We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Luxury and value”
Review of Villa del Lauro

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Villa del Lauro
Ranked #22 of 38 Hotels in Ragusa
Dover, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Luxury and value”
Reviewed 19 October 2012

We recently spent three days here with our daughter, had Lovely two room suite at a reasonable price including a hearty breakfast with fresh cappuccino. The staff was helpful. Would recommend it highly.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank okiedover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

138 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    70
    46
    15
    6
    1
See reviews for
26
70
6
11
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
121 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2012

This charming hotel has the potential to become a little jewel, but they're not there yet.
It used to be a private house that has been restored and some rooms of the common areas retain a lovely atmosphere.
I personally did not like the rugs and textiles in various shades of purple as well as the modern lightings, but the overall look is nice.
We were given a spacious room, a junior suite with a large bathroom overlooking the garden and the swimming pool area, which gets the sunshine in the morning and early afternoon only. I agree with a previous reviewer who said there are no comfortable chairs around and we were also not given any beach towels.
A big let down is given by the fact that there is no disclaimer sign in the bathroom to indicate whether guests choose to have the towels changed or not, and yet they did not change ours, we found them hung on hooks.
The air conditioning system is very noisy and there is no wifi apart from the breakfast room.
Breakfast was OK, with a choiuce of sweet and savoury foods and fresh fruit, but nothing special.
We also experienced a problem with water supply, so we had to be taken to a separate structure across the street to take a shower. The receptionist did all they could to minimise the inconvenience.
To finish, the location is good for the old part of town, Ragusa Ibla.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ariel16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orgeval, Ile-de-France, France
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2012

we stayed one week in august with my husband and my two kids. First of all everything was ok : good welcome, well decorated rooms, beautiful architecture and good localisation). But the following days, we had a lot of problems (one or two would have been ok) that couldn't happen in a 4 star hotel :
- conditioned air system failed and a lot of of water on the ground of the kids room; we've been told by the receiption to leave the windows shut
- no bread at the beakfast time for those who sleep until 9h45 (the breakfast finishes at 10h)
- no chocolate cereals for the kids for 3 mornings
- and the worst ! no available table for us and 4 other clients 2 mornings (we were waiting for a table in the stairs !!!)
- there is no relaxing chairs around the swimming pool ; we've beeen told that most clients don't stay all the day at the hotel because they go for visiting so relaxing chairs are not useful.
- no wifi in the rooms neither in the garden (just in the breakfast room ; great, for a 4 star hotel)
- one morning we were waken up by a big noise in a garden. A mess !! the garden was been mowed !! At 8 o'clock in the morning !!

What a pity for this cosy and well located hotel. If you like 4 star hotel services, don't go there. Just go and have a look at the decoration if you like interior decoration.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kiddyboots
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
77 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2012

Stayed here with 8 mothers for work. We all had our own rooms and each room was unique!.. Close to everything you could ever want to do in the city. Enjoyed Prosecco at the pool one afternoon, delightful! Great location, beautifuly done. A great place to stay!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Matt P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, uk
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 July 2011

In thirty years of travelling to Italy this is one of the most charming hotels we have stayed in. On our arrival we received a wonderful, warm welcome from Francesca who gave us plenty of information that would prove useful to us in the days ahead. We had intended to stay for four days but we were so enchanted by both Ragusa and the Villa Lauro that we stayed for a week. Our room was on two levels with a kitchen/diner at entry level and a well equipped bedroom and spacious bathroom upstairs.From our French windows we had access to a small balcony with private steps to a beautiful garden and two pools which were a very welcome haven in the hot afternoons. A delicious breakfast, served in a sunny morning room overlooking the garden, provided an excellent start to the day.

Room Tip: Our room was a superior one with Fench windows which opened on to a small balcony with steps leading...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank triclinium
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
1 review
Reviewed 12 April 2011

A delicious pool in a lush green garden --in the middle of the hot stone city-- was a real treat. We always had the pool and garden to ourselves. ....Here --as in other hotels-- I crammed a 14-yr-old and a 10-yr-old into a sole room with us 2 parents (two double beds, a single bathroom)... but here, we used the public areas as an extension of our family space and it made a huge difference. (The elegant breakfast rooms, the lawn, the double pool, the garden showers and even garden WCs.)

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AAinNY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ragusa hotels
0.9 mi away
Villa Boscarino
Villa Boscarino
#10 of 38 in Ragusa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 84 reviews
0.5 mi away
San Giorgio Palace Hotel
0.1 mi away
La Dimora di Piazza Carmine
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
De Stefano Palace Luxury Hotel
0.3 mi away
Relais Antica Badia
Relais Antica Badia
#4 of 38 in Ragusa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 534 reviews
2.5 mi away
Villa Carlotta Hotel
Villa Carlotta Hotel
#17 of 38 in Ragusa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 250 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa del Lauro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa del Lauro

Property: Villa del Lauro
Address: Via Ecce Homo 11, 97100, Ragusa, Sicily, Italy
Region: Italy > Sicily > Province of Ragusa > Ragusa
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#13 Luxury Hotel in Ragusa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Villa del Lauro 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Villa del Lauro is the best place for even the most demanding tourist. It is a very peaceful place for a stay where you can have every type of quality service and comforts together with a culture and art experience. Everyone has the feeling of being in a place out of time, thanks to smell and colours of the garden and the swimming pool with its spa zone. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and Hotel.de so you can book your Villa del Lauro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Del Lauro Sicily/Ragusa, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing