We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great and convenient place !”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Antica Locanda del Golf Hotel
Ranked #18 of 37 Hotels in Ragusa
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 August 2014

Great and convenient place ! A paradise for golfers or a perfect base for nearby excursions.
While driving the last couple of kilometers inside the beautiful rural countryside of Ragusa province, you start if you're on the right road, then when the beautiful green vision of the Donnafugata golf course unveils around, you start asking yourself if you're still in Sicily.
Very conveniently located within few kilometers from the sea (Scoglitti, Punta Secca, oasi Randello, etc) and other touristic spots (don't miss Castello di Donnafugata and Ragusa Ibla).

Antica Locanda del Golf is not a conventional hotel. The small houses are spread around the golf course (yes, you'll need the car to go to the reception and restaurant) and give you the pleasure to live in the peaceful sicilian countryside.
Rooms are spacious, clean and with all required amenities (perfectly controllable air conditioning, bathroom amenities, mini bar and working free wifi).
We stayed for 2 nights in the suite Oleandri (room 11) which is a perfect solution for couples with kids. Our two sons enjoyed their comfortable bed and their own TV and bathroom.
Marisa is extremely kind and always helpful. We didn't try the dinner but breakfast was more than adequate (especially enjoyed the Sicilian fruit jams of figs)

Added value: you get special rate (50 €) for 18 holes at the awesome Donnafugata golf.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
1  Thank sandokan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (180)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

10 - 16 of 180 reviews

Reviewed 25 June 2014

We stayed at the lodge for 4 nights and left with mixed feelings. The resume is probably that the excellent exterior impression is not carried on in the interior (mark we had a Jr suite sized unit over two floors). While the chalet itself overlooks the beautiful greens of the adjacent golf course and the pool and the garden with old olive trees is really nice, the inside of the place was a let down. No complaints about hygiene or comfort in general, but nobody ever put a thought in the best use of the indoor space: a couch and a chaiselonge together with an alcantara covered table and plastic chairs, it gave the impression that the place was filled with leftover furniture. A massive bathroom downstairs with hot tub while there was a second not much smaller bath upstairs next to the bed, why? Most unfortunate was the lack of information about the resort and its facilities: they served a pretty decent breakfast but we only found out coincidentally, we were let from the reception to the room - here's your keys, be careful the door only opens with the key so don't lock yourself out (happened exactly 30 minutes later) there you are, enjoy..

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Quilmess76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2013 via mobile

we booked this the night before as it and were really surprised by this place. it took us some time to find this in our car. when we got to tbd main building we were told we would have to drive to where we were staying. it turned put to be a small villa with about 4 rooms and our own swimming pool with lovely country views.

the room in the villa was cool yet welcoming. it had the biggest bed ever. there was also tea making facilities and a common area outside. we had our own French doors which led to a small field.


we had dinner at the main house. we had no idea what was on the menu and loved every course that came. the swordfish breaded with pistacchio was excellent.


breakfast wad also in the same room and was adequate.


I would recommend staying here if you are happy to stay in for the night otherwise it is a bit far to drive for a night out on marina di Ragusa.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DaveMay09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2013

We (2 couples) stayed for 6 nights at Antica Locanda in May. We absolutely loved everything about it. Antonio is a charming host, Marisa, his assistant, goes out of her way to help with everything. The bungalows are dotted over the 2 golf courses, and the setting is peaceful and quiet. We stayed in a 4 room property with big communal lounge with card tables/TV, and own swimming pool. The rooms are tastefully furnished with all mod con, and the bed was almost better than at home. Big shower cubicle, everything very clean. I had asked for a room with good wifi connection, and was not disappointed.
Breakfast was - for Italian standards - very good with cereals, fresh fruit, cheese and ham, and the usual Italian cakes.
The food in the restaurant - even if there is no big choice - was very imaginative and excellent.
Golfers staying at the Antica Locanda benefit from reduced green fees at the 2 Donnafugata courses. Marisa gladly will help with booking tee times.

Room Tip: Ask for room near to swimming pool. If you need to stay connected, ask for room with good Wi-Fi conn...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank m7cej
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2013

What a joy! We have just returned from a 7 night stay at the Antica Locanda, a hidden gem, nestled in the archeological park of the ancient Greek city of Kamarina. This is a magical location where you find rooms in converted hunting lodges dotted around the estate. All are exceptionally well appointed - ours was perched on the hillside with an almost 360 degree view of the estate, with its wild flowers and olive trees and lake (home to a few of our golf balls!)and even a glimpse of the sea. Continental breakfast of fresh fruits, fruit juices, cheeses, cakes and breads is served in the restaurant where you may also dine in the evening. A special mention must be given to our host Antonio who treated us to his "passione" for Sicilian cooking- dinners were a gastronomic delight using the freshest of produce from the local farmers.
A huge thank you to Antonio and ALL the staff and family at the Locanda. You made us feel like real guests in the Locanda, not clients, and you all went that extra mile to give us a lovely holiday away from the hustle and bustle of the every day.
Grazie mille! A L'anno prossimo! G&J

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GJH119
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2012

We were six adults and two children staying in three rooms; The rooms very very comfortable; Hotel staff extremely helpful; quality of food excellent (and very good value). All in all, a very enjoyable few days and highly recommended.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AGS677
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2018 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: January 2018, travelled with family
Thank toilio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ragusa
84.3 mi away
Verdura Resort
Verdura Resort
#1 of 10 in Sciacca
1,932 reviews
12.9 mi away
De Stefano Palace Luxury Hotel
8.7 mi away
Artemisia Resort
Artemisia Resort
#1 of 37 in Ragusa
691 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Casato Licitra
Casato Licitra
#19 of 37 in Ragusa
281 reviews
13.3 mi away
San Giorgio Palace Hotel
10 mi away
La dimora di Spartivento
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Antica Locanda del Golf Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Antica Locanda del Golf Hotel

Address: Contrada Piombo, 97100, Ragusa, Sicily, Italy
Region: Italy > Sicily > Province of Ragusa > Ragusa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Luxury Hotel in Ragusa
Price Range: £100 - £173 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Antica Locanda del Golf Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Antica Locanda del Golf Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Antica Locanda Del Golf Hotel Sicily/Ragusa, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing