We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best hotel in Sicily ?”
Review of Silva Suri

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Silva Suri
Ranked #3 of 38 Hotels in Ragusa
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Best hotel in Sicily ?”
Reviewed 2 August 2014

Our favourite hotel from our one months stay in Sicily Well decorated and fitted rooms and apartments. The family and staff were all very helpful and friendly, The chefs (all three) produced superb traditional and modern Sicilian food, the head waiter and owner managed to select an excellent range of Sicilian wines to complement it.

We would return to Sicily for this hotel alone

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Bob & Joan A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

338 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    291
    41
    5
    1
    0
See reviews for
101
140
3
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oxfordshire, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2014

I'm not the type of person to write reviews but I'm making the effort for the exceptionally nice people who own and run the Silva Suri.

The location - If you google "the best beaches in Sicily" you'll see that most of them are on the south-east coast of Sicily. The Silva Suri is the perfect location to visit gorgeous beaches like Fontane Bianche (Siracusa), Sampieri (Scicli), and Marina Di Ragusa, etc.

It's also just a short drive to Ragusa, which is beautiful and has lots of nice places to eat, although I have to say that we had planned to eat at a different place every evening but we ended up eating at the Silva Suri restaurant for four of the seven nights we stayed because it was so nice!
The restaurant is currently number 1 on trip adviser restaurants in Ragusa and it deserves to be.

Breakfast at the hotel every morning was so nice and pleasant - cappuccino, pastries, yogurt, a variety of fresh fruit from the farm, good selection of fresh juices, etc. Perfect.

The hotel is quite new so everything looks great still, including our room which was homely, spacious, and always immaculately clean.

The hotel looks gorgeous, like a Sicilian country farm. It's not surprising that they hold a lot of weddings there what with the wonderful restaurant, beautiful views and overall look of the hotel.
Whenever anyone has seen our photos of the hotel they have always commented how nice it looks.

A special thank you to Ciara at the Silva Suri...
Unfortunately we were in a car accident during our stay. Fortunately no one was hurt. It happened quite close to the hotel and neither of us speak very good italian, so we called the hotel and Ciara (the owners daughter) came to our rescue. She translated for us, called the car rental for us, helped us with the car insurance forms, waited with us until what was left of the car was towed away, drove us back to the hotel, made phone calls for a replacement car for us, and even gave us a lift into Ragusa the next day where she arranged for us to get a bus to go back to the airport to pick up our replacement car.
Her exceptional kindness is something we will never forget and always be grateful for.

The service: Even before the car-crash we were saying that the service at the hotel was faultless. When we arrived we were greeted by the very nice and friendly owners who told us about nice places to eat and even gave us a sun-umbrella for our trips to the beach. And throughout our stay the staff were always smiling and so friendly and helpful.

I have and will always recommend the Silva Suri to anyone visiting Sicily. Although, I will always add that the drivers in Sicily are all crazy, so please take care when out on the roads.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Wilma378
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2014 via mobile

For starters loved Ragusa, so much to see in close proximity to each other was really wonderful and what made it perfect was our stay at Silva Suri. The family that runs this beautiful property where just
amazing, so helpful, nothing was a problem. we travelled with our two kids two year old son and 8 mo baby. The staff went above and beyond for even the simplest request, from providing beach umbrellas and towels for us to use to moving tables for us to have dinner outside our room while our kids slept, they made us feel so welcomed and really settled. Oh and the food!! It's was delish every dish they made! This was probably the highlight of eating in Sicily!
Do yourself a favour and stay in Silva Suri and I'm sure you will love it as much as we did!!

Thank you Silva Suri for a wonderful stay

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank belliviv77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Medford, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2014

We couldn't have asked for a better way to kick off our honeymoon. The room was very comfortable, modern and clean. The food in the restaurant was some of the best we had all trip, both from the chef and from the owner Rosa. Silva Suri has great views of the sea and allows for a great escape after a long day of exploring Southeastern Sicily. The staff couldn't be friendlier! The chef will go out of his way to see that you have an amazing Sicilian meal every night and Chiara (who speaks English very well) is so sweet and will help you out with plenty of information of what to do in the area. A must stay if you plan to visit different parts of Southeast Sicily!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancashire, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 July 2014

Beautifully restored farm buildings with magnificent views to the sea. Lovely beaches close by which are great for swimming. If you like your towns then Ragusa Ibla is well worth a visit. If you enjoyed the Montalbano books you will love this part of Sicily. Missed on a trip to Scicili , hopefully next time.

The restaurant was very good quality with good service, which was welcome after a very long drive. Breakfasts terrific.

Special mention for the tips on where to eat and go and overall friendly and relaxed environment. Ask about the sea food restaurant in Porto Empedocle, a great recommendation.

Would come back again which I don't often say.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Just_Jim_1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2014

The property is rustic but also elegant. The most comfortable room ever, with a fabulous bed, convenient desk and table and modern,spacious, newly renovated bathroom. What a treat! Sea views, perfectly calm, and we were greater by our wonderful hosts as though we were family they'd just met. Delicious, generous breakfast, good cappuccino. We hated to leave.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Natalie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Istanbul, Turkey
Level Contributor
184 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 181 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Silva Suri... I still remember how disappointed I was to find this place fully booked back in September. I didn't leave things to chance this time around and booked ahead. It's really about three things at Silva Suri. 1) The warmth of the family running the hotel and the flawless service provided by their staff 2) the breathtaking views over the med as you have dinner at their outstanding restaurant 3) Modern and smart rooms. On a personal note I also very much enjoyed the fact that the hotel is not by the sea but on a hill 2.5km from the sea and the coastal town of Ragusa di Marino meaning that you can commute to the coast in 5 minutes and retreat to the lovely farm house fro escape the crowds when you want to. Flawless.

Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank djopm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ragusa hotels
7.7 mi away
Artemisia Resort
Artemisia Resort
#1 of 38 in Ragusa
5.0 of 5 bubbles 604 reviews
11.6 mi away
San Giorgio Palace Hotel
7.6 mi away
La dimora di Spartivento
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.6 mi away
Hotel Poggio del Sole Resort
4.3 mi away
Eremo della Giubiliana
Eremo della Giubiliana
#6 of 38 in Ragusa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 432 reviews
5.6 mi away
Relais Parco Cavalonga
Relais Parco Cavalonga
#9 of 38 in Ragusa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 307 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Silva Suri? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Silva Suri

Property: Silva Suri
Address: Contrada Pulce Carrera SNC | Strada Regionale 82, 97100, Ragusa, Sicily, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Sicily > Province of Ragusa > Ragusa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Ragusa
#3 Best Value Hotel in Ragusa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Antica masseria ragusana, sapientemente ristrutturata per ottenere ambienti confortevoli e rilassanti, adatti ad accogliere sia i viaggiatori piu esigenti sia gli amant.i della buona cucina ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Silva Suri Sicily/Ragusa, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing