We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Location” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Relais Antica Badia

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Relais Antica Badia
Ranked #4 of 39 Hotels in Ragusa
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2014

Very good location, charming reception, rooms with lots of character. I would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone. Although the sicilian breakfast was not our favourite (lots of cakes), everything works well with us.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Loi W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

527 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    371
    112
    36
    5
    3
See reviews for
73
323
14
34
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2014 via mobile

If you are an American tourist visiting Ragusa this is a great hotel for you. If not I would try to find a place in the old town.

We stayed here for two nights and it was good. Staff was nice and helpful and the room was attended to several times a day. The house itself is spectacular but the room we got, a superior, was more like an average modern business hotel.

In conclusion we where happy with our stay but considering the quite high price and the standard of our room it would not be my first choice if I were to visit Ragusa again.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Nils H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2014

We had a memorable stay at this truly beautiful hotel. The atmosphere is warm and friendly. After we were shown to our room we were taken on a tour through this amazing palazzo. The buffet breakfast was vast and comprehensive and the rooms where we ate it a joy. The staff were all very pleasant and very competent, especially Heloise and Michele, and gave good advice when asked. Michele hired a car and driver for us one day so we could visit other towns and sites and this was a great success. We look forward to returning one day.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank MandR H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Andover, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2014

This hotel is located inside a small palace erected following the late 17th century earthquake that destroyed much of Ragusa. It combines palatial opulence with modern touches and style. You turn off the main road Into a charming stone courtyard and the hotel entrance is on the left. The amazing front desk staff will park your car for you, check you in, and whisk your bags to your room. They are also excellent at arranging for tours, dinner reservations, and transportation back and forth. You are made to feel like a welcome guest in a private home. Dinner can be arranged on the terrace but it can get windy so only go that route if it is a calm and warm evening; there are many dining options either walking distance in Ragusa proper or a short taxi ride away in the old town of Ibla. Regardless you must visit Ibla to get the charm of this medieval city, very walkable and safe. Ragusa has a tremendous collection of Baroque buildings so bring your camera as the style is not to be missed. While the hotel has no bar per se, the staff will serve you drinks in one of the gilded private rooms on the second floor, making you feel a bit like the Baron himself. Breakfast rooms are also on the second floor, and the fare is simple and traditional Sicilian.

Room Tip: Each room has its own unique charm and trendy touches which are worked in to the decor. We reserved...
See more room tips
Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Aurelie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2014

A wonderful welcome, helpful and friendly service; nothing seemed too much trouble for Michele and the staff at this palazzo style hotel. Our room was comfortable and spacious and we didn't even much mind the rococo feel of the place. So if your priority is great service and staff rather than 'hip boutique' then this is the place for you. Good location; walk down the many steps to Ibla, check out the Quattro Gatti for supper, and get a taxi back (Michele will arrange for Giuseppe to pick you up). The only reason it's a four star review, not five, is that breakfast didn't stand out, although if you like your Italian torte then you won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PietroRD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
Level Contributor
50 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 May 2014

The hotel was a great experience from the room to the restaurant. The staff was very helpful in suggesting other restaurants and interesting sites to visit. We had an excellent time and would recommend it to others.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Tibi123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York and London
Level Contributor
49 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2014

This is a very nice hotel, and the staff couldn't be more helpful. Our first room was very atmospheric, stone barrel vaults but dark and claustrophobic. Luckily the bed was broken so they upgraded us to a sea of scarlet taffeta. ( all the rooms are named after flowers with matching décor). However a little editing might make it seem less like an auction house.
Breakfast was delicious. Fresh ( and I mean fresh, just squeezed) orange juice and lots of choice of pastries and eggs ( bit over cooked for me). Try the warm sugary croissants with an array of spreads including crème patisserie and New Yorkers will know where Dominque Ansel got his inspiration for his oh-so-trendy cronuts.
Location perfect for half of the town but it would have been a long walk to the Ibla. Not many restaurants locally either that we could find, perhaps we should have tried the hotel.
As usual, the wifi only worked in the reception, as usual they expressed surprise but it seems to be an almost universal problem in Sicily.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Economistmum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ragusa
0.7 mi away
San Giorgio Palace Hotel
3.9 mi away
Artemisia Resort
Artemisia Resort
#1 of 39 in Ragusa
5.0 of 5 bubbles 575 reviews
7.0 mi away
Eremo della Giubiliana
Eremo della Giubiliana
#7 of 39 in Ragusa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 422 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.6 mi away
Hotel Poggio del Sole Resort
0.2 mi away
De Stefano Palace
De Stefano Palace
#16 of 39 in Ragusa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 186 reviews
67.6 mi away
Hotel Villa Athena
Hotel Villa Athena
#1 of 25 in Agrigento
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,588 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Relais Antica Badia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Relais Antica Badia

Property: Relais Antica Badia
Address: Corso Italia 115, 97100, Ragusa, Sicily, Italy (Formerly Antica Badia Relais Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Sicily > Province of Ragusa > Ragusa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Ragusa
#1 Romantic Hotel in Ragusa
#1 Family Hotel in Ragusa
#2 Luxury Hotel in Ragusa
#5 Business Hotel in Ragusa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Relais Antica Badia 5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Relais Antica Badia is set in a grand 18th-century villa in the centre of Ragusa, a 5-minute walk from the Ibleo Archaeological Museum. It features a luxury spa with sauna, Turkish bath and massage service. Its large halls have Baroque-style frescoes.The hotel has comfortable guest rooms, elegantly decorated with luxury fabrics and antique furniture from Sicily and all of Europe.The heritage of the Antica Badia Relais has been beautifully preserved during its renovation. It is complimented by a range of modern technologies including conference facilities and free Internet connection.Sample some delicious Sicilian dishes at the hotel's restaurant, all prepared using only the finest and freshest ingredients. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, HotelsClick, Agoda, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Hotel.de and HRS so you can book your Relais Antica Badia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Relais Antica Badia Sicily/Ragusa, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing