We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A haven of tranquility”
Review of Nora Club Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Nora Club Hotel
Ranked #6 of 24 Hotels in Pula
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 May 2014

The Nora Club Hotel exceeds all expectations of what one would hope for whilst on vacation. Run by Madam Cappellari and her excellent staff Nora Club this hidden gem is an ideal location to relax and unwind.
The swimming pool sits in a tropical Garden of Eden where one can sunbathe or sit in shade and read a book. The staff will bring you afternoon tea, a glass of wine, or a beer whilst you sit and relax - nothing is too much trouble.
Breakfast is long and unhurried with Valentino and Sarah looking after your every need from fresh fruit to egg and ham washed down with tea and coffee so one could sit and chat under the Al Fresco canopy all morning.
A truly small hotel of excellence but with the service you would expect from one much larger.
The rooms are set around the tropical garden and with first class air conditioning in the rooms which can be self-programmed from silent to full boost you are never uncomfortable.
A short walk, or a drive, from the hotel takes you into the small town of Pula where you are spoilt for choice of restaurants and pizzerias. You could also take one of the push bikes and cycle !!!!!!!!
Spoilt for choice and unsure where to go or what to do, just ask Francesco on the desk who can advise on anything from local attractions to best restaurants, and his English is first class so no need to try out your phrasebook Italian if you are not comfortable.
A visit to Nora Club Hotel should not pass without enjoying dinner in Terme de Nora. A family run restaurant less that a 5 minute walk from the hotel. Superb food and wine served by a wonderful family.
An excellent vacation retreat from which you would return and recommend to all of your friends - we have and no one who followed us has been disappointed.
One could not ask for a better vacation retreat in which to relax and unwind. Mr. and Mrs. B

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank billbookless
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (265)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

58 - 64 of 265 reviews

Reviewed 1 November 2013

This is a great place to kick back and relax for a week. Located a mile from the centre of Pula town, the hotel is an oasis of calm.

It has a lovely swimming pool with beautifully maintained gardens (the handyman is constantly busy at work!). The breakfasts are excellent – fresh food and great coffee. The real winner, in my opinion, is the level of service provided by the waiters and waitresses. Whether it is an extra cappuccino at breakfast or bringing you a beer by the pool, they are constantly friendly, helpful and pleasant.

The bedrooms are also wonderful, very clean and spacious with a great shower.

The weather here in late September / early October was very good – high 20s / early 30s and every day bar one was a potential day for sunbathing (the other was overcast but not wet). You are also within easy reach of many very nice beaches (assuming you hire a car, which I believe is a complete necessity for Sardinia – the local drivers are fine from our experience).

Francesco on the front desk speaks excellent English and can help for any queries.

We would definitely return.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank facepalm10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2013

Beautiful gardens kept immaculately, rooms that managed to be a good size but still cosy, top notch airco that was silent and completely programmable meant no need to open windows and so... no mosquitoes at all in the room, a decent-sized pool and as much fruit you can eat at breakfast (along with the more trad ham eggs and so on) – this little vision of pure heaven was the base of our week-long southern Sardinian holiday, Nora Club Hotel.

It’s always a bit of a risk booking based on what you see online, but we decided all these Trip Advisor reviews couldn’t be wrong. I’m happy to add to the positive feedback since there isn’t one thing I would change. We like holidays that have a balance of chilling out time and exploration.

From the really good caipirinhas served at the pool side by very friendly hotel staff, to the prehistoric sites, amazing beaches and good snorkelling a short drive away, this break had it all.

Negatives were only to do with the local town of Pula – hard to find anywhere to eat that wasn’t echoing to tinny pop, one restaurant we tried kept us waiting for our one course meal while all around us people who had arrived considerably after us had had their started and were onto their next course. When we tentatively mentioned this, we were told to be patient.

But these were minor jangles and since the hotel serves a basic evening menu we often ate in the gardens, by far the most attractive space we saw. Good pasta, excellent local white wine, the sky turning indigo, the smell of a riot of jasmine – who needs more?

Finally, as others have mentioned, Francesco was very helpful and suggested a day out on a little schooner that was absolutely unforgettable. It is called Milmar. If you like boats, check it out, the capn' is Roberto (not much English): 0039 338 482 7190 or ask Francesco for info. It was great to do the trip under sail rather than by motor. The best beach they take you too is inaccessible by land. Think of taking a snorkelling kit. Wonderful clam pasta for lunch, water so turquoise you pinch yourself and a beautiful wooden schooner to enjoy for the day.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Abi A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2013

Really a collection of villas/cottages around a nice pool. (Although if folks all wanted to stay by the pool you could encounter towel booking- not a big problem but there was potential).
Breakfast limited but relaxing spread round the terraces.
Francesco on reception very helpful and the Roman ruins at Nora a half hour walk worth exploring.
Not many attractions locally so 3 or 4 nights would do. Pula had more to it than we expected with plenty of restaurants to choose from as no dinner at the hotel. Great beaches a 20 minute drive away (bed and shade 15Euros)
A good start to a Sardinian holiday

Room Tip: I think ours was 45 which was a bit small.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OlePompey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2013

We stayed for 2 weeks in September 2013.

Hotel - beautiful gardens, very well maintained with a lovely pool. Nice seating area for breakfast which was a small but nice spread. Excellent location, very quiet 15 mins walk to town, 20 mins walk to nearest beach. Staff were lovely, service was excellent and Marco gave us some fantastic restaurant recommendations. The hotel was very quiet night and day and somewhat lacking in atmosphere in the evening. The hotel offers really good pizzas via the local takeaway in the evening and a small selection of pasta and salads which are nice but nothing special.

Rooms - for a 4 star hotel we were underwhelmed. The 2 ground floor rooms we had whilst very clean, were smallish and dark, with the bathrooms in need of some updating and hot water lacking on occasion. The patio's were very small and afforded excellent views of...bushes! They were not appealing to spend time sitting on.

Beaches - well worth hiring a car, spectacular beaches to be found in La Piñata (20 mins drive) and Cala Chipola in Chia (30 mins). Local beach at Nora pleasant but not in the same league.

Pula - small and quiet, centred around a small square with half a dozen restaurants with outdoor seating. The better restaurants were to be found outside the square, tucked away in the side streets or on the road into town. Zia Leunora had a lovely garden and was good for seafood, Machri on the main road was the best in town, really modern and contemporary, lovely seafood and pasta.

The hotel really is very nice and the staff are great, we would have rated it higher had the rooms been better

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank London3836
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2013

we stayed at this hotel two years ago, and really liked it. Small, lovely gardens, excellent staff. Rooms set around the pool in small blocks. This year, as my wife had been ill, we wanted somewhere quiet and relaxing. There have been some improvements which have enhanced the hotel. Two loggias built out from the main building provide for outdoor dining, under cover. The Breakfast is now a very good buffet, and is also outside. After our comments two years ago, there is now scrambled egg, and you can order, at no charge, specialist coffee and fresh juice. The coffe at the buffet is the one weak point! Cona type. Gardens as lovely as ever, never seen so many different flowering shrubs. Staff as pleasant as ever. Presided over by the Senora, in her office! There is a spa, where we had some massages, and a gym and jacuzzi, the latter we did not see used. They now do lunches, which you have outside, which is another good addition. You can also order oizza in the evening, and eat by candlelight. All in all a really nice hotel, and a lot more english people than before. Word spreads! Some caveats, the aircon is rather load, and some guests like to conduct conversations, late at night , in the gardens, which can disturb. Minor concerns, overall. Excellent, covered, parking. we intend to return!

Room Tip: Choose an upstairs room with a private terrace, really perfect
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank lteast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2013

I don't normally bother writing 3* reviews as there are too many places that are 'average'. However, breaking my own rule here as I had put a lot of research into finding somewhere special for the 2nd part of our Sardinian holiday. Based on earlier reviews and the hotel's own description of being "unique and magic", we were expecting something very special for this 4* 'Hotel and Spa'.

There are many positives to Nora Club: it is well run and maintained; comfortable; decent breakfast; little things thought of (eg fly killer spray in room); and most of all is in walking distances of the town and two beaches (if you like secluded, Foxi is lovely).

However, based on our expectations it didn't quite deliver: whilst pretty, the grounds are quite cramped; all the loungers are very close together and only round the pool edge; the 'private patio' was cramped and unappealing (2 chairs and table in small space between bedroom and hedge); the spa appeared closed throughout our stay with no information available (it appears quite small); the member of staff we saw most was the maintenance man, who obviously worked hard, but he never once responded to our 'buongiorno', 'ciao' or smiles (in my opinion it is the job of all staff to make guests feel welcome, especially one so visible); some fittings are a bit worn (e.g shower door, some tiles, etc); there were a number of businessmen staying there who always seemed to have breakfast at the same time as us: as a hotel-staying-businessman myself I didn't really like being surrounded by them when in a holiday "escape" hotel (it had been fully booked for a few weeks in advance so not a case of last minute lettings of empty rooms).

None of the aspects above are major in themselves and many are personal taste; and the hotel made a more than adequate base for exploring the wonderful area. However, when combined they do not add up to what either my wife or I would describe as "unique and magic".

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank St39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pula
2.1 mi away
Hotel Costa dei Fiori
Hotel Costa dei Fiori
#2 of 14 in Santa Margherita di Pula
873 reviews
0.1 mi away
Lantana Resort, Hotel & Apartments
0.8 mi away
Baia di Nora
Baia di Nora
#10 of 24 in Pula
368 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
135.3 mi away
Hotel Panorama
Hotel Panorama
#1 of 40 in Olbia
763 reviews
113.2 mi away
Villa Las Tronas Hotel  & Spa
3 mi away
Hotel Flamingo
Hotel Flamingo
#10 of 14 in Santa Margherita di Pula
930 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nora Club Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nora Club Hotel

Address: Viale Nora, s.n.c., 09010, Pula, Sardinia, Italy
Region: Italy > Sardinia > Province of Cagliari > Pula
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Pula
#2 Business Hotel in Pula
#5 Luxury Hotel in Pula
#5 Family Hotel in Pula
Price Range: £113 - £169 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Nora Club Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Nora Club Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nora Hotel Cagliari
Nora Club Hotel Sardinia/Pula

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing