We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel in a historic building”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Relais Antica Badia
Ranked #6 of 37 Hotels in Ragusa
Certificate of Excellence
Bedford, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Lovely hotel in a historic building”
Reviewed 29 June 2013

Only spent one light in our stone barrel vaulted room at this wonderful hotel - wish it could have been longer. Room beautifully appointed and public spaces tastefully decorated with high ceilinged breakfast room. Staff very helpful and cheap parking on site a real bonus. Only a 10 Euro taxi ride to restaurants in the lower town.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank RPG_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

540 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    379
    115
    36
    6
    4
See reviews for
76
328
14
37
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2013

This amazing place is unique. Besides the extremely well decorated rooms (we had Magnolia), the staff is just superb. Nothing is too much to ask. Location in Ragusa is great and with a 10 mins walk to the old city you can't go wrong.
The breakfast is extensive and dinner at the restaurant was great. We'll go back!

Room Tip: Try Magnolia with the terrace!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ilankon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tel Aviv, Israel
1 review
Reviewed 22 May 2013

We spent one night in this amazing and splendid hotel. The suite that we had got was large, comfortable and well equipped. The staff had been very responsive and supportive which made our stay very pleasant. Breakfast was superb and parking was close and very convenient

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ayala S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winchester England
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 May 2013

A painstakingly restored baroque palace with sumptuous public rooms.
We spent 5 nights in this hotel and it proved to be a great base from which to explore the area. All the staff we met were very friendly, ultra keen to be helpful, efficient and all spoke excellent English.
Inner courtyard parking approached through a tricky narrow archway off a busy road - once through the arch reception staff provide valet parking.Good sized room with separate sitting area. Thoughtfully furnished with a large comfortable bed, lovely soft furnishings. and plenty of storage. Decent, if smallish bathroom with a multi function shower. All spotlessly clean. Beds turned down each evening.
Breakfast was good on cakes, cold meats and cheeses. Hot drinks excellent. But croissants and toasting facilities would have improved things.
Wifi only available in reception,thick walls, and a bit slow.
Would recommend this hotel to anyone staying in Ragusa and would certainly return.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter071
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woodcliff Lake, New Jersey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2013

Just returned from Ragusa Sicily and the Hotel Antica Badia and I can,t say enough about how well me and my family were treated the Staff Ignazio, Maria and Michael were the most helpful
they handle all your travel needs and are fantastic the rooms are beautiful and very clean
the food is to die for and being from the New york City I've been to great resturants but the food there is second to none Can't wait to return
Gino B & Family, New Jersey

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Gino B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Isle of Man, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2013

We spent 8 nights in what must have been one of the most charming hotels we have visited in a long time. The staff are hospitable, caring and could not have done more for us from the moment they welcomed us to the hotel until the moment we left. Our room, Magnolia, was superbly decorated with a beautiful curved ceiling, a balcony which surrounded two sides of our room allowing us to sit outside in the morning sun and relax and an unusual and brightly decorated bathroom. As a base for Ragusa, Ragusa Ibla and the surrounding area this hotel could not be better placed either for business or leisure. Antica Bafia Relais is in itself a fascinating building and the decor of this Sicilian town palace has been maintained to a very high standard, each room having its own character.

Room Tip: The junior suite Magnolia, is quiet, spacious with a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EVRTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Istanbul, Turkey
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2013

This hotel is very boutique in every way. All rooms are different as it is renovated old building. Rooms are very nicely redecorated in a modern style. Service is boutique as the hotel, smiling faces and very helpful staff. There are sometimes small issues with the infrastructure but these smiling faces try to solve the problems as best as they can. In our case they did resolve the problem and make up for it.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank liskit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ragusa
0.7 mi away
San Giorgio Palace Hotel
3.9 mi away
Artemisia Resort
Artemisia Resort
#1 of 37 in Ragusa
625 reviews
7.0 mi away
Eremo della Giubiliana
Eremo della Giubiliana
#5 of 37 in Ragusa
445 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.6 mi away
Hotel Poggio del Sole Resort
31.6 mi away
Hotel Principe di Fitalia Wellness & SPa
3.7 mi away
La dimora di Spartivento
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Relais Antica Badia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Relais Antica Badia

Property: Relais Antica Badia
Address: Corso Italia 115, 97100, Ragusa, Sicily, Italy (Formerly Antica Badia Relais Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Sicily > Province of Ragusa > Ragusa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Ragusa
#1 Family Hotel in Ragusa
#2 Spa Hotel in Ragusa
#4 Luxury Hotel in Ragusa
#5 Business Hotel in Ragusa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Relais Antica Badia 5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Relais Antica Badia is set in a grand 18th-century villa in the centre of Ragusa, a 5-minute walk from the Ibleo Archaeological Museum. It features a luxury spa with sauna, Turkish bath and massage service. Its large halls have Baroque-style frescoes.The hotel has comfortable guest rooms, elegantly decorated with luxury fabrics and antique furniture from Sicily and all of Europe.The heritage of the Antica Badia Relais has been beautifully preserved during its renovation. It is complimented by a range of modern technologies including conference facilities and free Internet connection.Sample some delicious Sicilian dishes at the hotel's restaurant, all prepared using only the finest and freshest ingredients. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, ACCOR, Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Priceline and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Relais Antica Badia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Relais Antica Badia Sicily/Ragusa, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing