We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Romantic getaway”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Baia di Nora

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Baia di Nora
Ranked #6 of 26 Hotels in Pula
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Romantic getaway”
Reviewed 1 July 2013

What a lovely hotel! Professional and helpful staff, clean and well maintained rooms and beautiful surroundings. Me and my partner went in June this year for 1 week and were treated to excellent service and a very relaxed atmosphere. The food was excellent and we had the same waiter all week during dinner and he remembered what we had to drink. I got to practice my Italian a lot and the staff seemed pleased to help me when I stumbled over asking for things. The beach is stunning although sunbeds are chargeable it is comparable to other places we've visited in Europe. Pula is approx. 30 minute walk away or 10 mins by bus (This is very cheap 1 euro!). Pula has some lovely bars and restaurants and wonderful cosmopolitan atmosphere. Went with Thompson and transfers were very efficient and professional with lovely cars. We would definitely recommend the Miramar boat trip on a lovely old schooner. This was such a relaxed day it felt like we were out on a boat with friends, food on board was great and plenty of drinks with opportunity to visit some of the dream beaches and crystal clear waters around the coast. Even the drive to the boat was scenic! The hotel can be expensive for soft drinks but we walked to Pula most days and put drinks in the room fridge and the hotel did not seem to mind.Are there any downsides? Not really our bill at the end of the week was just over £500 (half board) so expect to spend some cash. There are lots of lucky men on the beach but they don't get too close and I would definitely take a phase book. One of the best holidays I've had in a while and made even more so by the fact we got engaged on the beach on the last evening :)))

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WendyC3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel Baia di N... C, Direttore at Baia di Nora, responded to this review, 8 July 2013
Dear Mrs Wendy,

thank you very much for your nice words.
I think that most of the visitors of Tripadvisor will be happy to know what to visit in the surrondings, also by boat.

Since you got engaged during the last evening at the hotel Baia di Nora, we hope to have the pleasure to celebrate your marriage here.... in the best scenario of the South of Sardinia ;-) .

Best wishes,

The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

320 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    143
    120
    37
    14
    6
See reviews for
93
152
11
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
73 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2013

This is definitely a hotel for chilling out with a lovely exclusive beach, attractive pool complex – complete with cushioned loungers – and games areas for young and old. But the first thing that strikes you – and impresses - as you pass through reception on arrival, are the beauty and vibrant colours of the gardens which form the centre piece of the various rooms and apartments. They are impeccably maintained as are the accommodation buildings.

The rooms are spacious, complete with ample cupboard and storage space, a ‘quiet’ fridge and effective black out curtains - all contributing to a good night's rest. The beds are large and comfortable and the rooms are thoroughly cleaned every day even to the extent of replacing the white bedside mats. Bathrooms are less spacious. The wi fi link was easily accessible.

You are given your own free position/umbrella on the beach which, if acceptable to you, you retain during your stay – which means you can come and go knowing the position is kept for you. Towels are supplied, deck chairs are free and beach sun loungers are six euro a day.

The restaurant staff are friendly and courteous and the food is fine. The only downside was the slowness on some days of replenishing buffets at breakfast and for the evening salad bar. It might be a good idea for the hotel to start putting tomatoes on the breakfast buffet too.

Another idea for the hotel would be to add a few more benches to the grassy bank above the beach for patrons, particularly older people, to sit and enjoy the sea and scenery (only one there at the moment and often occupied). It also wouldn't hurt to put the day's weather chart up in reception - a common practice in Italian hotels but not here.

The hotel is only a short walk from impressive Roman ruins and the medieval watch tower. The town of Pula is a good 20 minutes walk away or a local bus ride at two euro cost complete with friendly and helpful driver. Pula itself appears to have expanded in recent years and thus has newish suburb spread surrounding a smallish older town of any interest. The larger town of Cagliari is a half an hour (different) bus ride away (tickets from reception). With its cathedral and historical areas, the town is worth a visit.

The 'word on the street' in Pula was that this hotel is the best of the bunch when compared to the other resort hotels along the southern part of Sardinia. It certainly was ok for us.

Room Tip: All the rooms appear simiilar - but garden facing are probably best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AddickMark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel Baia di N... C, Direttore at Baia di Nora, responded to this review, 8 July 2013
Dear Client,

thank you very much for your comment about the Hotel Baia di Nora.
First of all thank you very much indeed for the suggestion you gave us: we appreciate a lot when our customers help us in pointing out how we can improve our performance and make your holiday unforgettable.

So we all really hope to see you again: we have just made a reservation for benches above the beach so you will have again the chance to sit and enjoy the sea and scenery.

Best regards,

The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
53 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 November 2012

We had a 1-week family holiday in Sardinia (daughters 5y and 9m). We chose the family room that has a small upstairs, which was perfect. The first thing I can say is that we all slept very well, which is the first condition for a good holiday. Short walk to the beach, which yes, is a bit packed, but given the enhanced activity mode with our daughters we did not really mind. Staff was helpful. Food at the restaurant was good but did repeat itself quite often (did we really mind? only meant we were treated quite often to spaghetti with clams and fresh fish...). Very helpful in preparing food for our baby. The only thing that bothered us was the very noise carts that are used to carry just about anything around the hotel, which made it difficult for us to ensure a good nap for the baby in the afternoon. All-in-all value for money is not really great; we recalled having stayed in a (nicer) 5-star hotel in the northern part of the island a few years previously, for just about the same money, which we thought did offer more - is is true however that we had stayed in June, usually less expensive than the end of August.

Room Tip: Definitely choose a room with garden view or fountain view. The classic rooms partly face a small ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bre71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel Baia di N... C, Direttore at Baia di Nora, responded to this review, 14 November 2012
Dear Sirs,
Thank you very much for the nice words you spent for us.
Also your observation about our offer is very useful for us to improve our service.
About the noise made by the carts we will try to find out a solution in order to guarantee the quite for the afternoon nap of our clients. Speaking about the food at lunch time our buffet is composed by a very rich variety of hot and cold dishes and for dinner, we always propose three different choices of “first course” and three different choices of “second course” that we never repeat during the same week. We choose the ingredients of the season in order to guarantee always fresh food, but on demand, we can cook special dishes.
As you know we are a four star hotel and during the last five years hotel prices changed a lot everywhere. As you correctly said, June is consider low season, expecially in the north of Sardinia where the weather is colder than in the south: our high season is longer as the sea temperature is warmer until the end of September.

We hope to see you again and to repeat your holiday experience with us also in May or September.

Best regards,

The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2012

Very impressed with this seaside hotel, which we chose thanks to Trip Adviser. Individual rooms, on ground or first floor, grouped around a charming and well-landscaped garden; access to a well-designed swimming pool and (for a small extra fee) to deckchairs or loungers on a section of the beach. Good swimming. The hotel is not cheap, but well worth the price, and half-board extremely good value. The hotel is luxurious without being grand or pretentious. The restaurant good although the food was not outstanding or remarkable: rather bland in fact (and no sardines to be had, even for ready money). The rooms generous and comfortable (air conditioning necessary, and working) and clean. The staff courteous and efficient. The hotel seems very good for children (grounds safe and secure) and for the elderly or disabled. Nearby are the ruins of the ancient city of Nora, and the agreeable town of Pula is within walking distance. Eight days at the Hotel Baia Di Nora was one of the most enjoyable sedentary holidays I have had: much to be recommended. We did not want to leave (60 euros, by the way, for a taxi to Cagliari airport).

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Egregious
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel Baia di N... C, Direttore at Baia di Nora, responded to this review, 14 November 2012
Dear Sir,

We are very grateful for the time you spent giving us your feedback about your holiday that seems to have been very nice.

We are happy knowing that you enjoyed the food even if, as you wrote, it was a little bit bland: our clients are very different in needs and food preferences so that we have to adapt our offer to this very heterogeneous audience.

We hope to see you again next year and the Maitre d' will be very glad to serve you a nice dish of (charcool grilled sardines :-)) ).

Best regards,
The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peebles, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
73 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2012

Stayed a week for son's wedding. Delightful surroundings, particularly beautiful, colourful gardens. Apart from our party of family & friends most of the other guests were Italian. The ages in our party ranged from 6 months to 70+ and we all loved the hotel - the staff were particularly good with the young children. The staff were couteous, professional & generally very friendly. Service at meal times could be slow, particularly if you had an out-of-the-way table but the food was of a very high standard & not the usual package holiday fare.
The pool area was great with a very good pool bar & 3 pools & comfortable sunbeds. The beach was small but adequate, but could not understand why sunbeds were charged for, although the excellent quality towels were free. Stayed at the pool area as the sunbeds were much more comfortable & free.
The wedding meal & arrangements were excellent, although I struggled with the amount of courses & preponderance of fish & seafood, but most of our party loved the seafood. A lovely place for a quiet relaxing holiday & for a wedding reception.

Room Tip: Loved our garden view room with quiet terrace, rather than rear facing rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marianne1943
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel Baia di N... C, Direttore at Baia di Nora, responded to this review, 14 November 2012
Dear Sir,

We are very glad to know that you and your guests enjoyed everything.

We hope to see you again in our hotel to celebrate your anniversary or just to have a nice and comfortable holiday in a place already homely and familiar with you.

Best regards,
The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 October 2011

Immensely disappointed. This should be a nice hotel, but surly and unhelpful staff spoilt it. If you book ten rooms for three nights, as I did for a special trip, you might just think that the staff would want to make us feel a bit special. But no, they made us feel as though they would be much happier if we weren't there. Service was poor during the day, with the poolside bar never attended, and positively surly in the evening - the bar was shut prior to the advertised times, and the barman was clearly offended that he had to work "late" on the one night that the bar was open (following a request to the manager). On our last night, they deliberately shut the bar as we arrived back from dinner. Were we a bunch of louts? - no, just a group trying to enjoy a special trip and have a companionable drink together. Surely not too much to expect from a four star hotel? The trip cost alot of money - and of course complaining afterwards (or at the time) only leaves a sour taste when what we wanted were some very happy memories. I am afraid that with this sort of attitude, the hotel does not deserve to prosper.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Paul B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2011

Stayed here for ten days on half-board. Plenty of fresh produce at breakfast and dinner, but cooked food generally bland; also over-cooked pasta (in Italy!) one night and seriously over-cooked fish twice. Markups on even modest wines 500+% by comparison with Pula supermarket. Ground-floor room spacious; mattress past its best. Bathroom: sink, toilet, bidet and mini shower stall. Plumbing noise and footsteps from surrounding rooms. Minimal hotel information in room. Inquiry to front desk about absence of an allegedly available TV channel - we speak good Italian, a decided asset - led to 24 hours of assurances that the channel would be restored, culminating in an admission that the hotel satellite dish could not in fact receive it. No one on front desk at all when we returned to the hotel one night at midnight. Room well cleaned, although at times varying from during breakfast to late afternoon; maid left it unlocked one day. Bed linen changed twice, bath and beach towels daily. Three-section pool, feeble jacuzzi; no spa. Hotel fronts on narrowest part of the very clean beach; sunbeds on its patch are crowded together in three rows, not the two shown on the website, and cost 6 euros per day each. Check-out was slow: we had to ask for the bill to be altered because no account had been taken of the substantial deposit paid on booking and then two tries were needed to find a credit-card machine that worked. Oh, and the hotel offered, on booking, a taxi transfer from Cagliari at 70 euros each way, compared with "the 100 euros you will be charged at the airport"; we found, after a two-minute Web search, a transfer at 60 euros each way by a firm that the hotel itself advertises! The gardens are indeed beautifully kept, but overall the hotel shows insufficient concern for its guests and offers poor value for money.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Ch0irman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pula
1.7 mi away
Hotel Costa dei Fiori
Hotel Costa dei Fiori
#2 of 14 in Santa Margherita di Pula
759 reviews
0.8 mi away
Lantana Resort, Hotel & Apartments
2.6 mi away
Hotel Flamingo
Hotel Flamingo
#9 of 14 in Santa Margherita di Pula
840 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
28.4 mi away
Pullman Timi Ama Sardegna
Pullman Timi Ama Sardegna
#4 of 33 in Villasimius
1,215 reviews
6.0 mi away
Forte Village Resort - Hotel Castello
Forte Village Resort - Hotel Cas...
#1 of 14 in Santa Margherita di Pula
490 reviews
27.2 mi away
Hotel Cormoran
Hotel Cormoran
#7 of 33 in Villasimius
326 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Baia di Nora? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Baia di Nora

Property: Baia di Nora
Address: Localita su Guventeddu SS 195 | Nora, 09010, Pula, Sardinia, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Sardinia > Province of Cagliari > Pula
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Pula
#5 Luxury Hotel in Pula
#7 Family Hotel in Pula
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Baia di Nora 4*
Number of rooms: 121
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Baia di Nora is a 4 star hotel that lies along the south coast of Sardinia, one of this island’s most fascinating and unusual areas, only a few minutes away from the ancient Phoenician city of Nora. You will feel at home at Hotel Baia di Nora, thanks to its elegant 120 rooms tucked away in nature, its private white-sand beach and the clear blue waters of the sea, that will make your holiday very relaxing,far away from the city lifestyle and surrounded only by the nature of the Mediterranean. At Hotel Baia di Nora’s Restaurant you can enjoy the many dishes of Sardinian tradition along with an excellent selection of local and international wines. At the Snack Bar you can taste a quick snack, a salad or a sandwich for lunch and you may also have an aperitif or sip a cocktail.Whether you come here with your partner or family, you will have everything you need to rest and relax to the full. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Priceline, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Baia di Nora reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Baia Di Nora Pula
Baia Di Nora Sardinia/Pula

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing