We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Impossible to "over-recommend": "a stately elegant Palazzo with a 5* Duomo attached"”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ragusa
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Palazzo Castro al Duomo
Ranked #39 of 141 Ragusa B&B and Inns
Lisbon, Portugal
Level 6 Contributor
204 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 195 helpful votes
“Impossible to "over-recommend": "a stately elegant Palazzo with a 5* Duomo attached"”
Reviewed 2 June 2014

It IS as all the other reviewers say it is! We stayed in the Sala del Merlotti, a gigantic (and absolutely spotlessly clean ) room with "stately" furnishings , table and chairs, sofa and "comfy chairs", large bathroom (with huge bathtub) , and balcony overlooking Piazza Duomo, the Baroque Duomo itself (which was almost close enough to reach out and touch!), and the hills and countryside over the rooftops of the town. We also enjoyed a sort of "sitting room" (shared with the adjoining room) with a small fridge and where the wi-fi worked perfectly. Everything works; there are no irritating "quirks"

The delicious breakfast is as described in other reviews (on one of the days we were served some super-delicious canolli, on the other day some really interesting jellied melon...) . Erminia is a lovely young lady and she is very knowledgeable and very helpful! Whatever you require will be producd.

It is impossible to over-recommend this B & B which feels more like 5* hotel accommodation, (but without the jazzy "outer" stuff such as spa, pool, hairdresser, bar and so forth).

Room Tip: Balcony overlooking Piazza Duomo!!!! Definitely!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank barbararitchie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

125 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    117
    8
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
22
68
3
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 June 2014

I can't recommend the Palazzo Castro al Duomo too highly. We stayed there for five nights in May. It was the highlight of our trip to southeast Sicily. Our room was beautifully appointed and decorated and we had a balcony view of the main square and the Duomo. The sisters who run the B & B were both charming and very helpful. They also prepared a superb, typically-Sicilian breakfast daily. If you are visiting the area, do give this place a try. It will add another dimension to your stay.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Keith M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 13 May 2014

We stayed at B&B Palazzo Castro al Duomo for two nights in Spril and just had the most magical stay. Our host provided excellent service and was generous in her time suggesting highlights of the Ragussa region to see while we were there. The location of the B&B couldn't have been better and was particularly charming at night. Fantastic food, sights and views surround!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
Reviewed 6 May 2014

Spotlessly clean place and charming hosts! We got an apt on the top floor that was very big and with many rooms divided but partially open. Erminia is the daughter who speaks the most english and was very helpful. We stayed two nights and we slept great there. They have a room one floor down that gets wifi but not in the room. Nice hot shower and good water pressure, would definitely stay there again

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Msrenee74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Asker, Norway
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2014

We stayed at Palazzo Castro for three days in February, and found the B&B an excellent place for experiencing Ragusa. In addition to the perfect view of the Piazza and the Duomo from our balcony, we enjoyed the friendly hospitality of the owners. The room was very spacious and nicely furnished in an oldfashioned way, and breakfast was tasty and typically Sicilian.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ece_asker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 May 2014

Christophe and I recently spent a night at this wonderful palazzo-B&B adjacent to the Duomo in Ragusa Ibla. We were given a lovely top floor room with a balcony overlooking the main square. It was fabulous, and spotlessly clean. We would have happily sat in the room and taken in all of the action down below, but forced ourselves you go out and see the town, being pressed for time.

Lucia is a very charming host and prepared the most exquisite breakfast in a dining room adjacent to a charming courtyard garden filled with the scent of orange blossom (as was much of Sicily during our trip). Her home-made jams and marmalades were especially delicious, and her canolli were the best of the trip. Christophe (a Cordon-Bleu trained chef) would have happily spent the day gleaning culinary tips from Lucia in the kitchen.

Lucia's family have owned the palazzo for centuries (it is reputed to be the first building rebuilt after the 1692 earthquake) and we felt the weight of history during our stay. I can't recommend this place enough!

Room Tip: Top floor overlooking the square and Duomo
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank StephenFletcher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2014

We stayed here 3 nights on a tour of Sicily and greatly valued the opportunity to stay in a historic palazzo, beautifully decorated and maintained by the caring and most gracious owner-innkeepers.

Though we had a suite facing the Piazza Duomo, it was quiet in the evenings and we slept comfortably in the king size bed.

Restaurant recommendations include Quattro Gatti and Il Barocco. A fun wine bar is Angelo's wit a terrific selection of jazz and blues albums.

Room Tip: Our suite faciing the Piazza was lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Crghse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ragusa hotels
0.2 mi away
B&B L'Orto sul Tetto
B&B L'Orto sul Tetto
#7 of 141 in Ragusa
307 reviews
13.6 mi away
No photo provided
Maragusa Residence
#17 of 22 in Marina di Ragusa
2 reviews
14.2 mi away
Donnafugata Golf Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
BuenaOnda
BuenaOnda
#7 of 25 in Marina di Ragusa
41 reviews
13.9 mi away
Casa Vacanze Villa Giovanni
Casa Vacanze Villa Giovanni
#18 of 22 in Marina di Ragusa
10 reviews
13.8 mi away
B & B Il Girasole
B & B Il Girasole
#17 of 25 in Marina di Ragusa
22 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palazzo Castro al Duomo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palazzo Castro al Duomo

Property: Palazzo Castro al Duomo
Address: Piazza Duomo 2, 97100, Ragusa, Sicily, Italy
Region: Italy > Sicily > Province of Ragusa > Ragusa
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #39 of 141 B&Bs / Inns in Ragusa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay in Palazzo Castro means intimately enjoy the essence of Sicily. The building is magnificent, its history goes back three hundred years ago and the descendants still live there. From the two suites, both with frescoed ceilings and bathroom private, you can enjoy one of the most fascinating square of ​​Sicily, thanks to the long balcony on the cathedral square of Ibla. For those who prefer a more intimate atmosphere there is a twin bedroom, with private bathroom, with a balcony on the roof garden and view of the dome and the surrounding hills. Finally, two attic rooms, with a flight of stairs to access, reveal the hidden intimacy of a house of yesteryear. In all, five bedrooms, each with private bathroom, with possibility of third and some of it fourth bed; safe and wi-fi. The palace has been completely renovated, with services and facilities up to date (elevator, heating, air conditioning); along the halls are followed up antique furniture, frescoed ceilings, antique floors and luxury finishes. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Palazzo Castro Al Duomo Sicily/Ragusa, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing