We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Memorable Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Relais Antica Badia
Ranked #8 of 37 Hotels in Ragusa
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 July 2014

We had a memorable stay at this truly beautiful hotel. The atmosphere is warm and friendly. After we were shown to our room we were taken on a tour through this amazing palazzo. The buffet breakfast was vast and comprehensive and the rooms where we ate it a joy. The staff were all very pleasant and very competent, especially Heloise and Michele, and gave good advice when asked. Michele hired a car and driver for us one day so we could visit other towns and sites and this was a great success. We look forward to returning one day.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank MandR H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (565)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

82 - 88 of 565 reviews

Reviewed 22 June 2014

This hotel is located inside a small palace erected following the late 17th century earthquake that destroyed much of Ragusa. It combines palatial opulence with modern touches and style. You turn off the main road Into a charming stone courtyard and the hotel entrance is on the left. The amazing front desk staff will park your car for you, check you in, and whisk your bags to your room. They are also excellent at arranging for tours, dinner reservations, and transportation back and forth. You are made to feel like a welcome guest in a private home. Dinner can be arranged on the terrace but it can get windy so only go that route if it is a calm and warm evening; there are many dining options either walking distance in Ragusa proper or a short taxi ride away in the old town of Ibla. Regardless you must visit Ibla to get the charm of this medieval city, very walkable and safe. Ragusa has a tremendous collection of Baroque buildings so bring your camera as the style is not to be missed. While the hotel has no bar per se, the staff will serve you drinks in one of the gilded private rooms on the second floor, making you feel a bit like the Baron himself. Breakfast rooms are also on the second floor, and the fare is simple and traditional Sicilian.

Room Tip: Each room has its own unique charm and trendy touches which are worked in to the decor. We reserved...
See more room tips
Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
1  Thank Aurelie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2014

A wonderful welcome, helpful and friendly service; nothing seemed too much trouble for Michele and the staff at this palazzo style hotel. Our room was comfortable and spacious and we didn't even much mind the rococo feel of the place. So if your priority is great service and staff rather than 'hip boutique' then this is the place for you. Good location; walk down the many steps to Ibla, check out the Quattro Gatti for supper, and get a taxi back (Michele will arrange for Giuseppe to pick you up). The only reason it's a four star review, not five, is that breakfast didn't stand out, although if you like your Italian torte then you won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PietroRD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2014

The hotel was a great experience from the room to the restaurant. The staff was very helpful in suggesting other restaurants and interesting sites to visit. We had an excellent time and would recommend it to others.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Tibi123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2014

This is a very nice hotel, and the staff couldn't be more helpful. Our first room was very atmospheric, stone barrel vaults but dark and claustrophobic. Luckily the bed was broken so they upgraded us to a sea of scarlet taffeta. ( all the rooms are named after flowers with matching décor). However a little editing might make it seem less like an auction house.
Breakfast was delicious. Fresh ( and I mean fresh, just squeezed) orange juice and lots of choice of pastries and eggs ( bit over cooked for me). Try the warm sugary croissants with an array of spreads including crème patisserie and New Yorkers will know where Dominque Ansel got his inspiration for his oh-so-trendy cronuts.
Location perfect for half of the town but it would have been a long walk to the Ibla. Not many restaurants locally either that we could find, perhaps we should have tried the hotel.
As usual, the wifi only worked in the reception, as usual they expressed surprise but it seems to be an almost universal problem in Sicily.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Economistmum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2014

This is a good hotel . My room was nice but decorated in sleek modern fixtures. This was in contrast to the public rooms which were in the style of grand 18th century ballrooms with over the top Murano glass chandeliers. The servers at breakfast seemed overwhelmed by our small (10 people) tour group.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pauline C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2014

The hotel decor combines traditional baroque and Italian contemporary in an unsettling way. It will not be to everyone's taste. For example, in the confined space of a small elevator one is confronted with red leather padding, a turquoise interior door, chrome hardware and an oriental rug. By contrast, the dining and public areas use dust ruffles and silk pads to excess.

With all of the attention spent on decorating, little thought was given to guest comfort in the public areas. There is no place where one can sit in a comfortable chair and read a book or newspaper.

The rooms are certainly large and comfortable, and the beds are excellent. But the wi-fi never worked, despite our informing the front desk repeatedly. Room furnishings are oriented more toward design impact than practicality. The red leather chaise in our chandeliered room was certainly striking, but rather useless.

We received a very pleasant welcome and much-needed assistance in parking our car. But staff performance thereafter was uneven. Not hostile, but not terribly welcoming or helpful either, and some of the staff just didn't seem happy. On two different occasions we were asked somewhat suspiciously whether we were guests at the hotel.

Clearly a lot of effort and expense has gone into converting these two mansions into a hotel. They certainly are trying hard. But my impression is that the hotel lacks experienced management. It does not yet have the little touches or the overall know-how to be a truly fine five-star hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank andybaum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ragusa hotels
0.7 mi away
San Giorgio Palace Hotel
3.9 mi away
Artemisia Resort
Artemisia Resort
#1 of 37 in Ragusa
684 reviews
7 mi away
Eremo della Giubiliana
Eremo della Giubiliana
#4 of 37 in Ragusa
490 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.6 mi away
Hotel Poggio del Sole Resort
0.2 mi away
De Stefano Palace Luxury Hotel
0.5 mi away
Locanda Don Serafino
Locanda Don Serafino
#31 of 37 in Ragusa
213 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Relais Antica Badia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Relais Antica Badia

Address: Corso Italia 115, 97100, Ragusa, Sicily, Italy (Formerly Antica Badia Relais Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Sicily > Province of Ragusa > Ragusa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Ragusa
#3 Spa Hotel in Ragusa
#5 Business Hotel in Ragusa
#5 Luxury Hotel in Ragusa
Price Range: £84 - £303 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Relais Antica Badia 5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Relais Antica Badia is set in a grand 18th-century villa in the centre of Ragusa, a 5-minute walk from the Ibleo Archaeological Museum. It features a luxury spa with sauna, Turkish bath and massage service. Its large halls have Baroque-style frescoes.The hotel has comfortable guest rooms, elegantly decorated with luxury fabrics and antique furniture from Sicily and all of Europe.The heritage of the Antica Badia Relais has been beautifully preserved during its renovation. It is complimented by a range of modern technologies including conference facilities and free Internet connection.Sample some delicious Sicilian dishes at the hotel's restaurant, all prepared using only the finest and freshest ingredients. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Relais Antica Badia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Relais Antica Badia Sicily/Ragusa, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing