazie mille di esser stati presso il nostro ristorante e per le belle parole.

Vi aspettiamo

Mirko e Sara

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2012

Mirko Giannoni hits the highest standard for his culinary expertise. We truly had a magnificent meal there. If you are searching for a perfect meal at a reasonable price this is the spot. We so enjoyed the staff and papa too.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank Teri F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mirkoPrato, Proprietario at Ristorante Pepe Nero, responded to this reviewResponded 13 March 2012

it was a pleasure serving you hope one day we will meet again and i hope maybe in siattle bye bye

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2012

We went back to this little place again, (tried to get in near Christmas but it was packed) and have to say more things about this restaurant. They have fantastic variations on classic Tuscan food. One of the appetizers was a Tiramisu of Baccala, made with mashed potatoes and absolutely divine! They make the best and I mean best, fagioli all'uccelletto.This dish was made with fresh tomatoes and tons of garlic and the beans were cooked perfectly, big and plump. We did not have fish this time but in my last review I raved about their fish choices for pasta as well as main courses. We had grilled veal, which was perfect and a filet, same results for that as well.
Desserts are hard to choose and since we were full (unfortunately), we opted for a sweet wine, passito and they brought us a taste of a spicy chocolate sauce to drink with a little fried sweet rice fritter. Fabulous.
The owners are wonderful, (love papa) and really present food with imagination. It is unfortunate that few tourists ever make it to Prato from Florence. In fact it is easier to find good, solid cooking in Prato and Pistoia compared to Florence (unless you spend lots of money in the city for a good meal). This is the town where you can find the famous Biscotti di Prato from the Biscottificio Mattei, the original, the best. You can also do some fantastic wine tasting here and I strongly recommend drinking the wine that is produced in the area because you will taste the smells of the countryside. When you are Pepe Nero, try the local cheeses, and another must is the Acqua Cotta.
One last thing, drink the Barca Reale (red wine), a Carmignano of Capezzana vintners.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
5  Thank snowwhiteMilan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mirkoPrato, Direttore at Ristorante Pepe Nero, responded to this reviewResponded 28 November 2014
Google Translation

Vi ringrazio per le belle parole e vi aspetto presso il nostro ristorante

Mirko e Sara

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 December 2011

Loved this little place. Family owned and operated, excellent menu, excellent food. They offer an amazing fish tagliere, do not miss out on this and share it because it is large if you wish to sample other dishes. Service is good, atmosphere is fine and in fact one of the contemporary art galleries of Prato has placed some of their works in the restaurant. Super clean, super friendly and excellent food. Great bread, focaccia, and pasta dishes. Make reservations!

2  Thank snowwhiteMilan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mirkoPrato, Proprietario at Ristorante Pepe Nero, responded to this reviewResponded 17 December 2014
Google Translation

Grazie mille di esser stati presso il nostro ristorante e per le belle parole.

Vi aspettiamo

Mirko e Sara

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Ristorante Pepe Nero also viewed

Prato, Province of Prato
 
Prato, Province of Prato
 
Prato, Province of Prato
Prato, Province of Prato
 

Been to Ristorante Pepe Nero? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing