We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Anybody home?”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
San Giorgio Palace Hotel
Ranked #2 of 38 Hotels in Ragusa
Certificate of Excellence
Valletta, Malta
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Anybody home?”
Reviewed 6 February 2014

The hotel entrance is carved in the hillside so the GPS had a problem finding it. Terrible if its windy and raining!! The hotel is modern and nicely decorated, probably one of the most beautiful in the region. That's the only plus point I'm afraid!! We were there in January/February. The continental breakfast was scarce, with the same couple of pieces of ham presented on the buffet table on Feb 1st, being there till our final day Feb 04th. Needless to say, we only had breakfast the first day. The restaurant was always closed throughout our stay, which is a pity as it seems that it is quite a good restaurant. So we always had to eat out, which is not ideal during a business trip. The room was nicely modern, with a beautiful country view and a large terrace. The service is piteous. The minibar contained an open bottle of water, 1 sprite, 1 coke, 1 bitter lemon, 1 tonic water. No cups, no bottle opener. We were the only guests in the hotel, my impression was that there was only one member of staff in attendance. In the morning one person carried out barman/receptionist/cleaner duties. On the whole, rather sloppy service. A pity, as the hall definitely has potential. People who go during tourist season will probably have a different experience, but for EUR100/night, if you cannot provide winter guests with proper service, don't accept bookings!!

Room Tip: Room was across reception, facing a cliff. Quiet enough, just don't go in winter!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Alexander G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

554 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    469
    68
    12
    4
    1
See reviews for
111
274
10
53
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 December 2013

My husband and I stayed at the San Giorgio Palace Hotel in Ragusa Ibla in mid-October, which is a great time of year to visit. The weather is still warm, the hotel rates are better, and there are very few other tourists around. We weren't sure what to expect, but we found Ragusa Ibla to be simply a drop-dead beautiful town. After the chaos of Palermo (which we also loved) Ragusa Ibla was such a contrast of peace and tranquility. My husband is a professional photographer could not stop taking pictures everywhere we went.

The location is very good and an easy walk to the center of town. There are other hotels that appear (when looking at a map) like they are within easy walking distance to reach the main piazza, but because of the winding streets and hills it can be quite a hike.

Because of the name, the San Giorgio Palace Hotel, we were expecting a place that was a little stuffy, ornate, and expensive. It was just the opposite. It was clean, modern, comfortable, friendly and the best hotel value of our trip. Unlike other reviewers, we greatly appreciated the lack of bad hotel art on the walls. The decor is tasteful and refreshingly simple.

There was a complimentary small bottle of Prosecco and two glasses in our room, which was nice, but what really impressed us was that the mini-fridge was stocked with drinks (water and soda). Shockingly, there was no extra charge and it was restocked daily. The complimentary breakfasts were very good although a little limited on variety. The dining room (originally a stable) was tastefully remodeled and has a great view of the valley. The Internet is free, but you need to update the pass-code everyday.

Ragusa is a great home base to take day trips to Modica and Scicli. There is a new airport in Comiso, a 30 minute cab ride away, which has one flight a day to Rome.

The small staff here are exceptionally helpful for whatever you need. You get the feeling that they sincerely want to help you, and not that they are just doing their job. That makes a huge difference. Ivan and Gianluca were the ones who told us about the airport in Comiso, helped us book our flight, print the tickets and set up the cab to take us there. We definitely are looking forward to coming back.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank AngelaSFCA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Jose, California
Level Contributor
29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 December 2013

We were advised of this hotel at the tourist office in Ragusa, so did not expect much. However, we were pleasantly surprised, and we found the San Georgio to rank among the top hotels of our 2 week trip around Sicilly. This is a very modern facility set in an old, now renovated Palace, with the old town of Ibla on one side and a magnificent view of the mountains on the other side. Once we found the place and figured out the parking, aided by the helpful police, we found the the rooms clean and spacious, and the staff friendly and helpful, so it was worth the trouble to find. The breakfast was one of the best that we had experienced on our trip, and had we more time, we would have stayed another night, just because it was so comfortable and homey. and accessible to a number of restaurants and interesting sites.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank FLD95120
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Siggiewi, Malta
Level Contributor
73 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 November 2013

We have booked this hotel after having stayed there in 2011. Our expectations were high because the experience back in August 2011 was nothing short of exceptional. I have to say we were not at all disappointed and our expectations were absolutely exceeded.

This hotel has it all: great location, excellent breakfast, beautifully appointed rooms and excellent parking facilities. It is a stone's throw away from the beautiful Ragusa Ibla main square and it is also within walking distance from all main Ragusa attractions. It is tucked away in a quiet street away from the Piazza din but just a beautiful 3-minute walk away from the heart of this magnificent old town.

The view from the rooms is breathtaking because it overlooks the valley and all the rooms share this beautiful view.

The rooms themselves are extremely well-appointed and they come with full amenities - including flat-screen TV's with SKY television service. The rooms on the upper floors are all served with an elevator.

Our room this time round was superb. We had a suite which we had managed to book a week before from booking.com at the price of a standard double room. We would highly recommend the suite because it is like having a wonderful apartment. The suite also has a lovely terrace which could easily serve as a relaxation and/or reading spots in the Summer Mediterranean balmy evenings.

The breakfast is rich and varied and well-suited to persons following various diets (low-fat, low-carb, high protein and so on).

However, what makes this hotel truly unforgettable is the staff. The gentleman manning reception when we arrived went out of his way to treat my husband and I like royalty. We felt like royals and nothing was too much trouble. I cannot thank the staff enough for making our stay truly unforgettable. I have stayed in many hotels but the staff at this hotel is genuinely warm and genuinely concerned to make one's stay unforgettable.

Parking is not a problem and was not a problem back in August, 2011 when Ragusa Ibla was very busy indeed.

Do not look any further if planning to stay in Ragusa Ibla. THIS is the place to stay. Undoubtedly.

Room Tip: All the rooms are well-appointed but try to get the suite if you afford if. If you go during the off...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Firefly1977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ragusa
4.6 mi away
Artemisia Resort
Artemisia Resort
#1 of 38 in Ragusa
616 reviews
0.7 mi away
Relais Antica Badia
Relais Antica Badia
#5 of 38 in Ragusa
537 reviews
4.1 mi away
La dimora di Spartivento
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.1 mi away
Pietre Nere Resort
Pietre Nere Resort
#1 of 18 in Modica
479 reviews
6.1 mi away
Hotel Poggio del Sole Resort
7.5 mi away
Eremo della Giubiliana
Eremo della Giubiliana
#6 of 38 in Ragusa
438 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to San Giorgio Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about San Giorgio Palace Hotel

Property: San Giorgio Palace Hotel
Address: Via Avvocato Giovanni Ottaviano, 97100, Ragusa, Sicily, Italy
Region: Italy > Sicily > Province of Ragusa > Ragusa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Ragusa
#2 Best Value Hotel in Ragusa
#3 Business Hotel in Ragusa
#4 Family Hotel in Ragusa
#5 Romantic Hotel in Ragusa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — San Giorgio Palace Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
San Giorgio Palace Hotel, the only prestigious 4 star hotel in Ragusa, located in a building dating from the eighteenth century, has frequently hosted important personalities of the time among them the presence of Don Luigi Sturzo. Located in the heart of Ragusa, a few steps from the beautiful Piazza Duomo, stands the majestic Cathedral of St. George one of the highest in the world of sacred baroque, enjoys the best location for those who want to go walking in the center of the city and visit palaces, museums and monuments. The dining room, with a breathtaking view of the valley of Santa Domenica, was built in a former convent of the Franciscan where stand the majestic stone vaults of Ragusa. The atmosphere is that of a charming residence, style marked and familiar atmosphere, all coordinated by a staff attentive, friendly and always helpful. Returned to its original beauty thanks to a painstaking restoration completed in 2010, the San Giorgio Palace Hotel offers rooms and suites of the most luxurious in the city and is a fine example of modern reception for the most demanding tourist. Opening the door of the hotel have the feeling of a dip in the past, cleverly fused with the comfort and technology. Worth noting is the old garden and the spectacular and unique natural tunnel entrance, 42 meters long, which, with its incredible freshness and eco make the path to the elevator full of wonder. Our goal is to make you feel at home, ensuring the efficiency of a 4-star superior service and the uniqueness of your travel experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, Ebookers, Priceline, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de and Evoline ltd so you can book your San Giorgio Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
San Giorgio Palace Hotel Sicily/Ragusa, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing