We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Relais Parco Cavalonga
Nearby Hotels
US$306
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$215
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Baia del Sole(Marina di Ragusa)
US$91
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$88
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
US$136
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$123
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$623
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$274
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Relais Antica Badia(Ragusa)
US$145
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$135
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Artemisia Resort(Ragusa)
US$84
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$79
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
La Moresca Maison de Charme(Marina di Ragusa)
US$211
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$107
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$102
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$97
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$91
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Club Med Kamarina(Ragusa)
US$428
clubmed.us
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (340)
Filter reviews
340 results
Traveller rating
215
96
21
4
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
215
96
21
4
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsvisited severalgarden roomgreat countrylarge terracefruit treesbaroque townswonderful hotelminute drivenice staycomfortable bedspastawashing machinecomiso airportpoolsapartmentjasminevalley
Filter
Updating list...
102 - 107 of 340 reviews
Reviewed 28 July 2012

We stayed 7 nights at the part of the resort called The Hotel, lovely rooms with great views and placed in the most stunning beautiful surroundings. Very beautiful rooms and lovely pools. We had two connecting rooms, which was perfect. Nice breakfast, but not 5 star dinner.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Peter_on_a_trip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2012

We (2 adults and 2 small kids) stayed here for 2 weeks at the beginning of June 2012. On the positive side, the property is in a beautiful and unspoilt valley, which definitely contributes to a relaxing stay. We stayed in one of the self catering apartments and took the breakfast option. Breakfast was very good and the service in the small restaurant was charming. Our major disappointment is that the resort common areas as well as the apartments (at least ours) are not well taken care of and in pretty poor condition. Our apartment was dirty when we checked in (with hair and bushels of dust under all of the beds). The shower door in one of the bathrooms was covered in black grout and the soap basket was rusty. Most of the "modern" furniture in the apartment was from IKEA and in very bad condition. Since we arrived at the beginning of the swimming season, the pool was clean for our first days there. However, as more families began to arrive and use the pool the quality of the water suffered significantly and soon became "milky" und unpleasant to swim in. The pool was rarely cleaned and we had to clear the surface ourselved several times during the day. We also noticed that the rubbish bins at the pool area were only emptied every two or three days. Guest have no option than to throw the rubbish from their apartments on the side of the road outside of the resort (which is what all the locals seem to do), where the bags are opened by animals and the rubbish then scattered through the countyside.

Overall, we had the impression that these problems were all due to poor (or completely lacking) management. The resort is understaffed and the young women at reception, while friendly, are not in a position to provide much help. We did not see anyone that appeared to be a manager or supervisor during our entire two week stay. The same sense of disorganisation applies to the information provided to guests while booking: for example, we were not told that the appartments are only cleaned weekly and that linens are not regularly changed. With some care and maintenance this could be a very special place but unfortunately the resort is mismanaged and there is no attention to detail or quality.

We are great fans of this part of Sicily and enjoyed visiting the various cities and seeing how they have become more developed over the years. However, the beaches are a huge disappointment. We visited at least five separate beaches and all of them are filthy. We saw local families leaving huge piles of rubbish in the sand after a day on the beach. We even witnessed a group of men dumping a truck full of rubbish in a "nature reserve". Like the hotel, this part of Sicily could be something special but is ultimately spoilt by a lack of attention and consideration.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank 849Urlaub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lpeirce, Direttore generale at Relais Parco Cavalonga, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2012

Dear Sir,
Thank you for taking the time to write your comments. We've taken them into serious consideration, as we always do. Still, I fee I have to clarify a few points:
- flats decoration: until now we haven't had any major negative comments about their decoration and furniture, on the contrary many of our guests like their different style.

- cleaning: all flats are cleaned by professional cleaners and then a final control of the cleaning status is performed by a dedicated person. This procedure generally allows us to obtain very satisfactory results. We don't record to have received any particular compliant by yourself during your stay. We always act promptly when guests report any issue. We are sorry if we didn't in this case, and we weren't informed.

- throwing the rubbish on the side of the road: we are sorry to hear that you think this is the local practice. This is not. Besides it's illegal. There is a dedicated place where rubbish has to be thrown. If you didn't know, you could have asked at the reception who would have given you the instructions. In any case, you could have received the same information by checking on the instruction brochure that we put in every flat with all practical rules and suggestions for life in Parco Cavalonga.

- bed linen changed on a weekly basis in the self-catered flats: after booking you were sent a mail where the linen change was clearly explained, so we cannot accept your criticism on this point.

- water in the swimming pool not transparent: we are very sorry if that was. No complain has been received at the reception moreover Cavalonga has a second swimming pool which is also very beautiful, and you could use that as well. We would have appreciated if you had also mentioned about this second pool.

- lack of general manager: I confirm that the general manager of Cavalonga had to leave Cavalonga for a period, due to family reasons. We are sorry if that created some inconvenience.

- reception staff friendly but not helping much: we have to dissent strongly on this point. The 3 persons at the reception have always been considered extremely professional, helpful by all our guests. We think that they are much more than standard receptionists in many hotels and can deal with all sorts of issues and emergencies. You had only to ask.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2012

Amazing and remote. Quiet yet perfectly centered for daytrips.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Philish1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2012

We spent two wonderful days in Relais Parco Cavalonga enjoying the silence and the calm of its surrounding park. The two pools are simply wonderful immersed in the green hills and with a wonderful view. The surrounding park full of century-old olive and carob trees, criss-crossed by the typical low dry walls is perfect for relaxing walks. Last but not least the incredible quality of the food and the best breakfast ever with fresh local typical products. An experience to be repeated

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MaMa1105
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2012

The good :
- countryside is nice
- courteous and helping staff
- calm and quiet place
The bad :
- swimming pool not clean at all ( water is green !)
- rooms very drastic
- not 24/7 reception
- no real restaurant and bar (only on some days)
We paid 120€ per night and this is not good value for money. Not a 4 or even 3 stars. Everything is 2nd choice : matress, bathroom, gardens, TV and even the minibar door !
For the same price chose the "Palazzo Failla" which is a real 4 star in Modica center town in a quiet street.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank vaxeli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 4 July 2012

Dear guest,
thank you for your comments. We always take our guests opinions in great consideration, as a stimulus to improve our service.
We feel that some clarifications on your comments are necessary, also in the interest of other guests.
- reception: it's organized in 2 shifts: day-reception, located in the main building, from 7.30 am to 10.00 pm, and night-reception service afterwards. The member of staff in charge of the night reception is located in a different building closer to the entrance of the park and is always reachable on the phone (tel number is indicated both in the information leaflet on the table of each room, and on the reception desk). It's important to know that our hotel is a "hamlet hotel" made of 4 different and separate buildings surrounded by an 18 hectares park. The organization of the reception takes into consideration Parco Cavalonga structure that is quite different from other hotels, but which also provides more privacy and space to our guests.

- restaurant/bar: we provide a restaurant service 4 nights per week (5 nights in August). Each guest, upon booking his stay in Cavalonga, is sent a confirmation email informing him on the days when restaurant service is available in the evening. Most of our guests keep on expressing a strong appreciation for the Cavalonga dinners both for the quality of the cuisine and the atmosphere. In the past we offered a restaurant service for 6 evenings per week, but we realized that most of our guests also liked to benefit from the other restaurants in the area. Following that need, we’ve prepared for our guests a “local restaurants information sheet” with a selection of restaurants and the description of their individual characteristics to facilitate the choice of our guest.
- Everyday a brunch service is in operation, and also a bar service is in operation.

- swimming pools: we have 2 pools. The days you spent in Cavalonga the larger pool was under maintenance and the water wasn't clear. We agree with your disappointment and we apologize for the inconvenience. Unfortunately there was nothing we could do to avoid that, but we reacted quickly to fix the problem. We have to add that the second pool of Cavalonga, which is also beautiful, is always available for all guests.

- interior decoration: as shown on the internet site, all rooms of the main hotel are furnished in a very sober and modern style, thanks to the combination of modern design with local materials: white stone for pavements and iron for beds.

Kind regards,
Relais Parco Cavalonga

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews